1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help With Workaround

Discussion in 'General Software' started by dcf-joe, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    381 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    The computers in the library have the right-click disabled. This means that I cannot copy and paste anything, as well as access useful tools that the right-click menu offers. Is there any way to get around this???
     
  2. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,488 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    642
    If they keyboard has it, you can use the right click key that is located on (AFAIK) all Windows supported keyboards that is inbetween the windows logo button and the control key on the lower right side of the keyboard. This way you can single left-click on what you need to while holding down the key to get the context menu.

    It has a picture of the right click context menu with the arrow cursor.

    Though its probably disabled completely in the registry.

    I find it funny. Libraries will let you watch porn on their computers, but they dont want you copy/pasting anything because of copyright infringement. Yet you can still print a web page. :laugh:
     
  3. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Theres keyboard shortcuts you can use for almost everything.
    highlight the paragraph or word / picture you wish to copy & use "ctrl+c" for copy & "ctrl+v" for paste

    ctrl (key) + C (key) for "Copy"
    ctrl (key) + V (key) for "Paste"
    ctrl (key) + X (key) for "Cut"
    ctrl (key) + Z(key) for "Undo"

    etc...etc...etc...
     
  4. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    381 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I am talking about enabling the right-click menu, so that I can enable the command prompt, so that I can enable the regedit.exe. In order to run all of these, I need to get the registry editor open, but I can't do that, because it requires right clicking things. Is there any other way to get the run command prompt to come up, because the run command is absent from the start menu?
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try Windows key+r "??"
     
  6. JoshBrunelle

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    From an administrator's standpoint, if you give users access to the command prompt, they can do anything they want, given the knowledge. If it is disabled, there is not much you can do unless the admin is lazy and didn't really disable it beyond the built in tools. You can try any number of tricks used to get a prompt running, like the batch file trick. If file permissions are set correctly you are most likely out of luck. You could try making a batch file that calls up regedit, but I would hope that was locked down too.
    .bat to run for regedit:

    cd %windir%\system32\
    start regedt32.exe
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page