1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help x16 x8 for better cooling?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by potanda, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. potanda New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    Hello, I have a ASUS Sabertooth 990FX main bored and 2 ati 6970's
    But they do tend to get on the hot side as they usaly do
    but there close together cause the x16 x16 slots are close do you think i would benefit
    By putting them farther apart like x16 x8 or would i see a performance drop instead?

    Sorry For my bad English.
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Tbh with them cards I don't really think having one of them at x8 would hurt a lot, but see what other members think.
  3. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    The performance drop with one card at 8x will be minimal, it will probably only show in benchmarks.
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Moving the card to an x8 slot might actually reduce you to 8x for each card, but you're going to lose between 1-3% performance from that. I'd say split them up and keep them cool :rockout:
  5. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Keeping the cards cool is way more important than losing MAYBE 2% in performance. They will have a longer life and be less noisy. And you'll really need to start benching to measure the loss!
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Are you using both beige slots? That's what you should be using for x16/x16. They are spaced apart enough for dual slot cards. There should be a open slot between the cards.

    Proper configuration:
    [​IMG]

    As you can see there's plenty of breathing room for the cards in x16/x16
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2011
  7. potanda New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    Scratch this idea for me i just looked theres a metal prace under the x8 slot on the bottom of the mobo that wont let me move the card down :( ..gives me a reason to make a case :D
  8. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    249 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    It's not that they're the same thing. It's twice the bandwidth available to the card, but the cards aren't fast enough to make use of it.
  10. potanda New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    and yes im using both beige now but my crossfire bridge can reach top to bottem
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Can or can't? A longer CF bridge is included with the motherboard.
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,758 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    US
    You could try putting 3rd party coolers on them. I have the MK-13 on mine although i had to mod the 5870 VRM heatsink but i got my MK way before the 6970 so they MIGHT of changed some of the heatsinks.
  13. potanda New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    It can reach and ok il look into mk-13's what are you temps jw ? mine are 64c at idle and like 84 under heavy load
  14. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    those are pretty shit temps for idle either the inside of you case is bloody hot with sod all airflow or the HSF's on the cards you have are absolute crap
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,469 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,209
    I have 2 6970s and from personal experience, I would say your high temps are due to not enough airflow in your case.

    I used to have a my current rig in cramped mid-tower Antec 902. due to me using a big cooler, the fan on the side panel was obstructed and subsequently, I could not mount a fan on the side panel.

    My GPU's idle and load temps were not so much different from yours, but once i migrated my build to a different and more spacious case with fan bays and mounts that i can actually use.

    My idle temp is currently 35'c. load temps. the cards still run hot - about 70-80'c

    One of the biggest changes which improved my temps greatly, was being able to mount a 140mm fan on my side panel to directly feed cool air to my graphic cards.

    your case is crap to put it bluntly. for any sort of dual GPU set up, a 120/140mm fan on the side panel is really really recommended.
  16. potanda New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    I recently changed my fan speed layout with msi afterburner They are about 51c at idle now and 60 mid load and 70 after bf3 for a few hours. and FreedomEclipse im going to take my side panel down to Someone who can cut nice 120mm holes in the side maybe il add a windows to

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page