1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HELP!!!! X800SE - 4 active pipelines after connecting the bridge

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by alexwsk, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. alexwsk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm having problems now with my ATI Radeon X800SE card after connecting the right side laser cutted bridge. It only has 4 active pipelines now. The card originally has 8 active pipelines and the fuses data is as follow:

    [​IMG]

    After flashing the bios with the modified fuses data, CONFIG_ROM_FUSES changed to 0xA861 (original was 0xA862). The card still has 8 active pipelines.

    So after that, I asked my friend to connect the right side bridge (laser cutted) for me, the left side bridge is not laser cutted. Now, the card only has 4 active pipelines. However, the fuses data has changed again to the following:

    [​IMG]

    I've tried uninstalled all ATI related drivers/catalyst/ATITool and reinstall it, but it's still the same, only 4 active pipelines left. I've also checked using 3DMark05, the performance has dropped from previous 3943 to 2793 (both with the same overclocked settings). The GPU idle temperature has also dropped from 48C to 43C. All this has confirmed that only 4 pipelines is active.

    The question is, what can I do now?
    -Should I reflash the bios with the original or the modified version?
    -Should I remove the solder?
    -Should I get someone to modify the new fuses data and flash using that?

    Any feedbacks will be highly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Galant New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austria / Graz
    We had that already in another post ?!

    BTW: your soldering gone wrong the D have to change to F not to C that exctly the opposite direction of what you want. Do you have a pic of your GPU? I´m just intrested where the cut is and where you soldered.
     
  3. alexwsk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Galant. Yes, this can be found in X800 fuses data as well. But I think moving it here will be better.

    Anyway, I didn't manage to take the photo of the core. I've searched through the forum and found 1 photo similar to mine. Hi Oxyg3n, hope you don't mind I use your photo.

    http://www.users.on.net/~nofearz/modcomplete.jpg

    It look exactly like the above photo (right side laser cutted) except for the second and third lines, which is:

    215RBMAGA12F
    GC3420.1 (2nd line)
    0J3886 (3rd line)

    But 1 BIG different is that my friend soldered across the laser cutted (1 straight line connecting the 2 dots and also laser cutted). Is this what caused the problem?
     
  4. 0xyg3n New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    No probs about using the pic of my bridge. I read prior to doing my mod it was a big no no to join across laser cut hence time and efort to avoid the cut.
    Is it possible to gently remove the solder or open circuit both sides of the laser cut and see if this reverts your card back to normal.
     
  5. alexwsk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Oxyg3n, thx for the suggestion. I've removed the solder but the fuses data is still the same (just like still having the solder). Guess I'm dead until I can get some conductive paint and try reconnect the bridge without touching the laser cut.

    Will update once I've done so.
     
  6. Galant New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austria / Graz
    Okay... so it´s pretty clear you made a short on the lasercut. you have to undo that and clean the cut so it has no connection (like it was in the beginning). Then make your connection around the cut, NOT thru, thats important. Then it should work. Please let us now bout U´r progress.
     
  7. alexwsk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, now I've completely removed all the solder from the bridge. My GPU looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    I can't even see the 2 copper dots and the laser cutted now. It has been totally scratched off. So, any idea on how to connect the bridge? Or am I already screwed?
     
  8. Galant New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austria / Graz
    I´m sorry i can´t see it good enough to tell you what exactly the scenaryio is but is there really no solder anymore? How did you remove the solder? Did you unsolder it?
     
  9. alexwsk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Galant. Yeah, I've unsoldered it completely. Now, there a gap all the way from where the 1st copper dot suppose to be until where the second copper suppose to be dot. I can't see the laser cutted or any copper dots on the right hand side now.
     
  10. Mome New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    the Lasercut is un the lefthand upside ;)

    I did also have a X800SE card and tried and tried to unlock the Pipes, but haven't been succesfull. My card was internally locked. But it made really great overclocks , with a slightly increased VGPU it ran on 600/585 :D

    First thing you should do ist try to clean the Lasercut area as good as possible and then you should rebuild it into your Sys and have an try if it works.
    If the other 4 Pipes didn't reactivate again, you can just try to solder arround the Lasercut to activate another quad.
     
  11. alexwsk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Mome, how to make sure that all the solder are completedly removed? With my rough eye, I don't see any solder connecting any dots.

    Btw, I would like to clarify that the 2 right hand side dots and the laser cutted were scrapped off/scratched off in one straight line, from where the first dot supposed to be until where the second dot supposed to be. So, if there's no more dots and laser cutted, how to connect it?

    Any suggestions will be much appreciated. Thanks.
     
  12. alexwsk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, I'm screwed. Still 4 pipelines after cleaning all the solder. Anyway, thx for everyone who helped out.

    A piece of advice to ppl who's going to do the hard mod, don't solder!!!! Use conductive paint or lacquer instead.
     
  13. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    My video card is the exact same as yours (minus the 4 pipes missing) except under GB_PIPE_SELECT mine says 0x5650. What would that difference actually mean?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page