1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hey genral help pls

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by curt, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    ok i just bought a new mother board and cput and is seams slower then i feel it should be and the bench marks arnt impresive eather the new comp it old one after slash /

    amd 64 3800+ s939 512cash @2916mh /xp3000+ was at 2606mh
    1gig ddr 400 ram at 195mh 2.5c / same
    nforce3 agp board /asus nforce2 ultra
    bfg7800gs-oc/same
    winxp pro

    an yeah this new cpu and board can barly beat my old system evin oc.ing a bit the benchmarks barly move i did have my old xp3000 running at 2.6gh and it beats this 3800+ at stock just a lil bit now if has the 3800+ to 2.9gh safly so far from 2.4 an its allmost the same speed as stock wats goin on pleas help if u can

    oh yeah thea ht speed rite now is 940mh is it suposed to be 1000mh or 2000 im not shur i think its 1000
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2006
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    do you have CnQ enabled?
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,650 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    it should blow that xp away is there background apps runing during the test stuff?
  4. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    my bad

    sorry yeah no back ground aps at all the one i use some times is mbm and cool an quite is disabled and yeah that xp3000 would crash at 43c an a voltige of 2.1 lol she put out some heat i tell yuh
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
  6. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    ok first is it a clean install of wiindows

    second are you using current nvidia drivers, if so u need to downgrade to ones that work properly with dual core cpu's nvidia has fooked up and made some current sets that loose alot of perf with dual core enabled :/
  7. tong

    tong

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    111 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    MA, USA
    It's the nforce3 chipset, realy, it sucks. I did close to the same upgrade except my barton was at 2.5 gig and my x64 went to 2.7. On nforce3 chipset it felt the same and benched close to the same, however on the nforce4 chipset it was a huge difference
  8. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    nforce3 chipsets fine, you probbly had a crappy board or something, you MUST reinstall windows when moving to a new platform!!! many people dont, hence there perf sucks!!!

    also dont install the nvidia IDE drivers or NAM and you will get better perf!!!!

    i have 3 nf3 boards, all run on par with my nf5 board for perf!!!
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Perf! Ftw~~~~~~~
  10. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    if you have NAM installed remove it(nvidia network access manager is a bain on tech round the world)
  11. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    hey

    yeah windows is new and i did the newest bios to i cant use old video drivers nothin lower then 81.00 drivers suport my 7800gs i know my board is fine its brand new epox board and cpu is single core 3800 not x2
    if bin tweakin an seams mostly soft ware related my speed loss umm how much do the so called amd cpu drivers help if at all im guna back date my chip set drivers i know for shure its not heat related eather cpu temp at load max is 40c @ 2.9gh an the lag im getting is not hard drive related no more cashing going on then normal and is a swap file tweak posable to help i just feel as this set up can do more an im shure it will just gota get the tweaks in an bugs out
  12. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    post full specs on ur setup, like exectly what board you have and such.

    and if its singel core go with the latest drivers you can find.

    the cpu driver wont help, its for cnq and x2 systems.

    and what are you using to test perf exectly?

    3dmark is a good stab test but not really a valid way to test how a system performs in real games.
    try 3dmark 2001se for a good cpu test if you ran it on ur 3000+ xp chip u should see a nice boost in 2001se as its more a cpu test these days.

    run some superPI times as well.

    also read some driver tweak guides for nvidia cards, you may need to tweak card drivers for best results..

    oh and dont run vista, if you have less then like 2gb ram things are gonna go slow, mainly because it uses 700mb for just the os/gui that leaves very little for other programs/apps to use if your at 1gb.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page