1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hey guys, I want to know if this chip will overclock well?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by WAR10CK, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. WAR10CK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    Hey what's up guys I want to upgrade my E4300 for Intel Pentium Dual Core CPU E6500 2.93GH so my question is this chip better than the E4300 and if the E6500 overclocks well or would it better if I buy a corsair H50 and overclock the E4300 any help will be appreciate thanks in advance:confused::confused:
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. WAR10CK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    I have a xigmatek already on the chip I can't even get pass 2.22 GHZ
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wow really? How's that? Back in the day when the E6xxx series were the performance chips, a lot of people were buying the midrange E4xxx chips (like the E4300) and clocking them to 3GHz an beyond. What are your temps? You're dropping your RAM speed, right? What board do you have? I know the ECS board in my server won't take my 430 past 2GHz, even though the guy I bought it off of said he ran it past 3GHz, heh. That rig probably needs a new power supply too though, once I put my 9600GSO in there I noticed it won't overclock at all now, it used to do 223FSB, now it won't even go there...
     
    WAR10CK says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah that's another thing. If you're being limited by temps, try re-mounting it. Give the cpu and heatsink a good cleaning and re apply thermal paste. A lot of people reccomend applying a thin line of paste on each heatpipe then mounting it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I wouldn't buy a Corsair H50 for a chip like that. Follow these guys' advice on OCing. There's something that you're missing.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,892 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,295
    Cooling isn't the only thing that affects overclocking. What are your temperatures, voltages, etc? By what methodology are you overclocking?
     
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's what I was thinking... the H50 is more geared to processors that put out stupid amounts of heat like the i7 series.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. WAR10CK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    My motherboard is ECS G41T-M and I haven't drop the ram speed do I need to do that??
     
  10. WAR10CK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    The temperature is very low 28
     
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Methinks you should google around for some overclocking tips.
     
  12. WAR10CK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    hey I just lower the ram speed overclocked it to 3.1ghz I have another question what chip is better than the E4300??
     
  13. Timonthy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    the E8XXX OCs great, ~4Ghz shouldnt be a problem, and the jump should be worth it as it runs cooler also due to it being 45nm.

    Getting an E6XXX isnt worth it IMO, unless its dirt cheap (like $20).
     
  14. WAR10CK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    don't you know a link for the chips on ebay
     
  15. Timonthy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2010
  16. WAR10CK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    thanks guys foir the help really appreciate it finally got my E4300 to 3,1 GHZ thanks
     
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hah, so your RAM was limiting you. That's pretty much overclocking rule #1, drop your RAM speed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    Sorry to bring this thread back up, but it's possible just to use the stock HSF to get there. I used the stock heatsink to take my old E7400 from 2.8GHz to 3.6GHz with temps topping out at 65C. It shouldn't be too hard.
     
  19. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I'm pretty sure he's talking pentium e6500. The original e6500 was not 2.93 ghz.

    Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6500 Wolfdale 2.93GHz 2MB...

    See. :D

    If you can get that e45 to over 3ghz, there's no point in upgrading.

    Those little wolfdale chips are zippy. Just gave one to my brother.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
  20. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    Oh, sorry. :eek: Well, the potential's there, that's all I'm saying. :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page