1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hey guys! im trying to set up a crossfire, any tips or instructions?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jdo602roy, Nov 28, 2008.

  1. jdo602roy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Windows: Windows XP5.1 (Build 2600) Service Pack 2
    Internet Explorer: 7.0.5730.13
    Memory (RAM): 2047 MB
    CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz
    CPU Speed: 3032.0 MHz
    Sound card: Realtek HD Audio output
    Display Adapters: ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series | ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series | NetMeeting driver | RDPDD Chained DD
    Screen Resolution: 1024 X 768 - 32 bit
    :
    Network Adapters: Hamachi Network Interface | Marvell Yukon 88E8052 PCI-E ASF Gigabit Ethernet Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    CD / DVD Drives: D: RC7449Z NCA904E | E: PIONEER DVD RW DVR-109 | H: RC7449Z NCA904E | I: RC7449Z NCA904E | J: RC7449Z NCA904E
    :
    COM Ports: COM1
    LPT Ports:
    Mouse: 3 Button Wheel Mouse Present
    Hard Disks: C: 19.5GB | G: 213.3GB
    Hard Disks - Free: C: 1.2GB | G: 10.9GB
    USB Controllers: 6 host controllers.
    Firewire (1394): 1 host controllers.
    :
    Manufacturer: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
    Product Make:
    :
    AC Power Status: OnLine
    BIOS Info: ATAT COMPATIBLE 121806 RS600 42302e31
    Motherboard: DFI Corp,LTD LP UT ICFX3200-T2R

    This is my spec and i want to set up a crossfire with this card:
    Palit Radeon HD 3870 512MB GDDR3 PCI-E DVI-I HDMI Video Card
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,582 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    What motherboard and power supply are you using?
  3. jdo602roy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my power supply is: Sonata III 500
    and my motherboard is : DFI Corp,LTD LP UT ICFX3200-T2R
  4. NeoCrisis

    NeoCrisis

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    384 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    have you bought a second card already? If not there really no reason for you to go CF if you're playing at 1024 X 768res.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,582 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    The power supply will not work with 3870's in CrossFire.
  6. broke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    66 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2008
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,582 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
  8. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    theres 2x17a 12v rails

    and to the op, go HERE follow the instructions and you should be set to go
  9. broke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    66 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    it will def. be close on both the psu and mobo end, but doable I would presume. the real question I think is, if the performance increase is worth the 65$
  10. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    The DFI is a good board. All be it quite tricky to get on top of.

    This is not really related to crossfire but -

    Which one of those partitions has your o/s on it???

    It says there that you only have 1.2gb free on your c: drive. If that is what your xp is on you really need to free up some space on there.

    If you are gaming at 1024 x 768 (same as your desktop) then even 1 HD3870 is to much let alone 2. What size monitor do you have??

    Follow that link provided above and you should be ok :)

    Why no Service pack 3 on your xp??
  11. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    ATI's recommendation for crossfired 3870s is 38A (system-wide). That PSU may have two rails, but they are independant (AFAIK), and since ATX specs require that 12v2 is dedicated to the CPU that leaves one rail to power the two cards, HDD's ,ODD's etc. On 17A? I wouldn't risk it, but its your kit at the end of the day.
  12. broke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    66 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
  13. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Thats the trouble with reviews. Sure, it may be able to put out that much when brand new. But running it at full (over?) capacity for a longer period would be asking for trouble IMO.....And what other components are going to be at risk IF and when it does let go. Given the price of the Corsair VX550 (single 41A rail) I'd opt for that at the very least.
  14. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Like someone said about, ur running at 1024 x 768. And in CF, performance increase will be unoticable and will only drain more watts from the PSU.
  15. broke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    66 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    hmm you hear that jdo602roy, it looks like you might have to pass up on the deal if you wanna play if safe
  16. broke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    66 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    "performance increase will be unnoticeable " uhh common noticeable scaling does occurs even at 1024X768 http://www.legitreviews.com/article/605/7/
    and look here lol http://www.legitreviews.com/article/605/9/

    and look here a crossfire setup with a quad core only consumes 305W.

    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/605/13/

    In case you guys are wondering, I'm persisting cuz this might be the last time he'll have the opportunity to crossfire at the clearance price, injecting some more life into his rig.

    but I'm far from the most knowledgeable guy here
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2008
    mullered07 says thanks.
  17. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    your gettin a thanks for that post, very informative and confirmed what i knew that crossfire does scale even at lower resolution :toast:

    tbh im surprised from my experiences how well it scales in most games, and 80% wouldnt be too far wrong
  18. broke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    66 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    poor jdo602roy, he's probably so confused right now :laugh:
  19. jdo602roy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wow thnx guys!
    this has all been helpful (even though i probably didn't understand half of it)
    i'll take everyone's comment into consideration

    1 question, is there any chance that this modification will wreck my computer?
    if there isnt any, i think i'll give it a try and if it doesn't work, i'll use it in my next upgrade

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page