1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hi-power psu ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mullered07, Jul 17, 2008.

  1. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    ok i never go cheap on psu's but im looking for an crossfire capable psu on a budget and found THIS now ive never heard of
    but looking at the specs, this maybe a new psu manufacturer looking to compete in the market hence low price with good looking specs.

    am i right in thinking this has at least 3x 12v rails with 20a on each ? is it worth risking ?

    basically i have £80 to spend for my birthday and want another 2gig of my ocz ram, and a psu, this is the only halfdecent one i could find.

    it also has 4x pcie (2x6pin and 2x6+2pin)
     
  2. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    built by Sirtec, not quality.

    - Christine
     
  3. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    id go for it, seems to have pretty good reviews on ebuyer.
     
  4. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    where did you find that, i couldnt :banghead:
     
  5. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    just know. :) they used to make some older Thermaltake models.

    - Christine
     
  6. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    just know? sorry that doesnt cut the mustard with me :confused: you either know or are assuming, the specs on it look damn good and no budget psu ive seen has tri/quad rails with 20a on each rail

    i know crap from good and on paper aside from the brand it looks good, if it was your everyday generic 600/700w psu you would probably have 30a on the rails combined at most, also on all of there models, inc this one they have received 5 stars and people have run 8800gtx sli on the one above this :twitch:
     
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    well just to be safe im going for the next model up which states it has 4X 12v rails with 20a max output on each and is modular

    and another 2gig ocz 1066 ram :D
     
  8. CStylen

    CStylen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    449 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    AZ
    If you have the money to go crossifre, spend it on a better psu and forget the ram. For crossifre, a single 12V rail would be ideal for stability.
     
  9. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    like the corsair hx1000w with 2x 12v rails as in your specs ?

    crossfire is a work in progress and i dont have the £ for it, its somthing im building upto

    doesnt matter wether it has 1/2/4 12v+ rails, obv 1 is better but many good psu's have dual/quad rails. 2 or more rails doesnt make that much of a difference if the amps are (excuse the pun) ample enough and stable
     
  10. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    If you're looking for a good PSU check out the PC Power and Cooling 750 Watt (Model # S75QB). 60 Amps on a single rail.
     
    infrared says thanks.
  11. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    hard to get hold of ppc in the UK plus out of my budget otherwise i would just opt for a nice tagan or corsair 1000w+ psu, but budget/performance is the key here
     
  12. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    2nd'ed, awesome power supply. Regret selling my one.
     
  13. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    if i had £100 to spend on one i would be, i have £80ish to spend and i want another 2 gig of ram regardless, so its either a psu or maybe another hdd for raid :eek:
     
  14. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Oh I see, it was hard for me to get mine here in AK (Newegg and TigerDirect shipping costs suck where I live), but I was able to find one for $149.99 USD shipped. If you can get a hold of one for cheap, I'd recommend getting one.
     
  15. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    why not just save a little more and get a good PSU? isn't that better than having to run out and replace it everytime you upgrade. hell check the forums and get one used. a used silverstone is still better than a new raidmax/powamax/any other BS brand.


    if you want cheap/good go get a Xion w1z did a review on them and it kicked some ass
     
  17. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    just sold my ocz so forked out for another hx520w modular psu and 2gb ocz 1066 ram :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page