1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hidden Google Earth Flight Sim Discovered

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Sep 3, 2007.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    An interesting new Easter egg has been discovered in the latest version of Google Earth which offers users a nifty little free little flight simulator. By pressing Control+Alt+A (actually, for me it only worked by using Control+A, so try that if pressing all three keys doesn’t work) you can open a flight sim dialogue which will let to choose between the F16 “Viper” aircraft or the SR22, and allow you to select where you would like to start from a number of global airports. You only have to use this shortcut once – after the first time you can simply go to the “Tools” menu and click on “Enter Flight Simulator...” to run it. Admittedly it isn’t the best flight sim out there, but if you get a bit bored at work and would like something to do, this could give you a few hours of entertainment before the IT technicians find out. This will only work with version 4.2 (including the free version) of Google Earth. For a full list of controls, go here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Google Operating System via [H]ard|OCP
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2007
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Holy crap, that is so cool.
     
  3. kingabo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Or use ctrl + win key + a .
    How can i change the aircraft? Once asked me, and no more. :(
     
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Flying over your hometown is pretty nice... unfortunately I was going too fast to make out my house - it would be cool if there was a way to get places to show up in flight sim mode, might take a look and see if there is.

    Edit: nice, custom ones do show up. Now to pinpoint my house so I can find it when I'm flying!
     
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I crashed into my house...
     
  6. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    going to try now :)
     
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Yes... you want to crash into your neighbors that you hate so much... :D
     
  8. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I laughed.
     
  9. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    i can't fly:(
    i'm a noob
     
  10. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    anyone see a terrorist training ring starting up on account of Google ?
    the kind that trains to fly into buildings ?
    lol having said that i am probably on some sort of government list now :-D
     
  11. JacKz5o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    485 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    The controls are too sensitive, I crashed in 3 seconds on my first try :D
     
  12. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Wow, sweet find. Someone made an add-on to google maps like this, but google earth is way cooler. I can't get it to work, version: 4.0.2737

    And if you get Google Earth Plus, you will suddenly have a whole new world of bandwitdth...
     
  13. FAXA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    236 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    The flying is easy if you don't choose the F-16.
     
  14. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Man I gotta learn to read - specifically said version 4.2, duh.
     
  15. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    851 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Just one more reason for people to go to google over the competition.
    Try deleting your cash in your web browser, not sure how the client works but it may reset it.

    ROFL
     
  16. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    You have to enter flight sim via the tools menu in order to change options again :cool:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page