1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

High CPU usage BF3?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by lwgnlseven, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Hey guys I just recently started playing BF3 again after a long break, and I was looking at my CPU usage and was wondering if its too high or not or just about right. I've got an i5 2500k at 3.3 (3.7 turbo) with a gtx 580 and the CPU usage varies from 65-78% and sometimes will jump to high 80s / low 90s for a second or two, and back to within the range again. Is it anything to be concerned about? I always read about bottleneck and things of that sort. I've read a few people say they have an i5 2500k OC''d to 4.5 or so and get 50-70% CPU usage. Would there's be lower because of the faster clock speed? Thanks guys.

    *Update* The CPU usage was tested with Vsync turned off so I was getting FPS of 80-140 depending on situation. If I turn on Vsync and get 60 fps, my CPU usage range drops to 50-70. I usually play with Vsync off for better performance so should I just assume that everything is right where it should be?

    My reason for concern was because my first game I played today after not playing for a long time, showed 98-100% for an entire match. All games after that have been 65-80% roughly. Could that one particular server perhaps caused high usage? I'm not really sure...
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2012
  2. 3design New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Can you please post your system spec?

    Thank you!
  3. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    High usage is nothing shocking. I see about 80% usage on my i7 970 that I don't have overclocked. When I had my 920, I had it overclocked to 4Ghz and the usage dropped very little.

    The larger the maps the higher the usage also. So you will get more usage on maps like Gulf of Oman compared to Metro.
  4. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    My specs are...

    i5 2500k
    gtx 580 1.5gb
    asus p8z68 gen 3 pro
    16 gb ddr3 ram
    windows 7

    I just don't want there to be something wrong that the usage is high (or what I perceive to be as high) I really don't know what it should be at and am having a hard time finding a good comparable reference.
  5. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,796 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Looks about normal to me.

    Leave it like it is unless you have a 120hz monitor.
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,931 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,209
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    normal my 2500k hits 65% CPU usage cross all 4 cores.
  7. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    As an update. I was just playing Caspian Border, which is a fairly large map, 32 players, and CPU usage was 75%-90%. Is this anything to be concerned about? I'm not sure why the CPU usage seems so high...My gtx 580 is running at 99% so its not bottlenecking. I'm getting 80-140 fps on medium settings, but I'm still concerned about the usage...I never noticed it before and am hoping it is not an issue....
  8. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    You have a GTX 580 and are playing on med settings ?!? >_<
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,869 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    I noticed on my system bf3 uses less cpu usage compared to bc2.

    kinda weird
  10. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Well when on ultra, I can get 50-60 fps on foot, but when flying on certain maps, i get very bad choppiness, hence the reason for playing on medium. I switched to high and get 60-80 fps and cpu usage has dropped to 65-80%, so perhaps thats a little bit more where it should be.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,196 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,031
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    What resolution do you game at? The lower the resolution the harder it will hit your CPU. At higher resolutions the GPU spends more time working than the CPU so it's relatively less.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  12. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I game at 1920x1080. I'm seeing most people with an i5 2500k getting 60-70% cpu usage. Perhaps they are testing with Vsync on and limiting to 60fps. The close I get to 60 fps, the more accurate that range is now playing on high settings. When on medium settings, I was getting 80-120 fps and that was driving the cpu usage closer to 90%. Would that make sense that the higher FPS would then show a high cpu usage since its working harder?
  13. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    That would make sense.
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,196 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,031
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It makes more than sense, that is actually what is happening. Lower resolutions just allow for that higher frame rate without lowing graphics or having beastly hardware. Ideally vsync + high graphics should run like a dream on your GTX 580.
  15. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,946
    Location:
    Oregon
    Your fine
  16. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    The only problem I have with vsync is the way the mouse feels at 60 fps. Its hard to explain but playing bf3 at 100 fps vs locked at 60 fps, the mouse is not very responsive like it is when the cap is unlocked. Unfortunately its like this in most games.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page