1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

High Ping Help!!!!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Warner, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. Warner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey I need help with my Internet Ping, it is really high! I can't really fix it either because i'm not too good with computers. I called in my Internet provider "Shaw" and they don't really know the problem, they say it doesn't have to do with the Internet. So it has to do something with my Computer I think.

    Ok below is something that shows files on my computer I think. Ryan H said it helps you guys know what can be causing it.

    ---------------------------
    ---------------------------



    I tried doing:
    -Calling Internet provider and sending a mechanic.
    -Taking off my Virus protector (McAaffe) and just getting AVG.
    -Virus scanned a lot.
    -Cleaned computer.


    I have windows XP with mozilla browser.
    I don't have a router or wireless, It's wired to a modem.



    [​IMG]
    I did it again just to be sure.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,210 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    O2 - BHO: GigagetIEHelper - {111CAA23-6F4F-42AC-8555-B48C1D87BBAB} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\gigagetbho_v10.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {1A590853-045C-4D87-B58B-370915BD5E0F} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\basesr.dll
    O2 - BHO: ALOT Toolbar - {5AA2BA46-9913-4dc7-9620-69AB0FA17AE7} - C:\Program Files\alot\bin\alot.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {5C255C8A-E604-49b4-9D64-90988571CECB} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: PriceGong - {D2A2595C-4FE4-4315-AA9B-19DBD6271B71} - C:\Program Files\PriceGong\1.2.0\PriceGongIE.dll
    O2 - BHO: Ask Toolbar BHO - {D4027C7F-154A-4066-A1AD-4243D8127440} - C:\Program Files\Ask.com\GenericAskToolbar.dll
    O2 - BHO: TBSB09835 - {D97FC677-694D-4A75-AC89-A5B85C2BCFED} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: mobilewitch Toolbar - {fcbf663e-8530-46f8-a880-ac5abe9d2b23} - C:\Program Files\mobilewitch\tbmobi.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: ALOT Toolbar - {5AA2BA46-9913-4dc7-9620-69AB0FA17AE7} - C:\Program Files\alot\bin\alot.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {6226BA26-C017-4007-928C-DE9715C6FA67} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {EBF2BA02-9094-4c5a-858B-BB198F3D8DE2} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: mobilewitch Toolbar - {fcbf663e-8530-46f8-a880-ac5abe9d2b23} - C:\Program Files\mobilewitch\tbmobi.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Ask Toolbar - {D4027C7F-154A-4066-A1AD-4243D8127440} - C:\Program Files\Ask.com\GenericAskToolbar.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: PC Tools Browser Guard - {472734EA-242A-422B-ADF8-83D1E48CC825} -
    O4 - HKLM\..\Policies\Explorer\Run: [RTHDBPL] C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator.HOME-62AFA499BD\Application Data\SystemProc\lsass.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Policies\Explorer\Run: [Local Service] C:\Documents and Settings\Brian.HOME-62AFA499BD\Application Data\Microsoft\smss.exe
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {53F6FCCD-9E22-4d71-86EA-6E43136192AB} - (no file)
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {925DAB62-F9AC-4221-806A-057BFB1014AA} - (no file)
    O9 - Extra button: PartyPoker.com - {B7FE5D70-9AA2-40F1-9C6B-12A255F085E1} - C:\Program Files\PartyGaming\PartyPoker\RunApp.exe (file missing)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: PartyPoker.com - {B7FE5D70-9AA2-40F1-9C6B-12A255F085E1} - C:\Program Files\PartyGaming\PartyPoker\RunApp.exe (file missing)
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O20 - AppInit_DLLs: wbsys.dll,C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctl3dv232.dll,C:\WIN DOWS\System32\deskadp32.dll
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: a8da6511649 - C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctl3dv232.dll (file missing)
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: a8da6511720 - C:\WINDOWS\System32\deskadp32.dll
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: avgrsstarter - avgrsstx.dll (file missing)
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: __c00157F4 - C:\WINDOWS\system32\__c00157F4.dat (file missing)
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: __c00185 - C:\WINDOWS\system32\__c00185.dat (file missing)
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: __c007C4D9 - Invalid registry found
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: __c00B41E4 - C:\WINDOWS\system32\__c00B41E4.dat (file missing)
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: __c00DBBA4 - Invalid registry found
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: __c00EA0AA - Invalid registry found
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: Browser Defender Update Service - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\BDT\BDTUpdateService.exe
    O23 - Service: MBackMonitor - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\McAfee\MBK\MBackMonitor.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: My Web Search Service (MyWebSearchService) - MyWebSearch.com - C:\PROGRA~1\MYWEBS~1\bar\1.bin\mwssvc.exe
    O23 - Service: ProtexisLicensing - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\PSIService.exe


    those are worrying

    O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\..\{41BAA33F-D48B-4EE4-89EE-86642916FC20}: NameServer = 208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS2\Services\Tcpip\..\{41BAA33F-D48B-4EE4-89EE-86642916FC20}: NameServer = 208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220

    These here look like some kind of DNS hijack, and may explain the pings.

    your PC is very poorly maintained, and full of adware and toolbars. Looks like you got hit by some nasty viruses, and whatever removed them did a piss poor job at it.
     
  3. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    brah, if you dont know much, i would advise if you can get a installation of kaspery free trial 30 days, itll do one full update, run a full custom scan with it, might take a couple hours, but most likely itll remove everything.
    make sure you tell the full scan to do everything on high, then scan

    http://esd.element5.com/product.html?productid=300324330&nolselection=1
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,652 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,043
    You need to run malwarebytes or spybot. I can see several uneeded toolbars running too.
     
  5. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    717
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    You can try pinging your router to see if ping is excessively high between your computer and it. If it is you may have a faulty Ethernet cable or interference on your wireless network.

    Type the following in the command prompt.
    Code:
    ping 192.168.1.1
    You can also substitute IP addresses for various website URLs to see if you get varying pings from different websites.

    Code:
    ping www.google.com
    
    The "tracert" command is also very useful for discovering where the latency is occurring between you and a designated location.

    for example:

    Code:
    tracert www.speedtest.net
    
    this will give you a list of the amount of time it takes for your data to travel between each device it encounters on its way to www.speedtest.net. This is called a "hop".

    If you have a long hop between your modem and the servers at your ISP (look for a hop with your ISP's name somewhere in its name) followed by short hops when the data leaves your ISP's infastructure then you know the trouble is with your ISP and not with your equipment. If you have consistently high ping throughout all hops you could have a malware problem

    Knowing where the excess lag is occurring is the first step to figuring out how to fix it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Looks like you need to reformat your pc :D
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Definitely try pinging the modem as steevo suggested(no router here, he is going straight to the modem).

    If pinging 192.168.1.1 doesn't work, your cable modem might be using a different IP(some use 192.168.0.1, others 192.168.1.254, others 192.168.0.254, etc...).

    Anyway, first open a cmd prompt.

    Then type:
    Code:
    ipconfig
    It should give you an output that looks something like this:
    Code:
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.12
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       [B]Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : [U]XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX[/U][/B]
    
    Look for your default gateway, that is the number you want to ping.

    The type:

    Code:
    ping XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
    Obviously replacing the X's with the real numbers you get. If the ping to the modem isn't high, then the problem is external, and not the computer.

    I've noticed recently that a lot of the viruses like to set the computer to use a proxy, sending all your internet traffic though one of the viruses servers, so that could be causing the extremely high pings also. To check for this go into your Internet Options via control panel or IE. Then go to the Connection tab, and click on the LAN Settings button. Make sure the Use a proxy server for your LAN box isn't checked.

    And as others have said, run MalwareBytes and Spybot to give the computer a good cleaning, there are some odd things in that log.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    I wouldn't think to reformat right yet. I mean do some spyware, malware & virus cleaning first. Then if that doesn't do it, look into some networking issues, as a last resort take in consideration reformatting your PC.
     
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    how do you know you have a high ping? were you playing a game online?
     
  10. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    He has speedtests at the bottom of the OP. They tell you the ping.
     
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    oh lol i was so distracted by all those programs running!

    to the OP, have you tried speedtest to different servers? also, do you have another pc in the house you can test out to see if it is net related or computer related?
     
  12. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,216 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    i bet it has something to do with this
    $10 says its re routing all outgoing traffic to a server somewhere.....
    Disable it and see it it helps

    ..and just out of curiosity, do you use all of those toolbars? :eek:

    and get rid of this

    MY solution: Reformat as fast as you can
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
  13. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    I find the best way of cleaning all the spyware and whatnots is reformatting. its like dropping a nuke to end all battles. Of course there is a lot of disadvantages, but no one can deny its beauty. Plus it cleans out a lot of other gunk.
     
  14. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,216 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    :toast: This, Warner your pc is no longer your bro, its time to reformat :toast:
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Did anyone notice the completely shit upload speeds he's getting? That is likely part of the problem also. 0.05Mb/s is horrible, it should be at least over 0.25Mb/s I would think for a cable connection.

    Anyway, it does look like there is a lot of garbage on the machine, but we don't know how much of it is actually running or not. A lot of that could be left over entries for things that have already been removed.

    A reformat definitely cleans out the machine, but as stated has some pretty huge disadvantages, it is kind of like cutting off an arm to get rid of a splinter...

    The problem can likely be fixed by running some anti-malware programs instead.

    First, I would run the Mcafee cleanup tool found here: http://download.mcafee.com/products/licensed/cust_support_patches/MCPR.exe
    You uninstalled Mcafee, but it has a really bad tendency to leave parts behind, particually the firewall bits that really kill a connection.

    Second, I would run MalwareBytes found here: http://malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
    Make sure to update it before you scan. Do a full scan, then remove whatever it finds.

    Third, I would run Spybot found here: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html
    Again, update before you scan. Remove whatever it finds.

    If none of that fixes the issue, run ComboFix found here: http://www.combofix.org/
    Run this only as a last resort, and you might want to back up your computer in preperation for a reformat before hand, it can work miricles, but it can also royally screw up the computer.

    If the problem isn't fixed after that, reformat.
     
    InnocentCriminal says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    Your right if you don't care about files you have stored or anything that will be lost. Reformatting is always a terrible computer techs answer. "Hey, lets take the easy way out!"
     
  17. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,216 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    proper backups and archiving of important files = painless format....:D Im sorry but in my personal experiance over the years, virus and spyware programs never really help fully and in some cases can actually make things worse
     
  18. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    This is exactly what I would have suggested!
     
  19. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    Sounds like its a personal thing. Ive always had good luck with said programs, obviously others have as well. Really unnecessary to wipe a hard drive when its not needed. I would agree if he had run the proper programs, but he hasn't tired.
     
  20. Jflynn0

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Cooler

    reformat willbe best option
     
  21. Warner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I followed the steps from Mussels, and this is how my Speedtest.net turned out.
    [​IMG]
    The ping looks alright but I'm still getting connection problems in game, and also the upload speed still isn't great.

    I'm about to read the other posts you guys written because it seemd really helpful when I skimmed through.


    Thanks.
     
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Reformatting is a definate, master solution to computer problems on the software side. However, it's a pain in the ass as you have to reinstall and reconfigure everything, and backup any important files you have. Some other things to try:

    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

    Spybot S&D

    You could try resetting any network equipment you have: modems, routers, switches, access points, etc. Resetting is easy, simply power down (unplug) the device, wait ~30 seconds, and return power.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Hardly painless, there still the issue of re-installing software and configuring the OS the way the user wants.

    In most cases a good proper cleaning can be almost as good as a total reformat with none of the hassle.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    717
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Those are the IP addresses for OpenDNS. That's where the DNS for my router is set, I don't know why they would appear in a HijackThis log. I've had them set manually on individual computers and never had them appear in the log.
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,210 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    maybe that explains his pings - he could be located really, REALLY far away from the openDNS servers
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page