1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

High Power Unveils RockSolid Pro 1600W PSU

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,542 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,643
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    PSU maker High Power unveiled the RockSolid Pro 1600W (RS-1600 Pro), a high capacity modular PSU for enthusiast PCs with multiple graphics cards and CPU sockets. This brute uses four 50A +12V rails to meet its capacity. It bears 80 Plus Silver efficiency certification. The unit uses a 135 mm golf ball dimpled fan with off-delay to keep the unit cool. It is compliant with most modern standards. An LED status display keeps the user updated on the load. It should have adequate cable connectivity for 4-way multi-GPU setups, if not more.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Lab501.ro
     
    poorya_lion says thanks.
  2. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Wow, i must haz!
     
  3. ZoneDymo

    ZoneDymo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    These things worry me.
    We want my future PC's to be faster sure, but I also want stuff to be more efficient.
    These constantly bigger getting PSU's kinda make me think we are heading in the wrong direction (which is weird because many new components seem to be less consuming then the previous)
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    Its probably aimed more at benchers/folders who need to quad fire/sli graphic cards while running a Dual CPU mobo with 512GBS of ram and 10 HDDs
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
  5. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,419 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    wait... 22A of input? damn my lines max out at 20A. well i guess its time for some breaker box upgrades.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  6. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    609 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Release the Lionnnnz! :D
     
  7. nickbaldwin86

    nickbaldwin86

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    247 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    This is what SLI kepler will require :p
     
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,594 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,222
    They are just as effecient as weaker units, these can just deliver more power. And you wouldn't buy this for a low power HTPC or office machine anyway.

    Are there other units at 1600W out there?
     
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,323 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I think Thermaltakes 1500w is as high as it goes right now, then I think theres a few in the 1400's.
     
    Frick says thanks.
  10. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    1600w @ silver cert only, if you're drawing 50% - 75% of the PSU capacity OK otherwise i think inefficient :eek:

    Why do they keep making thing's we don't REALLY need?
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    you need it.

    you just dont have the money to pay for it.

    If $8000 was just a drop in the ocean, wouldnt you just go crazy and build yourself the most OTT system possible?

    Hell i know i would
     
  12. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Obviously person's with dual CPU & multi GFX (3+) could benefit from this but again where is the efficiency in the new product's if we need such massive amount's of power to use them? Not really advancement IMO :eek: Building/running a folding/crunching machine is a complete waste IMO. They do more harm than good :(

    :roll::roll:

    LOL I could buy 1,000 of these PSU's IF i wanted, but what for? To say that "i can" or "i have" please i aint 12 year's old anymore :rolleyes:

    My PC @ left is more than capable for my need's, and prolly for most people as well (if they want to admit or not), and the only "upgrade/s" i see happening (for me) in the next few year's (unless something MAJOR change's in the PC world) is GFX card. This build started with an e5200 > q9550, 4890 > 5870, 4g RAM > 8g RAM and a 750w > 850w PSU. All of this is "overkill" for me since all i do is surf, game and enjoy my media (music/videos). Hell i still use a p4 system too! :laugh:
     
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,232 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    That or this is for the blokes across the pond. :laugh:
     
  14. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,323 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I don't even know if dual cpu and 3 gpu's would need this, I feel I went way overboard ordering my 1250w, but for the price I had to. But as with anything, if you got the money, go for it, it's human nature.
     
  15. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I never could understand WHY? Why do people have this "need" or "urge" it accomplish's NOTHING :confused:

    Guess i still got that old immigrant mentality :eek:
     
  16. H 3 L L S M A N

    H 3 L L S M A N New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sault Ste Marie
    I would rather run two high rated PSU's any day over a single extreme watt model like this.
     
  17. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,232 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    I have GOT to hear the reason for this....... ^^

    Go ahead.......
     
  18. poorya_lion

    poorya_lion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tehran , Iran
    you are wrong !!! Can you run EVGA SR2 or SRX with 4x EVGA 580GTX Classified under LN2 with your 1250W ??? it has 16 PCI-E . system above has 15 PCI-E. Plus I don't like to run a system with 2 PSUs , it is OK but not standard !!!
     
  19. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    130amps on 12v rail...:eek::eek: :twitch:
     
  20. poorya_lion

    poorya_lion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tehran , Iran
    I found the first sample's test. 125% Overload.
    115V , Efficiency 83.81% :​

    [​IMG]


    230V , Efficiency 85.02% :​

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
    THE_EGG and Frick say thanks.
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,594 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,222
    It's 4 12V rails. And on a unit like this I assume they're "true" rails.

    @poorya_lion: Where did you get those pictures?
     
  22. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Why do we have bigger and more powerful PSU's you ask? Because we can, as Jeremy Clarkson says, "MORE POWERRRRRRR!!!!!!".

    Anyway this applies to vehicles too. To go to and from work, all we need is a VW Polo. But most of us would choose to have better cars because we choose to.
     
  23. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    The 4 rails combine on the 12v is 1560w so 1560/12=130a ;)
     
  24. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    2000w++ overload!! A standard 110v/120v @ 20a wouldn't be able to handle that load, you could burn your place down!! It seem's as if this unit NEED's to be on a 220v/230v @ 30a line.

    IIRC a standard N/A 110v/120v @ 20a line can supply a max of 1800w

    Same here, better efficiency it seem's. Although i would never build a PC that would require such power :eek:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page