1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

High temps with H100, 3930k and P9X79 Deluxe

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by pabloottawa, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hi guys

    I have a strange problem here. I juist bought the P9X79 Deluxe MB along with the 3930k CPU and the H100 to keep things nice and cool. The problem is, my temps at idle are in the 50's so forget about overclocking. This is in a CM HAF 922 case. The case is too small for the fans and the cooler to be inside so I have the fans on the outside pushing air into the case as opposed to pulling air out from the inside. I checked the seating of the block and all seems well but it was very late last night and I may have missed something. I will recheck it and if necessary, re-seat the block...

    Does anyone else have this problem???? It seems very strange and either something was missed or the H100 is defective. I know that it's most likely a user error but I'm really trying to figure out why this thing is idling so high. I connected the three pin (which is actually a single pin connection on a three pin adapter) connector to the CPU Fan header and the Molex connectore to the PSU. The three lights on the block light up. I;ve read that I should be hearing a faint sloshing or gurgling noise but I don't hear anything so I'm not sure if I just got a bad cooler or what.

    Can anyone please help?
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,142 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,591
    Your answer. Let us know.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,394 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,467
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Reset the unit by holding down the button on the block for one minute, let go then wait five minutes, then shut down. Power back up after the system shuts down fully.

    3 lights is the high-speed mode, the fans should be blaring loud. If they are not, and the rest doesn't fix it, then the cooelr needs to be RMAed, and you should contact Corsair.
  4. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Thanks Cadaveca,

    I'm at work right now but I'll try your test. The fans work on all three speed settings so like erocker said, I'll try reseating the block. Is there any way I can be sure that the cooler has the right amount of coolant?
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,394 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,467
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nope, coolant level should not be an issue. Those temps are about 30c too high, IMHO, if you CPU is downclocking. IF you are bus clocking, then those temps are a bit high, but more like 15c-20c
  6. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hey guys,

    Well it was tge pump afterall and wouldn't you know it, Corsair has been getting A LOT of warranty returns with this sucker. Instead if RMAing it i returned it to the retailer and all is good now. @ 4.5Ghz it now idles between 40 and 50.

    I also noticed that the biggest heater maker is the vcore setting. When I bring it down the temps go right down so now im at a point where I'm playing with auto tuning and adjusting the vcore afterwards.
    cadaveca says thanks.
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,394 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,467
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, there has been a bad batch or something, for sure. Glad you got it sorted so easily, as i did see on the COrsair blog a mentino of this...or maybe it was Guru3d...anyway, the blog had those instrustions I posted in it, and the same idea, that some pumps were bad. The "RESET" was supposed to fix that for some units.
  8. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Your idle temps still seem a bit high. What are your ambient temps? My h80 keeps my 2700 idle at low to mid 30's and I'm pumping a hair over 1.4 volts to it. Do you have speedstep enabled? That will bring down temps quite a bit and won't have your cpu running at your oc clocks at idle.

    I had a similair issue when I first installed my h80 and was pulling my hair out trying to figure it out. I did some reading and found someone that suggested rotating the block 90 degrees and that somehow gave me better contact and lowered my temps quite a bit. Id suggest trying that if you have not already.
  9. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    871 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    There was a bad batch, and there was this:


    Update: check out the CorsairGeorge's posts in this thread, link at the beginning of this post. The cause has been confirmed to be a shaft/bearing issue which results in rattle under certain circumstances (which I will humbly mention that I have suggested some months ago here), one of them being the voltage to speed correlation, and that is why the diode adapter works - because it slows the pump and puts it out of that resonance/rattle RPM range.
    /update

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1236923/...e-grinding-pump-fix-official-corsair-response

    And I found also on corsair forum but trying to get back the post.

    Having over 12v would cause a noisy pump.

    Now that all getting solved, I might want to grab one haha!
    sttubs and cadaveca say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,074 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,670
    Location:
    04578
    ^ hes on a 6 core x79 not sandy heat output is far higher with the 2 extra cores and extra cache especially when overclocking Spaceman Spiff
  11. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Should it really be that much higher though? He's also got twice the Rad surface compared to me.

    I've also got my fan setting on max, with all three lights on the pump and the fans only spin up to max when I get a decent load on the cpu. They don't spin on max 24/7. It gets pretty loud when they do.
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,074 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,670
    Location:
    04578
    yes its that much hotter just ask Dave, he complained that water was neccesary as even his Noctua cooler was getting pretty damn warm when he was testing the chips get HOT lol completely different in terms of heat output compared to 2600k etc.
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,394 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,467
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    What Crazy said. For me, power consumption on X79 and SB-E is near double that of P67/Z68 and SB(exactly, in fact. For me, SB @ 4.5 GHz(2600K), 125 W, while SB-E(3960X) @ 4.5 GHZ, 250 W). You can read any release review on SB-E chips to see the same thing reported. That said, I still find X79 faster for my uses, so that's what I use.



    I can say that I bought mine fairly recently, and specifically for X79 after talking to a few people that had chips about power consumption. I already had H50 and H70.

    Anyway, my unit works just fine, so while thats' interesting info, it must be fixed by now, or I miracuosly got a unit with no problems? But perhaps I could get better performance? I wonder if they have pinned the problem down to a specifci batch...because I am defintiely pushing more than 12 V into mine, and I don't have any issues at all it seems. I haz confuse....:roll:

    I think it was FullinFusion that pointed out the RESET thing to me, I'm not exactly sure at this point. Too much hardware to play with, I'm losing track of it all. :p
  14. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,171 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Better prepare yourself for some pump failure in the future as well. Go buy a backup modern tower type cooler. Youd notice, youd get the same overclocking range just as you did with that h100.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page