1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

High temps?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Frick, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,245 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    j0 all.

    It seems like my temps are a tad bit too high.. I have the e4300 stock cooling, and according to Coretemp (every other monitoring program I've used reads everything from -23 to 70 C, so CoreTemp is the thing I trust) both cores idles @ 47 degrees. That's high, isn't it? In many revies I've seen people say their e4300's idles @ like 30 degrees with the stock cooling..

    I did install it correctly, I think, and I did apply AS5.
  2. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Yes, I would say that is a bit high. What kind of airflow does your case have?
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,245 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    120mm in the front (in) (Everflow 42CFM, not very much, but it's VERY silent) and the back (out), an Arctic Cooling Pro Thermal Controlled 80mm on the side that blows straight on the CPU-socket. Cabling isn't the best, but it's not that bad either..
  4. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    47 on cores isnt 2 high :/ what u all on about cores are usually about 15c hotter than the actual cpu temp so in reality ur cpu temp is about 32 degrees :) try downloading everest ultimate edition to see your actual cpu temp with your cores.
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,245 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    OK, now I'm really confused.. I get the same readings with that program as with CoreTemp. I've tried the latest version of speedfan as well and that says 28 on both cores..

    Can it be the BIOS?
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,454 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US

    Yes your BIOS should tell you what temp your CPU is. You sure you reading the right temp in speedfan ?
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,245 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    BIOS says 30. Soo.. Should I assume speedfan is the most accurate program?

    It says:
    Temp1: 45
    Temp2: 23
    Temp3: -2
    Core 0: 27
    Core 1: 30

    Everest says:
    CPU: 28
    Core 0: 45
    Core 1: 45

    Wich one to trust?

    EDIT: Perhaps I should update my BIOS..
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Well my E4400 idles at 32'C according to the BIOS, but Coretemp says each cores idles around 40'C, this is overclocked to 2.66Ghz btw.
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    my 6750 idles at about 34-35c,overclocked to 3.6ghz with a freezer 7 pro.
  10. mitsirfishi

    mitsirfishi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    924 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Grantham UK, Lincs
    everest seems to be the accurate one you wont have one core at 23 and the other at 45 it always evens the heat distrubtion through both cores
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,245 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Heatspreaders are fun. :)

    I think I trust Everest then.

    Thank's for the inputs people. It felt like I should've bought a better cooler, but now I won't need it. :)
  12. mitsirfishi

    mitsirfishi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    924 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Grantham UK, Lincs
    no problems are you going to be clocking your beast up on that you should be safe to atleast 65-70c fully loaded on the cores depends on how far you get 3.2ghz should be a good marker :) with maybe a little voltage tinker it shouldnt raise the temps dramatically
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    from my experience,i always use core temp,and i'd agree 65-70c should be fine.
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,245 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    That's what I've read too, but it feels like it shouldn't go so high without any OC at all..

    I've tried OC a bit, and so far I've reaced 3.16 Ghz without breaking a sweat. I thought my old NF7-S 2.0 and modded Dual-Sata2 were great overclockers, but this is just insane. :)

    I don't need any OC right now, but it feels good to have something to work with, just in case. ;)
  15. mitsirfishi

    mitsirfishi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    924 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Grantham UK, Lincs
    stock is not an option ;) just turn it up to 3ghz leave it and see how it runs everything you do
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,245 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Why? The most complex thing I do now is playing the Bioshock demo from time to time to show people what games can be like. I run it @ 1280*1024 and everything at max.

    Otherwise, I surf and play Civ III. So I actually don't need any OC. It IS quite tempting though.. :rolleyes:
  17. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Those temperatures are wrong. CoreTemp don't always give you a correct temperature reading. Look in your BIOS hardware monitoring and see what your CPU reads there. My 4 cores run at about 38-40 idle. But my actualy CPU reads 27C in BIOS. I have stock cooling.
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    47C is most likely correct and perfectly normal on an E4300.

    Make sure you have your BIOS set to run the CPU fan at 100% at all times, since the fan usually defaults to slowing down when the CPU is idle, it can lead to higher idle temps.

    Also, the E4000 series has been shipping with the extremely crappy all aluminum heatsink recnetly, instead of the heatsink with the copper core. This has also lead to higher temps when using stock cooling. Intel seems to have been shipping the original batch of E4300s with the copper heatsink, which I believe is where all the low temps using stock cooling stores are coming from.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I think your OK. If you want to be sure though get a speed control fan with a temp probe.

    or you could get somthing like this to keep it cooled down with.
    [​IMG]
  20. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Same, and the reason is due to that core temp is reading the CORE temperature, not the CPU temperature. The core can go to 70*c safely. Read this: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=28373

    for more information.
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,245 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    That didn't clear my temps up. In fact, it made them blurrier.

    But I think I trust everest that says my CPU idles @ 29 degrees. I like that. :)
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Basically, it is just saying that CoreTemp takes the temperatures from the exact center of the cores, while Everest takes the temperature from a sensor set between the two cores, so the Everest Temperatures are lower because the sensors read by CoreTemp are closer to where the heat is generated.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page