1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

high water cooling temps

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by rhc1690, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Hi buddy. Id say some cold air intake on the rads might help. Try that out if you havent already.

    I used to run (1) 240 rad (cold air intake) with my cpu & (2) gpus and temps never got that high. Good luck
     
  2. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    cheers there is plenty cold air mate plus sides no been on the case for couple of weeks, is a 240mm rad decent enough for a cpu/gpu? might eliminate the 120mm thick rad see if there any dif in temops
     
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,626
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    You shouldnt have spent money on something you're not sure about, if its broken, thats what warranty is for, so i cant sympathise.
    Something is horribly wrong, and i strongly recommend consutling with a water cooling expert to point you in the right direction. Dont take it as an insult to your intellegence, just do it, because we both know something you've done cant be correct.
    As for 7950, dont buy an XFX one, as they do not have compatible waterblocks aside from arctic cooling AIO one. Gigabyte, Asus and MSI tend to follow reference board styles, but check the model of the PCB first before buying any. After buying GPU's from most of the mainstream UK venders, Dabs.com appears to be the most reasonably priced, along with CCL online, Ebuyer has very little choice, and OCUK is overpriced as hell.
     
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,733 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    What kind of thermal past are you using? I don't feel like rifling thought this thread to find it... it's a long one. ;)
     
  5. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    im using as5 paste, also i would say im not a noob at wc after building 4 pcs for my weans and at least helping out withanother 10 or so for friends and families after they saw the ones in the house.

    anyways with a dual loop i managed to get my gpu down to 42c after an hour or so running unigine heaven clocked at 1350 clock and 1800 mem.

    cpu is now cloxked at 5gz stable with 1.475 vcore. so im guessing my initial thought of the pump not being powerful enough to run dual rads, cpu and gpu combo which contradicts everything XSPC syas as they reckon i should have been able to run a xfire setup and cpu fine with 2 x 240mm rads,
     
  6. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    rcoon warranty is more hassle than its worth and i would rather replace something than spend 2-3 weeks without a pc or buy cheaper parts to tag along till item is replaced. i mean £60 - £100 for a decent cooler for a few weeks or £129 for a full xspc custom loop is a no brainer
     
  7. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,487 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,181
    Impressive temps on your 7970, are those clocks fully stable?
    Also what temps are you getting on the FX?
    Glad to hear you got it sorted.
     
  8. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry temps on fx top out at 58c after 50 mins on intel burn test
     
  9. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah clocks fully stable in unigine benchmark and 2 hours of crysis 3
     
  10. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    also a bit too high for me but the fx idles at 36-38c but not complaining mibbe with a wee bit of tweaking might be able to drop the vcore slightly and lower temps a bit
     
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Stop double and triple posting. There is an edit button for a reason.

    Is that chip going to the 120? or 240? Because a 120 radiator I would think would have trouble dissipating the heat well enough to maintain good temps for water cooling that chip.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  12. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its a 120mm x 47mm thick rad
     
  13. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Mate with those overclocking setting id say your temps are fine. Your probably just being pedantic. Sometimes watercooling is not always what its made out to be. I reckon your doing pretty good there cob!
     
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Your temps seem decent enough, but its still going to have trouble. Hopefully you have some powerful fans.
     
  15. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well heres hoping i dont lol as i dont have enough room in case for another 240mm best i could get in is a phobya 200mm rad
     
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I would run some push pull on that 120mm radiator with some Gentle Typhoon 1850rpm fans. the thicker the radiator gets, the more push/pull becomes essential so that air can travel all the way through the radiator.
     
  17. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,487 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,181
    He doesn't have the space for push/pull.
    Just get some nice high static pressure fans and call it a day.
     
  18. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    cheers random murderer if push/pull was poss i would have done it by now, anyone recommend a decent fan for pull?
     
  19. bpmcleod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    72 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I would say not enough rad space and lack of fansnis yourb problem now. That cou ocdnto that speed prolly needs atleast a 240 by itself if not a 360 to be safe. And having only 3 fans in pull isnt ideal either. At worst, if keeping them in pull is your only option, you might have to deal with noise and look into some fans like scythe ultra kazes. They have some major pulling power. I still feel like you need more rad space though. I just don't think enough heat is being dissipated from your loop.
     
  20. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so would a 200mm phobya rad coupled with my current 120mm rad be enough to cool the fx 8350???
     
  21. bpmcleod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    72 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Most likely but where would you put a 200mm rad? Those are not small rads considering they are 200x200 roughly

    Edit: you could also look into another 240 or even a 360 and mount it unconventionally. Theres almost always room in normal cases now, just look somewhere besides a normal spot you would put one. Like look into using a bracket to kount inside unused harddrive bays or 5.25 bays or even above your psu under then video card again with a bracket
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013
  22. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah i know the front of my case has the spacing for a 200mm rad if i unscrew the lower hdd bays
     
  23. bpmcleod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    72 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    You could also look into angled fittings to make your bends for you. There are all kinds of rotary fittings and adapters and snake fittings to make any angle you need for your tubing. The pressure drop through a simple 90 degree rotary fitting that would shorten a tube length for you is less then the presssure drop you will see accross tubes the lengths that you have them. All in all I think your lack of rad space is your main culprit at this point. Everything else is a matter or 1-2 degrees differenc. Except maybe fan choice. But that goes with your rads
     
  24. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,799 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Estimating radiator size is very easy. Your 120mm EK rad has a total volume of 861322mm, multiply that by Skinnee's .00023129193 and you find that your radiator should handle 199 watts with a Delta T of roughly 10 degrees with 2000 rpm fans.

    The Phobya rad has a volume of 176400mm, and should handle 407 watts.
     
  25. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sa basically the phobya 200mm rad on its own should handle the fx 8350 easily with a decent set uf fans in push/pull then
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page