1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hiper 420w psu????

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by paulm34, Sep 18, 2005.

  1. paulm34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Recently i have been getting random restarts with the pc. Its not a windows thing, ive checked for adware/viruses/spyware ect.... but nothing unusual came up?. I have searched on the web and psu has been mentioned to cause this problem?. I also checked my graphics card temp (ati x800 pro) but that seem fine. When it does restart it happens that quick it boots back into windows xp, my broadband connection is still connected??. Please help :confused:
     
  2. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    set all your settings back to stock and give it a try, if you still have problems measure your load voltage with a dmm (bios/programs are inacurate) and see where its at, you can also try installing another psu to see if it makes a difference. i havent heard to many good things about that manufacturer.
     
  3. paulm34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks for help :)
     
  4. ChAce New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    204 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Random restarts not caused by spyware can mean two things, overheating or underpowering. A "reset" by your reset button very shortly breaks the power to the mobo, making it reset. This is what happens if your PSU ins't up to the tast aswell. Hiper PSU's are not renound for their quality so that's possible. How's your CPU cooled/temps?

    What are your full specs? They may simply be too demanding for this PSU...
     
  5. paulm34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    And heres me thinking hiper are a good make tut tut :(

    here my specs

    athlon 2.8 xp (barton)
    a7n8x mainboard
    soundblaster audigy sound card with 5.1 speakers
    powercolour x800 pro non vivo graphics card (unclocked)
    1gb of ddr 3200 ram
    80gb hard disk
    nec dvd copyer
    dvd drive
    usb joystick (microsoft)
    usb mouse
    usb broadband modem
    3.5 disk
    420w hiper psu
     
  6. ChAce New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    204 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    That's not shockingly heavy, even that PSU should pull that. What are your temps?
     
  7. paulm34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just download motherboard monitor 5 heres my temps: :)

    case 39c

    cpu diode 60c

    cpu socket 52c

    And with ati tool my graphics card is 46c

    All temps are recorded idle in xp desktop left for about 2hrs. They dont seem to be
    too high to me. But lately it has not restarted? :rolleyes: (dont you just love pc's :D )
    Thanks for your help. Maybe there is a Intermittent fault with PSU :confused:
     
  8. paulm34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I did also download 3 other spyware/adware programs (spyware doctor) to make sure .It did come up with some more entries, maybe it was virus related after all????
     
  9. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    The CPU temp seems a bit exessive. .i would check that out :)

    -Adam
     
  10. ChAce New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    204 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Idle @ 60c? That's way too high, check out your cooling...
     
  11. paulm34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the fan i have is the original which came with the amd processor aswell as the heat sink. There is an extra fan which is part of the case pointing directly at the processor itself which is alot bigger eg 5/6 inch. Surly thats good enough for a 2.8 barton????
     
  12. paulm34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just one more question, if it was a heat problem would it restart as soon as it got up to high temps. Because i play BF2 alot (HOURS!!) and its never happened with that game, as that game takes alot out of any pc. To me it seems too random to be a heat problem do you agree???
     
  13. ChAce New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    204 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I don't know if its the heat or not, but that's too hot whatever way you chose. At least reapply the heatsink...
     
  14. elriytane New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How heavy is your PSU, dont always go for high power, look inside the PSU and see how big the heatsink is, the bigger the better, i got a 500w PSU that i can barly pick up, i went for a 500w to be sure i got the power but my mate has nearly the same config as me and he's on a 350w and its realy heavy. another mate has a light 400w and it keeps randomly restarting.

    P4 3.2ghz LGA775 - 40'C
    ATI X850XT PRO 256 - 35'C
    1.5G DDR2
    DVDRW,R,W/CDRW,R,W
    Sata 300g
    IDE 120g
    5 case fans
    mod lighting(flashing strips,power eyes)
    Zalman water cooled
     
  15. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    Or. .just get a decent brand PSU. .althought there is truth in it being heavy.. . :D

    -Adam
     
  16. paulm34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok thanks, i will have a look around at psu's aswell as get some cpu paste
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page