1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIPER Launches M1000 Power Supply

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 28, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,669 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,414
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    HIPER has announced the availability of its high-end M1000 PSU. This 1000W PSU boasts of an 80 Plus Bronze efficiency rating. It offers semi-modular cabling, where the most important cables are fixed, while peripheral and PCI-Express power connectors are given modularity. It is NVIDIA 3-way SLI capable. It is backed by a 5-year warranty. It will be priced at € 169 in Europe. For more information please visit the product page.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    A list of features are as follows:

    • 80 PLUS Bronze Certified
    • Designed for NVIDIA Quad SLI, Hybrid SLI and 3-Way SLI
    • PCI-E 8 pin connector. (8 pin to 6 pin adapter included)
    • Four separate 12V rails
    • Mesh design construction for direct heat dissipation and longer lifespan
    • Corresponds to the form factors ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V v2.91
    • Fully compatible with AMD 64-bit processors and Intel LGA
    • Active PFC
    • Gold-plated connectors for optimum conductivity
    • PCI-E (6-pin), PCI-E (8-pin), SATA, Molex with EZ-Grip, floppy, P8 & P4 connector
    • 5 years RTB warranty
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2008
  2. kyle2020 Guest

    Its a shame you hear such horror stories about hiper PSU's - a friend of mine has had one 3 years and it hasnt skipped a beat, but i still wouldnt touch one after hearing about peoples rigs catching fire, etc. :ohwell:
  3. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    TBH - considering the price of the units - I think it's from people purchasing the cheapest thing they can and overloading them, or installing them into tight cases without adequate airflow.


    I had a Hiper-R 580W that was solid . . . a bit before I moved to my current PSU, the issues I was having was just from pushing it way too hard . . . I had this quad running 3.6 24/7, OCed DDR3, 2 OCed 3870s, 3.5" FDD, 2 combo-ODD, 1 SATA-3 HDD, 2 IDE HDDs, 11 LED case fans, upper-end audio card, wireless 'n' extreme card, USB keyboard, USB mouse, USB mousepad, USB 5.1 headset, USB upper-end 2.1 speakers . . .

    I'm about 100% definite I was reaching it's upper limits.


    From my personal experience, I can't trash Hiper's equipment. I'd be willing to purchase another PSU from them.
  4. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    My Hiper Type-R 530W still going strong (touch wood), love the modular cable connections to the psu, braided cables, nice case paint job, shutdown after cooling, stable and reliable. Oh and still use the toolbox it comes in :p

    Also nice to see this one comes with a 5 year warranty.
  5. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    UK
    oh its only sli capable not crossfire? damn nvidia doing with hardware what theyve been doing with games and paying $ to brandish the nvidia sli logan :shadedshu, any sli capable psu is also crossfire capable and shame to hiper for accepting there corporate payoffs.

    on the other hand, nice to see hiper bringing out a new quality psu as i havent heard a lot from them since the hiper type r/m 580w? , but hiper are kind of hit and miss when it comes to psu's. when they work they work well but they do have a high failure rate imo, hopefully they have addressed this issue with this new one and have a new manufacturer
  6. kyle2020 Guest

    Same as what ive heard. My friend has the type R, and that toolbox doesnt half come in handy haha.

    I must say though, the modular connections are awesome with hipers, i have seen it on the piperocks, dont know who had the idea first though.
  7. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yea, some Hiper Type R and M PSUs were good quality, great looking and some were modular. I think a lot is going to depend on who is contacted to make these for Hiper, if its a quality company like Seasonic or Andyson then more than likely they will good PSUs.
  8. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Fix. Certified
  9. hrvoje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    my 630M is not burning jet.. :)
  10. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    the packaging is totally awesome as well - definitely comes in handy long after the PSU is dead . . . :toast:

    I loved the connectors as well - if you move your case around often, there is a far less chance of something wiggling loose.

    that feature tunred into a big deal with my current PSU, mostly so that I could re-use cables from the Hiper. Although this Kingwin unit makes use of screw-on cables as well, they have a different pin configuration :( . . . No worries, I can purchase new screw fittings at local stores.


    It definitely looks different, and nice - kinda surprised to not see that feature on these new 1000 units . . .
  11. EaGle1337

    EaGle1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    81 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    It seems to be a Ikonik oemed psu, the caps seem good though.
  12. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i never even heard of these guys. but then again, i'm no PSU expert. but i'd like to see jonnyguru do a review on one of these.
  13. EaGle1337

    EaGle1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    81 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    I think he will be.. I also think this weeks review is of a ikonik psu.
  14. ascstinger

    ascstinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    544 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    In a house
    my hiper had a tendency to kill ram. finally tracked it down to a miserable 3.3v rail and it died soon after
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    not saying much there i pushed more on a 500w Tt

    phenom 9500@2.8ghz and AX2 5000+@3.6ghz (1.8v)
    3x3850 256mb oc'd like crazy
    2 SATA HDD
    1 IDE combo drive
    1 SATA combo drive
    1 MCP 655
    6 or so LED fans
  16. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    OMFG, man, thats an amazing overclock for an X2 :eek:

    thats on water, right?

    i wonder what your load temps were like?
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    50C was the max i ever saw and yes it was under water


    if it makes you feel any better look at this

    [​IMG]

    and yes cpuz is readying the voltage right
  18. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i'm hoping it was not run 24/7 on those volts, i think anything over 1.5v is no good for either C2D and AM2
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    my C2D 24/7 is @ 1.625v
  20. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yea, thats high, it will prolly shorten the lifespan of that CPU considerably, but then again, its cheap CPU and if it dies so what. I definately wouldnt attempt that on my new 8600 though, lol
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    yea im not to worried i have another on the way and a 440 so dead or not lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page