1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIS 4850 ICEQ4..Is it worth paying for?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Paulieg, Aug 29, 2008.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I bought the 3870 iceq3 when it came out, and paid over the odds for it, but dont regret it. it was an excellent card.
    is there a Turbo version like the 3 series?
    If so get it and do what I did and flash it to the factory OC'd card.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,909
    That's a very good price from the initial release price! You figure after the price of buying an aftermarket cooler for a stock version would it be worth it? If it is the "Turbo" version, get it for sure, it will already have a desireable bios on it to save you the headache.:)
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  5. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I would say it's worth the $$$ and it's even more expensive here $225 I believe. I was actually considering getting 2 of them foe my new build until I found out the 4850x2 will be here in a few weeks.

    It's a tough call but I think those IceQ4 4850 will overclock like snot.
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    The turbo is not yet available. Should I have any problem flashing the card to the turboX bios?
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,909
    Unless HIS decides to use different hardware on the Turbo version, I wouldn't think so. Thing is there were many 3870 IceQ users that could not achieve the Turbo version settings. The Turbo models seem to always have the best silicon.
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Well, we'll see how it goes. I just bought one!
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Mine was fine being flashed to a turbo version. :D
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    It was a3870 though, correct? I hope it works. If not, I'll just use RBE to mod it.
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Well I'm just assuming HIS will be doing the same thing again. one production line with 4850 Iceq4's, then flash em with different bios' to get three different products. must be cheaper that way.

    its a kick ass cooler, though, damn site better than the reference ones.
  12. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, I had one on my 9550 a few years ago. Definately as good or better than most aftermarket coolers.
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    So, when are you gonna bypass all this cooler nonsense, and just go h2o, Paul? lol.

    Oh, and how's the new home treating you?
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Been to water and back to air, Wile. Oh, and very well. Except for the damn neighbors mut came over and dug a hole in our yard.

    Oh, and slightly off topic. I've got a brand new Arctic Cooler Freezer Extreme sitting here, just waiting for my new Maximus Formula Tomorrow.
  15. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    I've actually got the HD4850 IceQ 4 Turbo model, came in the post yesterday. Name anything specific you want to know about it and i'll gladly post it up, currently at work though, so it could take a while for me to respond.
  16. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    i would really like to know how much if any noise it makes, dont need numbers your observation will do :)
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    you from Australia? because that will explain the more expensive price lol, dam we get ripped off in this country, like WTF?
  18. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Lol its not actually that bad around here.....the only thing we dont get which sucks is mail in rebates.

    When you think about it, this iceq 4850 is $240 aud here, $185 usd there. When you consider exchange rates, its really $205 usd for us...so really its only like $20 dearer.

    @ Paul, glad you got it...these things run hot lol. Post us your temps when you get it :D
  19. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea i guess thats true, apart from the dam Ozzy dollar has dropped like 10cents or so now :( makes it even more expensive. I should get my GF and make her buy it for me, and send it over here free postage ;) hehe

    Ive been to the states, and almost everything is so much cheaper, and i mean close to half, but not so much Computer parts, DOH!!!
  20. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I know! How much does that suck! Was at 96c at one point wasnt it lol.


    Haha ive never been, but heard about it from family.
  21. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    Well, it gets to around 68° under load using the ATITool cube, which gets the fan up to about 1.5k rpm, and even at those speeds i can't hear it over my case fans, which are definitely nowhere near loud (they only spin at 1.2k rpm for each one, except the top 140mm which sits at about 700rpm). Overall i'm extremely happy with the speed and sound of this card, well worth the $248

    Oh, almost forgot, the card sits at 50-52° (800rpm) when idle

    Yeah i chucked in a lot of details you didn't really ask for, but i thought i'd throw them in for the hell of it :p
  22. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    That's not bad temps considering a lot of the reports with the stock cooler.

    Plus the thing is so damn sweet looking...................

    [​IMG]
  23. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
  24. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Ahhh ok fair enough, yea that does suck, you are that close, and still don't get cheaper prices? ive been tempted to buy from the states and ship stuff over here, i did with my current CPU< lol And laptops like dam they are so much cheaper in the states, thats a big difference from here. ICEQ 4850 i like it, looks cool ;)
  25. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    is it worth the money to buy either the 1gb version or the turbo? would i be able to tell the difference myself without any benchmarks?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page