1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIS announces HD 2600 Pro DDR3 card

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, Aug 19, 2007.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,608 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    779
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    HIS is trying to set itself apart from the competition by offering a very unique and surely well performing HD 2600 Pro with DDR3 memory. The card comes with a blue PCB, black and golden DVI connectors, a black and blue heatsinkg & fan combination. The 256MB 128-bit DDR3 memory runs at a whooping 1400 MHz while the core is set at 600 MHz.
    [​IMG]

    Source: Fudzilla
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2007
  2. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    my video card is DDR3 at 256 bits and its old! Its called the X800.
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2007
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    But your video card was classified as high end, not midrange :D.
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  5. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    I didn't know high-end cards went for $150 :rockout:
  6. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    maybe now, but back in the day I paid £300 for my x800 card thankyou
  7. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    X800XT 256mb cards were released at $550 iirc. x850xt's at $600, xtpe's $625 at release. My X1800XT 256mb was released at $500 the xt 512 at $550 and the XTX at $600.
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Sounds good but they need to get past the 128bit interface. Someone needs to mail these companies to let them know.
  9. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    I was actually wondering about something like this. Are there any differences between the 2600pro vs the 2600xt other than the pro typically has gddr2 ram? If there are no differences, then this could be just like the Nvidia 7600gs/gt deal where at 7600gs w/gddr3 was sold cheaper and could overclock past 7600gt speeds easily. Either way, I lost any interest in the hd 26xx series as soon as I heard about the hd 2900gt in another thread.
  10. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34


    Overclock the 7600gt give me a break...i don't think soooooooooo... no way in hell is the 7600gs going to out clock a 7600gt..:banghead:
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    was high end :p.

    But thats only in memory. The 7600GT still had the upper hand due to the 160Mhz increase on the core. The 2600XT has a 200Mhz increase on the core (And from my own testing, a core overclock improves the card a lot more than memory).

    Plus, the 7600GT --> 7600GS had a 300Mhz increase in memory; the 2600XT --> 2600 PRO DDR2 has 600Mhz, while this DDR3 model has 400Mhz. I doubt they would use high end GDDR3 anyways, so it may be hard to do such an overclock.

    But, if they CAN overclock into 2600XT speeds....whos complaining :D!

    Ohh and to answer your question; yep, they are the same with different clocks :).

    He's talking about 7600GT stock speeds :p.
  12. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    the 7600gs didn't over clock that good so stock or overclocked the 7600gt kicks it's ass.:D
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The 7600GS DDR3 did hit some high memory clocks, but the 7600GT always had a core advantage, which gave it a better "overall" performance.
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    not trying to start any turbulance here pinchy , but what exactly equates as high memory clocks on the GS?
  15. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Lol I have no idea, ive never owned one. Im basing it on what devguy said; "could overclock passed 7600GT speeds easy".
  16. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Yeah, I meant you could overclock ram speeds to the 7600gt stock speeds and further. Of course the 7600gt will beat it after overclocking it though, but it costs more.

    Also, something I heard is that you can get 7600gs perfomance from an overclocked 7300gt w/gddr3 ram since they are based on the same core. Is this true?
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    once again not trying to start anything ...but wow....it was actually possible to take what I see as a GS 400/400 , and clock the ram to over 800MHz ? I do realize at the time of release that the GT did in fact cost more, but my XFX's run 650/800 stock. Just seems a bit far fetched is all. But as its been said by pinchy...I've never owned 1 either(GS)
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    7300 is lesser in the shaders but I have no idea if they were unlockable

    The 7300 is 8/8/4 ...rop's/ pixel/vertex
    the 7600 is 8/12/5
  19. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    meh, the 7600gs at 400mhz ram are all gddr2 versions:

    http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=5588

    http://www.elitebastards.com/cms/in...ask=view&id=66&Itemid=27&limit=1&limitstart=3

    7600gst (7600gs overclocked) http://www.legionhardware.com/document.php?id=554&p=0
    However, at time of that article, the gst cost more than the gt...

    ...you catch my drift. And I believe you are right about the 7300gt having locked pipes hindering it vs the 7600gs. Oddly, looking at this page on newegg:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&Subcategory=48&description=&Ntk=&srchInDesc=
    even now there is only one 7600gt with the ram at 1600mhz and it is the XFX one. All the cheaper ones are 1400-1500mhz (granted the XFX isn't bad after rebates, but I hate rebates... :( ).

    Anyways, as I said bring on the hd 2900gt!!!
  20. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Or PRO :toast:
  21. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    I don't know if it's the same for the 7600 GS/GT, but the difference between the 2600 PRO/XT is that you can't run the PRO in CrossFire.

    (I think!)
  22. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    734 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    It is possible with the Galaxy 7600GS as it ran GDDR3 memory as was basically a 7600GST (ie sat in between the GT and GS).

    Core clock was lower however yet overall performance was more 7600GT than 7600GS.

    Whilst this HD2600pro sounds good with GDDR3 memory the main issue it has is the X1950pro.

    For example here in the UK you can pick up a X1950pro for just over £70 new which is roughly the same price as the 2600XT GDDR3 (no pros available with the GDDR3 memory yet).

    The X1950pro however walks all over the HD2600pro whatever game you throw at it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page