1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIS Develops Radeon HD 6450 with 2 GB of Memory and a PCIe x1 Interface

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,620 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    Claiming to help owners of 'legacy systems', Hong Kong-based add-in board maker Hightech Information System (HIS) has constructed a Radeon HD 6450 card which is equipped with 2 GB of DDR3 memory and makes use of a PCIe x1 interface.

    Suited for compact systems, HIS' new card features a low-profile design, a blue PCB, a passive cooler, 160 Stream Processors, a 64-bit memory interface, GPU and memory clocks of 625 MHz and 1000 MHz, respectively, and three display outputs - D-Sub, dual-link DVI and DisplayPort. No word on pricing.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  2. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,219 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    2GB on an entry-level graphics card, here we go again :slap:
    why ruin a graphics card's price by putting such a stupid thing on it :shadedshu

    EDIT: this is almost as dumb as putting 4GB of VRAM on a GDDR3 GTX550TI :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  3. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,607 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,066
    Location:
    Rochester area
    crossfire ??????
     
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Dunno how PCI-E x1 is considered "Legacy" either but okay HIS, good effort.
     
  5. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    legacy? >>>>>> wot are they smoking

    to me legacy = ISA or VL BUS or PCi or AGP ( 2x 4x 8x)
    Think i speak for most people here in saying PCIx is not legacy (even PCIx1)
     
  6. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    can they provide just ONE benchmark where we can clearly see the advantage of 2gb of ram on this particular card?
     
  7. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    If they had put a 6450 onto an AGP or PCI then I would have been impressed. Now THAT is legacy, if not legend!

    2GB, well I could understand that if it was driving eyefinity with 6 or 8 independent outs. But again, legacy means Win XP and 32bit. Now what legacy machine is going to want to mirror 2GB GPU address space in their small ram footprint??!!

    Looking at the "box" there is no mention of legacy, but a list of some servers and SFFs that dont have PCIe16.

    Seems like a good product for this niche... but a better product would have been a $10 cheaper 1GB card.
     
  8. meirb111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    look at the word "Develops" as if 2gb card needs Developing really?
     
  9. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    margins must be very tight if they are resorting to "developing" 2gb ram 6450s.
     
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,738 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    977
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Lets make a HD6230 with 64GB of memory and run entire OS from it. I mean wtf, i have 2GB and i don't think i'm ever utilizing over 1GB of memory. Not with my screen resolution and games, even if i'm using FSAA and all.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    this should have been a 256 or 512MB card. it'd have a purpose then, with the lower price it would sell at.
     
  12. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    im not sure 256mb is enough for 1080p decoding...i have a spare 8600gt 256 and it cant do 1080p.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    256MB is enough. hell the 8MB intel onboard in my atom netbook can handle 720p when set up correctly - and with a more powerful CPU, it could do 1080p.

    99% of the time you're not using the GPU at all for video decoding, you can PM me for info if you want. i did setup a few guides on the forums, i think the DXVA one is still in my sig.
     
  14. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    i had it working with dxva on the old wmpc home cinema, but was very stuttery @1080p (cpu was low usage).

    I got an old 8800gtx in there now...but i cant for the life of me get that to run dxva, unless its the files im trying to play that cant support it (didn't thoroughly test as i just shoved a e8400 in there and that kind of does the job lol).
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    8800GTX doesnt support H264 hardware decoding. falsely advertised feature, annoying but true. please PM or post in one of my threads on this topic, as i can help you troubleshoot your software on that machine to handle it in software with ease.
     
  16. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,235 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Whoooa whoooa whooa people. You putting way too much thought inyo this. Your just suppose to read the box see 2 gigs and then buy....... Come on his your better than this.
     
  17. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Yeah, I'm surprised that no company made an AGP DX11 card. The last AGP card made was I think (also by HIS), the HD 4670. If you look on eBay (and when Newegg carries them), they sell for a lot of money, and so there's clearly still a market for them (shoot, even the AGP 3850 sells for a lot).
     
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,802 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    i lol'd hard.


    but the 6450 is autoCAD supported.
     
  19. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    is there a list of autocad supported cards? i thought only firegl/tesla?
     
  20. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,802 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    there is. apparently my 4650 is partially supported.
     
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    How is 2GB of DDR3 raising the price of the card to levels where it is useless? You're talking maybe $10 cost added to the card. They are going to charge more because it is a PCI-E x1 card than because it has 2GB of extremely cheap rock bottom priced RAM on it.

    Yes, the 2GB of RAM is a cheap move to catch un-informed buyers. However, it isn't really adding any cost to the card with the rock bottom prices of DDR3(especially 1066MHz DDR3). They could have halved it and only went with 1GB, but how much would that save really?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  22. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I wonder what low end card will be the first to have 6 or 8 GB, as low end cards had already hit 4 GB before the high end ones it could be as soon as the upcoming generation.

    Coming soon the AMD 7450 8GB and Nvidia 620 8GB?
     
  23. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,167 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    I can't for the life if me known/figure why HIS made this? Legacy? If the box you intend to use this in is that old it's not even Goodwill fodder... it's just E-waste.
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    There were a lot of computers sold well into the Core 2 era that didn't have a PCI-E x16 slot. Most of them had spots on the boards for them, but the OEM just didn't put the physical slot in. I'm guessing that is what they are talking about, and some of those system's onboard graphic's(Intel GMA garbage) are probably struggling with even 1080p right now. This would be for them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Personally this isn't legacy at all.

    In fact we hear little use of PCI-E x1 devices by the public besides sound cards.

    As mentioned AGP to me is considered legacy for graphics.
    If this was to sell cheap as chips, I can see this being considered as a back up card if the primary card fails.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page