1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIS HD 5870 iCooler V Turbo 1024M

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,012 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,878
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2010
    heky, SK-1, DrunkenMafia and 3 others say thanks.
  2. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    I wonder why the idle fan speed is so high? hopefully they will have an updated bios to fix that. Great review wizz!
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,457 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,735
    These 3rd party designs are proving to be the point where the original designs are best for Tweaking. aka the Stock 5870 could be fitted with a different cooler and probably stay quieter and overclock harder than what HIS or Sapphire could release.
     
  4. senninex

    senninex New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia.
    ATI has reasonable tempreture while loading... unlike latest Nvidia card..
     
  5. DeathByTray New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Do you keep every Evergreen you test or do you send some back? If the former is true, haven't you run out of space yet? ;p
    Nice review
     
  6. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    what no voltage controller? it shame that, now day, custom PCB = crappy, lower cost PCB.
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    8.9?! I have to dispute that score. Surely, the lack of a voltage control should get it a -1 automatically? And the fact that it is louder and more expensive with little bonus over stock should get it more negative scores? Otherwise, the review is great as always.
     
  8. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    I'd go for a vanilla, stock version though..


    OT:

    Crysis - "Enemies in a car can be stopped by shooting the tire of the car.".. really, how many of you have done that stunt like in the intro CG..
     
  9. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Great review Wizz.Shame My 4870 is still better in the performance to dollar section.Maybe I will wait for 6800 in June I hope.:toast:
     
  10. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Nice review as always - i must say i really like the clock profiles section (can't remember seeing that before), which is a brilliant addition to the reviews. One suggestion i would make is to check what profile is used if you plug 2 hd or better resolution monitors into the card and to quickly check if that causes flickering at 2d speeds, which is a problem with the 5k series (2d core clock speed needs a boost to be able to handle the monitors else you get flickering in windows 7 aero enabled when maximising/minimising windows and other simple tasks).
     
  11. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Did that once i think. :D
     
  12. Footman

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    77 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hey Wiz, nice review again...

    Have you had a chance to look at the Asus HD5870 V2: Same basic cooler design to the original Phoenix, just all copper HS and larger Delta fan. Also this version has a 6 and 8 pin power solution instead of 2 6pin sockets.

    http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=iAXaiw2KfP5w0xU0&templete=2


    Any plans for a review?
     
  13. Footman

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    77 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yeah, this is what I was thinking, I just ordered a V2 Asus 5870, with full voltage control and copper phoenix style cooler with larger Delta fan. Hopefully should be cooler and therefore fan will spin slower (less noise).

    If not I'll just replace cooler with Arctic Cooling Accelero later on. At least I don't get a cut down version with no voltage adjustments.

    More expensive than my first 5870 ($379) Ahh well, cheaper than the GTX 480. I just could not see reason in parting with over $500 for the 480....

    Overclocked 5870 should give me the same gaming experience at 1920x1200 any way...
     
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i get mine tomorrow :)
     
  15. Footman

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    77 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Any chance of some photos and perhaps your thoughts on noise levels when at full load?
     
  16. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    dugg
     
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    yeah, wont get it untill like around 7pm but ill also still be at work :( but ill see if im not to tired to put it in after i get out at 11pm :)
     
    Footman says thanks.
  18. Footman

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    77 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    OK, that's cool.

    Looks like I snagged the last one on Newegg today, they're on backorder now. Perhaps I might even gut mine by tomorrow :)

    Replacing a couple of Hawk 5770's that I had running in crossfire (too much bother to get running well and low minimum framerates)....
     
  19. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    more expensive, noisier and only 1-2% faster - no worth it IMO.

    damn good review as usual!!! :)
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,457 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,735
    Best to get a Stock 5870, if your worried about noise output, slap a different cooler on it and Run Rivatuner for overclocking the unit.
     
  21. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    I say again. Battlefield Bad Company 2 please.
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    i have one of these cards right here next to me... pity its not mine, and i'm not allowed to use it.

    actually, its the cheapest one here in Au... go figure. dont forget you get MW2 as well, so if you dont own that already, you're getting quite a discount.
     
  23. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    How come its the cheapest in Au? Surely stock is cheaper? And since that everyone who doesn't hate MW2 have bought the game, I don't see how that translate to discount, I see that Activision is trying to squeeze more money out of our already empty pockets.
     
  24. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    i agree with this
    when i researched my 6 pin PCI-Express connector for my card(to make sure i could plug my psu directly into it without the adaptor) all the extra pins where just grounds and weren't needed, and i cant personaly see them ever being needed
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,457 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,735
    if it came down to it you could always fab your own chassis ground wires
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page