1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

His Radeon 3850 IceQ turbo problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Lord Imbasawa, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. Lord Imbasawa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    I resently bought two graphics cards first a saphire radeon 3850, and just now bought a His radeon 3850 IceQ turbo video card. My oldest card was a pny verto 5900 a5 year old card. The sad part is that my old card does just as well as the new cards. I was hoping that the 512 mb would dramatically change my gaming experiance for rome total war. But on its highest settings, and even at the second highest settings, The game plays sloppy. I was wondering if this is because my bios dosn't recognize 512 mb video? I feel that the reason why the game is choppy has to do with video card memory no being recognized. Do I need the 8.8 agp hot fix, or somthing else so that I can use the full power of this card. I see no reason why this card shouldn't work at max setting

    Computer stats
    Intel d856perl
    2.4 ghz pentium 4 processor
    1024 MB Ram
    750 watt power supply
    80 gigbyte hard drive SATA
    His Radeon 3850 IceQ turbo

    Anyone have a similar issue, and had sucess with dealing with it. or the problem can't be fixed....:banghead::banghead::banghead:
  2. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    yes your bios recognize the 512mb,try whit another driver and be sure to clean your old file.
    i am not sure,but i think you are cpu limited too
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,129 (13.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,582
    Rome Total War is a CPU hog. Both your CPU and RAM aren't up to snuff for it. Also, have you made sure that all of your drivers are up to date? Chipset, directX, video card, sound card etc...
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,678 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    the rest of your PC is the problem now, not the video card.
  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Wow dude you have a P4, 1 GB ram, and a 750W:)eek:) PSU.
  6. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    cpu looks to be a big prob for that game,
  7. Lord Imbasawa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Thanks guys

    This helps alot. I couldn't figure out why after I bought 2 videocards my gaming experiance stagnated like my first video card. Thanks again
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page