1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIS Radeon HD 4890 secound gpu

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by shmik, Jul 1, 2014.

  1. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have a 2 HIS Radeon HD 4890 cards / and i have 1 of them in now . .
    but when i put in the 2nd one it wont boot . .it gets to the windows start part but just when its ment to come on it Blue Screen . . ..
    dont know wot to do . . i tryed everything . . im about to but a while different comp . .

    My mother board is gigabyte x58-extreme
    things that ive tryed is --
    updateing my mother board but still doin it ..
    formatted comp . it worked with both but when i go to update drivers it bluescreen
    right when it finishes .
    do know wot to try . im up for any help . .{Plz )
    thankyou
    Shmik .
     
  2. Jack1n

    Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,294 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Did you try both GPU's on their own?
     
  3. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yep I tryed both and only the 1 works .. the other one never used to work on its own .. its like it works like a slave to it ... if that makes sense ..:)
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,272 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,521
    Both cards should work fine on their own. Seems as if one isn't working.
     
  5. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    One doesnt work .. even when I put the crossfire bridge link ..clip
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,279 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,740
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This happened to me last week and it turned out to be the PSU. I replaced it with my backup and it worked fine. I have 5770 Xfire with X58
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If it is the graghic card .. can u recomend me a good one .. ? Since I did buy it with the comp modded .. I would like cossfire again .. just need to upgrade ..
     
  8. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,885 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,671
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    No need to buy crossfire/sli for any reason unless a single 290X/780ti is not enough for you. Odds are 290X/780ti might not be in your budget, so I see no reason to go multi GPU.
    What is your PSU's Make/Model/Wattage? Also what is your budget?
     
  9. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just a question but I rekond I bought the computer together around 7 years ago .. was good in its day but would a faulty psu caus this .. ok id like to spend around the $350 mark .. max .. unless theres somthing worth spending the extra for ..
    Psu : super flower ..
    750w
    Sf-750r14he
     
  10. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,316
    Location:
    Rīga, Latvia
    Try increasing bridge voltages...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry dont know how to do that ..
     
  12. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,885 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,671
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    You said you tried both GPU's individually on their own, in the same slot (I assume). One of them works normally, the other doesn't. That sounds pretty obvious to me that the one that mysteriously doesn't work in the exact same situation that the other does, is clearly broken.
    As for your PSU, you can pretty much run any GPU you want on that, it's not a bad PSU, although it's one of those stupid million 12V rail designs. I think the 5th rail on it has more ampage than the rest (most of them run at 20A, the 5th runs at just above 30 or something, my brother had one).
    I'm relatively GPU agnostic, I'd buy the best single GPU your money can get in your country, regardless of brand or colour.
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,279 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,740
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Honestly I would just upgrade video cards cause both of those may equal the performance of a single 5770 and a 5770 is quite weak. Even with two my system still lags on games like bf4 on high/ultra. I play medium with some AA fine.

    I would look into getting a 290/X there is a used one here on the forums if you are in the US for like 325.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice .. I hope it is the dual gpu card .. il look into a new gpu . Im from australia here .. I hope it gets solved .. otger wise a whole new cpu .. if not solved .
     
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,885 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,671
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Why would you buy a new CPU if one of your GPU's was causing a BSOD? It would more likely be a dodgy PSU.
     
  16. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If its a dogde gpu .. shouldnt I buy a new one of them insted of psu ?
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,885 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,671
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    No, I would imagine if you still have problems with a new GPU it would be PSU related.
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,603 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    You need to save up just in case and not skimp on a psu
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK and RCoon say thanks.
  19. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ow ok so il keep that in mind .. :) thanks ..
     
  20. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just tested the dogde gpu on its own and didnt go on .. plus just noticed its heating up .. compared to the good one ..
     
  21. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,885 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,671
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Try repasting?
     
  22. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I will and il update here but for thanks again and have to go bed :)
     
  23. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,495 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I see a few people have posted that you should get a better GPU like the 290 or 780ti but for the budget of 350 I think you can ether get a GTX 770 or a R9 280x, but you say you bought the system 7 years ago.what CPU do you have?
     
  24. shmik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i7 CPU 920 @2.67
    12G RAM
    X58-EXTREME MOTHERBOARD
     
  25. Schmuckley

    Schmuckley

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,090 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Is that Gigabyte or AsRock Extreme?
    If it's Gigabyte..you could probably get about $300 just for the motherboard.

    I would try to swing a 290x/GTX 970 for $300
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)