1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIS Radeon HD 5970 CrossFire

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I want to see benches with 4ghz+ processors.
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,383
    send me one

    will switch to w7 64 and do a full rebench after this round of reviews. i need about a month time window to do that, couldnt do it before
    HTC says thanks.
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I would make one myself if I had the card and a processor that could hit 4ghz.

    but alas, I do not : [


    It wasn't a request to TPU by the way, just an open statement.
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,383
    mine wasnt a request to you either, open statement. send me your cpus!! :p
    shevanel says thanks.
  5. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Actually, and in order to reduce the eventual CPU bottleneck, 4.5+ GHz would be ideal. Even then, i'm pretty sure in some games would still have some CPU bottleneck, though not as severe.

    @ present, the GPU is much more advanced then the CPU, generally speaking: unless there's some sort of breakthrough, the top high-end video card (ATI or nVidia) will be more and more CPU bottlenecked.

    EDIT

    Will be looking forward to it.
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2009
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Come now I'm pretty sure you could get hold of a q9650 for "review purposes" :laugh:
  7. mark84 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi W1zzard, would it be possible to do power readings for the HD5970 crossfire review you did?
    Would like to see how much power such a system would draw.

    Also, as it's been mentioned you'll be doing a full re-bench at a later date, could you also include power readings for some kind of 2D benchmark or Blu-Ray video play back?
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,383
    i'll look into those power measurements. bluray playback is planned in the power numbers for next rebench
  9. amschip

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    I wonder if LucidLogix hydra will be better at scaling two of those, Actually I really hope it will as I'm planning system upgrade next year.
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,383
    dear lucidlogix, send me your vaporware, i'll write a review
  11. amschip

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    I know i know it seems like vaporware atm, but if it appears then I hope you write a good review about it :p
    On the other hand you don't seem to believe that this thing is physicaly possible. Or am I wrong?
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    W1zz what's the reasoning behind the outdated drivers in your reviews? Also why not use a 64-bit OS? Is there no benefit in your opinion or is it something else?
  13. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,383
    as i've said countless times it takes a long long time to rebench all cards with new drivers. so i do it in intervals of several months. 64-bit os has not much of an advantage, and if amd/nvidia dont provide 64-bit drivers for their launches i'm fucked. so i prefered to play it safe. new vga bench rig will be w7 64-bit, coming in the next months, this year probably.

    show me your numbers where a gpu limited benchmark gains, say, 5% on 64-bit vs. 32-bit..
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  14. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    whoa, bad drivers for sure, damn those are some bad drivers there.
  15. Olle P New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    On your test rig it most certainly has.
    Just count the RAM available:
    Regular "CPU" RAM: 3x2 GB = 6 GB
    Graphics RAM (for this test): 2x2 GB = 4 GB
    Total: 10 GB

    A 32-bit OS can use a maximum total of slightly less than 4 GB, which probably is the reason some of the gaming tests were totally unable to run at all. (All addressed RAM available for either the CPU or GPU, none available for the other?)
    To address all that RAM you'll need at least the Business version of 64-bit Win7, which can handle up to 12 GB if I'm not mistaken. (Home Premium can only address 8 GB.)

    32-bit OS is just fine as long as the total RAM is 4GB or less.

    Cheers
    Olle
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    w7 Home basic is 8gb, w7 home premium is 16gb and w7 pro and up is 192gb of max physical ram in 64bit os
  17. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Nice to see that in some games 2x 5970's seem to do almost double the fps of 2, but can obviously tell drivers need work as other tests it fail, still very nice to see they might have actually found a good way to sclae more than 2 GPU's.
  18. tuanming New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You will find the data when you use Windows 7 64-bit OS. Most serious or hardcore gamers tends to go with x64 OS anyway. I mean come on, if you have the hardware, why not go with 64-bit OS. Future OS will be mostly 64-bit and beyond. I'm just simply saying there could be better fps if you use the 5970 and 5970 crossfire in a 64-bit OS. But there's no guarantee that the gain will be significantly improve.

    Also, if you can provide some pictures or video that would be even better. But that's only a suggestion because not many reviews of this card posted pics or video in their review.
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,383
    umm what are you missing? i took photos of everything the seemed of interest concerning the card in the single card review... crossfire is just 2 cards and a cf bridge
    a_ump says thanks.
  20. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Oh Jebus, just look at what kind of performance a single 5870 will give you. I long for the day when I can play GTA4 @ 1920x1080 with everything turned up and get no less than 60FPS T_T
  21. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,582 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    eh idk bout all this 4gb maximum stuff. I mean i know that's how it works for motherboard memory but one thing that always makes me think otherwise is on my 680i LT it only registered 2.8gb of memory when i had 1 8800GT, when i had em in SLI, and now with my 7800GTX 256mb and the amount of memory never changed....if graphics memory did affect that total why doesn't the amount of graphics memory you have affect how much memory my computer can use? when i played crysis and had SLI 8800GT's my ram usage shot up to like 2.4/2.8gb. so 512mbx2 would be 1024mb of memory that should be subtracted from my 2.8gb total no? hsouldn't my total have read 1.8gb available memory?

    nice review w1zz, i always enjoy yours the most out of others cause you include twice as many games as others and give price/perf and perf/dollar graphs, something else i have yet to see on another review site.
  22. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    605 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Nice review Wizz... about the 64-bit system, well like you said, it's coming, but indeed like the other guys said, gamers already switched to 64 bits OS, but I don't know if it's better or worst.....
    It would be nice if you could make a review just like the PCI express from 16x to 1x on the hd5870. But this time taking two things in consideration: CPU bottleneck (comparing results at different CPU clock), and also the 64bit vs 32bit test.......
    Well..... but this is a lot of work, I don't think you'll find time to do all that.... Your reviews are great and one of the most complete on the internet =]
  23. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Awsum Card, Awsum review!! :)

    Only thing is (I dont wanna sound ungratful) I understand why you benchtest with old drivers, but then you say in the conclusion 'It should also be noted that the drivers do not seem to be in a fully finalized state yet.' well obviousley coz yor using drivers that were released 5 months befor the card, Prehaps in the conclusion you should say that you used very old drivers as opposed to saying 'drivers do not seem to be in a fully finalized state yet', it just sorta sounds bad when you put it that way.

    Maybe you could do a couple of benchmarks with 9.11 drivers, prehaps just 3dmark, crysis and hawx that wouldnt take long and would give us an idea of what the card should be really be running like.

    Dont get me wrong, Im not trying to complain i very much appreceate these reviews, and i always digg them :)
  24. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Um it pretty much takes the GTX 295 to town. :slap:
    Especially in Crysis :roll:

    Crossfire performance sucks... But ATI has been struggling with anything above 3 cards across the boards. Got some work to do guys. :ohwell:
  25. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Doubbles the preformance of 295 in Crysis!! and thats on drivers that were released almost 6 months before the card was released it stomps all over the 295 :roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page