1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hitting walls when OC'ing GTX 470s

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by xbonez, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I have an ASUS GTX 470 (stock cooler), and a EVGA GTX 470 with a Zalman V3000f cooler.
    Both cards have been flashed with a custom BIOS to permit higher voltages than the standard 1087mV limit.

    Asus GTX 470:

    Runs furmark stable at Core: 770Mhz, Memory: 1700 Mhz @ 1070 mV.
    Furmark cannot push temps above 82 degrees.
    Folding overnight keeps temp at about 70 degrees.

    From this point on, any increase in clocks causes me to lose display within 3min of Furmark. I've tried pushing more voltage (upto 1200 mV). Temps are well within the threshold of 105 degrees (though I would not run it at anymore than 90-92 degrees)

    EVGA GTX 470 with Zalman Cooler

    Furmark stable at Core: 825, Memory 1800 Mhz @ 1100 mV.
    Furmark cannot push temps above 75 degrees.
    Folding overnight keeps temps at late 50s.

    Any further OC either causes me to lose display during furmark, or the card crashes during 3D Mark vantage, or return errors during folding (UNSTABLE_MACHINE).
    Tried pushing more voltage, but to no avail. Temps are well within control.

    With both cards, I'm hitting a wall I cannot explain. The cards are not limited by temperature, nor voltage. How can I push the clocks further?
    If there is nothing I can do, I don't get the point why people water cool GPUs when in all cases I'm not being limited by temps. Do I need to OC something else for stability? maybe northbridge, or something?

    I'm running a Phenom II x4 965 on a MSI 790FX-GD70, everything at stock.
    2x2Gb GSkill Ripjaws 7-7-7-24 @ 1333Mhz.
     
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,612 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    chances are if you drop the temp even further you will be able to overclock higher... hence where water cooling comes in.
     
  3. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    But nvidia rates these cards to have a threshold of 105 degrees. I'm a good 30 degrees less than that. I don't understand why temps would be a problem at this point?
    Also, if you not above, my EVGA is running cooler than my ASUS, which is stable at 80+ degrees, while my EVGA is unstable at 75.
     
  4. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,612 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    the nvidia threashold is for standard clocks, not overclocks.

    also not every GPU overclocks the same, as such both of yours overclock different amounts at different temps.



    as i said before, if you find a way to drop the temp a further 10c or more you should be able to clock even higher.
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  5. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i think its NvidiaInspector that shows the vid volt for the cards but since you modded the bios idk if its still the same

    but the ones that had a lower vis oced better with less volts

    have you tryed putting new tim on the asus cards ?

    also the gpu isnt the only thing that gets hot on a card that can limet the oc ;)
     
  6. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Yeah, thats what I've been thinking. Maybe its the VRM modules that are over-heating. Any utility to monitor VRM temps?
     
  7. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,612 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    use GPU-Z, if that dosnt show the temps then its likely theres no sensor on them.
     
    xbonez says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page