1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

home made adapter

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by bassmasta, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. bassmasta Guest

    i noticed that my psu has the 8pin and 4pin mobo plugs on the same cord. i only need the 4-pin, so do you think it would be possible to tear the head off the 8-pin and stick it on my 6-pin pci-e cable? i would probably need some more wire, and it would be ugly, but do you guys think it's a smart idea?
  2. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    absolutely OK to do...just get it in the right spot. You only need one 12v wire (yellow) per plug (no ground).

    I'll dig up the thread I read somewhere :laugh:
  3. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    An 8pin EPS12V plug won't fit in a PCIe2.0 8pin socket without cutting the keying - there's 2 wires on the EPS12V plug that don't fit in a PCIe2.0 plug - AND inverting the polarity by moving the black wires on the side of the PCIe locking clip. Note that there's actually 3 12V wires and 5 black grounds on a PCIe2.0 8pin plug, NOT 4x 12V and 4x GND.

    Conflicting pins on a EPS12V 8pin plug:
    [​IMG]

    Corresponding slots on a PCIe2.0 8pin socket:
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2007
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Kinda a funny idea there, if you have multi-rails that would NOT be a good idea...
    Simply because you don't want your processor AND video card on the same rail.... Disaster waiting to happen.
  5. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    ...

    Read the OP.
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I did... Missed the part about "adding" it to the existing pci-e plug though.

    Yes and for that matter you would be essentially bridging those 2 rails on a multi rail system...
    But a much easier, cleaner way to do that would be to connect them internally.
  7. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Bridging rails?
    Where?

    He's not planning on bridging any rails...
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    He's talking about changing the PCI-E plug (6 pin) to an 8 pin, by taking off the 8pin mobo connector and using that.

    All he wants to do is CHANGE the plug on the PCI-E strand. It would still use the same rail as the PCI-E one did originally.
  9. bassmasta Guest

    exactly. i feel that putting something to use that would just sit around otherwise is a good idea. if the plug doesn't fit, how hard would it be to take the grounds and split them just before the plug, then pushing them into the holes? would the drivers still recognise it as a separate pin?
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You mean the grfx card?!? Yes, it would recognize them as being seperate, you are just pulling them the same as you would if you purchased a regular 6pin-8pin adapter, same rail and everything.
  11. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Sounded much more like adding the wires to his pci-e cable/connector
    "stick it on my 6-pin pci-e"
    He didn't say put a "new" plug on it.

    And in that case he would be bridging the rails between his pci-e rail and his cpu power rail.
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Edited for fact.

    Re-read that mate.
  13. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Exactly CABLE not just a plug.... So the cable already exists.
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yes, but he wants to replace the PLUG on the CABLE.
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    the 8-pin and stick it on my 6-pin pci-e cable
    *********
    Then it needs to be written....
    *********
    the 8-pin and put a 6-pin pci-e connector on it.

    Simple case of poor grammar or poor description.
  16. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Erm....no, without trying to sound mean...you were just being picky....I got exactly what he meant, and so did everyone else...
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Thats fine but it could have been written much better...
    Not meaning to be mean at all, heck I do it especially when I'm in a hurry or tired :)
  18. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I admit, it could have been better lol. We all do it when we are tired :p
  19. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    All I'm saying.

    Doesn't help that I'm a nut for it so if something is slightly mis-construed I take it the way I see it period and don't even think about how someone could have slight mis-worded something...

    I would make a VERY bad teacher.
  20. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    You mean there are good teachers? :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page