1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hooking up 2 monitors

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by hat, Apr 30, 2008.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Need some ideas on what to do with it. I can't use them both at once like gaming cause they are not the same size and it wouldn't fit on my desk anyway. The other monitor would be on the floor or something. What can I use it for? Also they will be running different resolutions, if possible. Is it possible to run different resolutions?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yes it will run at different resolutions.

    You can stench your desktop to it, or mirror what you are looking at.
    hat says thanks.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Can I switch control from one screen to another?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    You cant game on two monitors at once (or so i saw last time I checked anyway...)
    I generally stretched the desktop and used it for my extra chat windows or wmp visualisation or something, but ive since given my widescreen monitor away to a friend.

    You dont need to. You just slide your mouse across and it will appear on the next screen.
    hat says thanks.
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Got the spare working as a seperate desktop.
    On my main screen, the ATiTool fuzzy cube test gets like 485 FPS. On the other, it gets like 200. wtf?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    which screen has the higher resolution?
    its possible that the GPU uses most of its power for the first screen plugged in, but that doesnt sound right. Hmm...
    hat says thanks.
  7. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Sounds perfectly fine to me, you are correct that the GPU uses most of it's power on the primary monitor if you are "extending" your desktop to it.

    If however you stretch the screen across it (ie, you have the taskbar at the bottom left of the left most screen) then it will split it equally.

    UNLESS, you open a full screen application (ie a game) in which case it switches all the GPUs power to that one, and minimises power to the second.

    Anyway, @ hat. Find a program called Ultramon. Best dual screen application ever!
    hat says thanks.
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    My main screen is running 1280x960 at 72 hz. The other is 1024x768 60 hz.
    Just now I used it to watch temps while I played BF2142. GPU didn't go over 60c... cpu didn't go over 50c. As a plus, ATiTool didn't crash me either. It used to crash me all the time with my x1800 if I played a punkbuster game like BF2142.

    Too bad it has to sit on the floor. Do you guys think setting it on my case would be safe long-term? It's a 15" CRT.

    The Nvidia control panel controls are working fine for now, darknova.

    What are some other things I can use this for... hm...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Ultramon gives you a second taskbar on your extra monitor, trust me, it makes things a lot easier. It also has a way to use 2 different wallpapers, saving of icon positions, and many other features that could be usefull if I bothered to look into them :p

    nvidia control panels comes no where close to the level of functionality that Ultramon brings.

    And yes, it will probably bend your case, a CRT is far too heavy. Is your desk not big enough to put the monitor on? For a bout 5 months I had a 17" TFT and a 17" CRT on my desk, it was cramped, but it worked.
    hat says thanks.
  10. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Depends on the case...

    I can (and have) sat on my case before at lan parties.
    hat says thanks.
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Not enough room. My desk is barely big enough for my 17" crt and 2 speakers. I would move it over to my other desk but its too far away, cable is not long enough...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    got pics?
    hat says thanks.
  13. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I have too, but not for extended periods.
    hat says thanks.
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nope. Trust me, it just will not fit.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    does the case sit on the floor? or on a shelf?
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    On the floor. Come to think of it I really don't want to use my computer as a shelf/desk except for light things like my telephone.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    I cant see you looking from one monitor to the other constantly.
    Not only that, but its going to be possibly bad for your eyes.
    hat says thanks.
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'll probably use it for monitoring... temps, core useage, etc
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    lmfao...sell the monitor and buy a bigger desk

    hahah :roll:
    hat says thanks.
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    No room for a bigger desk... :=/
    Who still buys CRT monitors anyway? It would probably cost more to ship it than what it's worth lol
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    The case is taking the 15" crt fine. I decided to put it on there.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Deusxmachina

    Deusxmachina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    526 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    If nothing else, use the second monitor for watching full-screen video while you're using the main monitor for your regular stuff.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page