1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Horrible pictures of dead caps

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by trodas, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    that doesn't mean anything... The rig that i had the caps replaced on was about that old.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    wish i had shots of my K7S5A-pro those were some blown caps :roll:

    things that died on my K7S5A-pro

    IDE channel 2
    soundcard
    caps blown

    and yet after all that when my K7N2-delta popped after an attempt @ a 100% oc on a t-bred 2000+ my K7S5A-pro booted up with that cpu on it :roll: good times good times
    trodas says thanks.
  3. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    MSI Mobo, no longer works, gotta be the caps. Tops are popped up one is open/venting.
    [​IMG]
    trodas says thanks.
  4. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Lelon - known bad cap brand - busted:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Lelon caps provided by -HoNy- ;)
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2008
  5. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    My dads caps look like some of the above the pc still works ok though but this lot shows you are better to buy quality boards with solid state caps if not would melting solder on top work?? who knows but i have solid state so i dnt care lol nice thread by the way.
  6. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    All MSI boards in the manufactured in 2001~2002 had caps problems.I have met with 4 like them.SO It would be easy if you chk your MSI boards at that time.:D
  7. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    ATM I have an Intel 915 desktop board which fried 3 sets of 2x1GB DDR RAMS.Owner replaced the board and gave me the board to check.Found out a cap was bad near the RAM slots,asuming its the cause.A leg has been broken :D Its a 6.3v 820uF cap.In my country they are not available/I cant find in old mobos.So its useless now.:(

    And the MSI MS6178 ver1.1 board I have now have 11 poped caps made by "Chhsi"
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    wow the thread still has some life left in it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. nora.e New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    245 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Boontullie MN.
    I've got an older board that still works, in the kids' comp but is starting to show the sighns of leaking as pictured above. Is it posible to just replace them now with new ones of the same value, and save the board?
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    entirely possible. its just a lot of work.
  11. flashstar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Bad Caps?

    Who determines a "bad cap" brand? My Fortron Source 500 watt blue storm and 2 other 400 watt Blue Storms that I have all have OST "bad caps" and I have not had any issues with them whatsoever, even though I have been using all 3 for 3 years. My Cooler Master Real Power 750 also has OST "bad caps" and it is rock solid...

    Anyway, I take the list of bad cap manufacturers with a grain of salt. I'm sure that many of those companies have had both good and bad batches and various grades of caps. You can't condemn the whole company for making a mistake one time. :wtf:
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    it depends on the use. each brand would have different capacity capacitors (rofl) and i can beleive mobo manufs using the lowest ones that would work - if they'd used larger capacity ones, they probably wouldnt die so fast.
  13. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    On a Creative X-Fi:

    [​IMG]
    trodas says thanks.
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,379 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,117
    yours?
  15. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I assumed it was just soldering them back into the board, is there more to it than that?
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Can gigabytes "Ultra Durable All Solid Capaciters" pop?
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    to me, that IS hard work.

    Nope. no chemicals to pop. my asus has those, and i love it for it (also, they're easier to heatsink if you pump lots of volts :D )
  18. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    I can't believe nobody's gone for the "busta cap in your ass" joke.:p

    I have a Socket A mobo around here with some busted caps; I'll fish out the cam later.
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    woot woot! do want!
  20. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ive had a mobo die by blowing all the power phase caps to sherds all thats left was soem thread looking tings.
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    i know of two that had caps catch on fire - one was a friend talking over teamspeak.
    " OH GOD OH GOD ITS ON FIRE..."
    *static noises*

    a few mins later
    "player connected""
    so guys... is the foam in a fire extinguisher conductive?"
    *assorted laughter*
    "oh shit its smoking again....*
    "player disconnected"

    His caps near the AGP slot went, and took the card, mobo and one stick of ram out.
    To be honest, the fire extinguisher may have been to blame for some of that. (it was a foam one for electrical fires, but even so)
    tkpenalty, King Wookie and FilipM say thanks.
  22. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,379 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,117
    [​IMG]
    trodas says thanks.
  23. TechnicalFreak Guest

    "Lelon is a pioneer electrolytic capacitor manufacturer in the world, who insists on three primary principles are quality, delivery and low cost."

    They should read this thread and think again.

    Question - My asus K8N-E is starting to see it's final days and I've noticed that some caps are like "pointed" almost ready to go off. Should I exchange thoose? They are the one's sitting nearest to the 24-Pin connector btw...
  24. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha


    No - just ran across that pic online . . . but, funny thing - I had my card out working on it today, and that same cap on mine is starting to look a little funny :ohwell:

    I should prob order up a set for this card sometime soon
  25. Monkeywoman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    157 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    how would one prevent this from happening?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page