1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How am I doing? x1900 GT

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by wildmonkeys77, May 6, 2007.

  1. wildmonkeys77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Firstly, what drivers are you using? Secondly you can try overclocking the X1900Gt - Either with ATi tray tools of W1zzard's(site founder) own ATi tool, although I'm not sure if the latter works on your core yet. Thirdly you're CPU is you're bottleneck. Try overclocking it to around 3.4+ but, you'll need a better cooler than the one you have. I recommend the Arctic Cooling 7 as its super cheap and has superlative cooling than your (I presume) standard intel one.

    For advice on overclocking - http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=30480

    The recent drop could be on a few accounts. Check the usual suspects, virus scan, is your're firwall off when playing etc.

    You're score isn't that bad in 3dMark06 but it would go higher with a higher cpu speed. For examply I have the 7600GT, which is worse than your 1900GT, but I've got a AMD 4600X2 @ 2.79 (iwhen I benchmarked) meaning I get 4309.
     
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Broken link.

    EDIT: Nevermind I see it now
     
  4. wildmonkeys77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  5. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Nice, you've got a brilliant cooler, follow the link and investigate in overclocking.
    For score comparisons amongst us, http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=25995

    Also In my opinion the Omega's aren't worth it at the moment. Get the catalyst drivers (don't install the crap control centre) simply ecause they're quite a bit newer. The omega's are from 7.1, we're now on 7.4.
     
  6. wildmonkeys77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alright, one more thing...

    I'm curently at 43 degrees C with a 5% CPU load, is that about normal?

    Again, thanks a ton.
     
  7. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Ummm no not really not with that cooler anyway. What thermal compund are using between the cooler base and the cpu? I recommend Actic cooling silver 5.
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    He has a pD, so if his room is on the warm side, 43c is entirely possible.

    @wildmonkeys - What are your temps like running at 100% load after an hour or so?
     
  9. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Yeah I can understand that, but with his cooler I still think thats a little on the high side.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page