1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How bad is XP x64?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by rakee18, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. rakee18 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have been using Vista x64 for 6 months but recently I switched to xp x86 and saw significant performance improvement in games like saints row 2, Gta 4. But I need all of my 8gb ram becasue I do some photo editing. So my question is should I move to xp x64 or is it too bad?
    Here is my spec
    E4400 3.1Ghz, 48701gb, 8gb ram.
     
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    X64 is ok but I had a few compatibility problems but they should be gone now. I prefer x64 vista tbh its faster for me and more secure. One thing with x64 xp is you can't use your x86 key to install it.
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I personally found it to be an unstable, un-enjoyable experience. I had a 4200+ X2, 4gb RAM, 7600GT/HD 3850 at the time and it was only last year so I don't think it would be any better honestly. But like DP said, Vista x64 is faster, more compatible and it's still supported with updates.
     
  4. rakee18 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    For me games run faster on XP
     
  5. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Everyone has variable experiences but vista is faster than xp now. You could dual boot though with xp 86 and vista x64.
     
  6. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
  7. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    If you can stand with DirectX 9.0c then switch to XP x64, but I think Vista is more stable and secure, even though I've been using XP x64 for 2 years now.
    But everyone has their own opinions. And its been working fine for me since i first installed it.
     
  8. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I think a dual boot with x64 vista and xp would be the best because then you can have both and shape them to your needs.
     
  9. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    There isn`t anything "really wrong" with xp 64. The only thing I dislike is having to go without some apps. I think you still can`t get Total copy for it and there are some others.
     
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,990 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    Location:
    US
    Only problem i have had with x64 were to installers not being made x64 compatible which in both times were changeable in Orca.

    Tried Win 7 and Vista all though Vista is better much better now i like playing my games in x64 more. And that goes for both of the systems in my system details.

    EDIT:

    XP x64 gets updates just as often as Vista.
     
  11. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I used xp x64 for a couple months and I honestly had no problems at all with it. All of my hardware at the time worked fine with it and I didn't have any compatability issues. I just prefer Vista so thats why I am not using it right now.
     
  12. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    xp ftw
     
  13. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I used XP x64 for a quite a while, it's much better than XP x86, but Vista x64 with SP2 is much better than XP x64.

    I'd never use XP x86 again...
     
  14. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    I have XP x64 and the performance is great since it embraces memory over 4GB, compared to the 32-bit XP, and has better multi-tasking performance over processes. I did experience some compatibility issues however most of it can be solved by turning off the driver signing service as the OS can run 32-bit drivers using a 32-bit emulator. The performance is great though since I have been folding a lot ever since.

    Drivers were found unstable at the start of the OS's life, however now there is barely any issues of it since drivers have been improving as well as updates.

    However, it doesn't have SP3, so be careful when playing GTA4.
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,990 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    Location:
    US
    No problems here with GTA 4 :).
     
    PCpraiser100 says thanks.
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,755 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,647
    Location:
    IA, USA
    There are only three main issues with XP x64:
    1) Driver Support - A lot of lowly manufacturers do not have XP x64 drivers. Just make sure to download drivers for all your devices prior to purchasing XP x64. If you can't find a driver for something, know that it is very unlikely for that device to function in XP x64.

    2) Application Support - XP x64, like Vista x64, has zero support for 16-bit applications. If you have any old 16-bit games or programs, they will no longer function.

    3) Installer Blacklisting - Some idiot installation developers have added operating system checks to the installers which blacklist any operating system not explicitly defined in the installer. Basically, that means the installer will refuse to install the software on XP x64 even though it works fine on XP x64. I know this is true for Beyond Good & Evil and XIII--the list is rather lengthy. You can work around this one by installing the application on a operating system that isn't black listed and then copy the files over to your XP x64 computer.


    I have been using XP x64 since June 2005. Those are the only issues I have ever encountered. Other than that, it is practically the same as XP Pro.


    Edit: GTA4 and Saints Row 2 run fine.

    Server 2003/XP Professional x64 Edition service pack 2 is basically the same as service pack 3 on XP Home/XP Pro
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    1) I was using Vista drivers and manually installing them for my devices with now XP x64 specific drivers, worked a treat :)

    3) Can also be got around by using Orca or one of the varying scripts that does it for you :)
     
  18. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    So far the most dramatic compatibility problem is that I can't get Live Mail and Messenger :(, because I am on a 64-bit operating system.
     
  19. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    They work fine on Vista x64, but on XP x64 they don't because the installer program refuses to work on it, and this time Orca is of no help.

    You have to find and download the separate installers (google). That's how I was doing it.
     
  20. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    sorry for my ignorance and askin a slightly of toppic question but what is xp x86? ive heard of x32 but not 64 or 86
     
  21. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    32-bit is x86
    64-bit is x64

    :)
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    The only problem I faced in xp x64 was, for some reason there was no sound recording. No microphone, no "what u hear", no nothing. There was simply NO recording. I know for 100% certian that my microphone works, it was an oddity with xp x64. When I switched to Vista x64, my recording features worked again.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    cheers lol
     
  24. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    x86 refers to the way intel used to make the chips (I think!) and means 32-bit.
     
  25. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,990 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    Location:
    US
    I think XIII was one of my problem ones a long with Area 51 ( Which sucked ) in fact XIII was not all that either lol. But yes a simple ( ish) to modify the install or even look for one as some people put the modified installer on the net some times.

    Thats weired lol. but is there not problems with vista and creative cards ?... When i could be bothered to use a Creative card ( only SB Live! ) i had no issue's in XP X64 and don't know about Visa as my onboard does a better job anyways.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page