1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How can i extract a bios file from an Asus .exe file ??

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Jonny_doe, Jul 11, 2009.

  1. Jonny_doe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    72 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    South West U.K.
    I'm thought i'd try a newer bios from Asus for my hd4870 , the bios i want to try runs at 770mhz and 920 mhz(ram) , so i go to download it , which it does ( C1CLG5.rar ) , but when you unrar the file , i end up with an .exe file , it trys to run winflash , but fails , i would rather flash from dos , but i can't get the bios out of the .exe file ..
    Any ideas how to do this ????


    I renamed the file to .zip from rar as i can't upload

    Attached Files:

  2. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
  3. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I believe the program is made to flash the card itself with the bios it has, try just running it and see if it works.
  4. thraxed Guest

    Well after extracting the exe it contains a bunch of dlls a cfg and few sys files, as far at the main update its a exe within a exe, no rom files, exist. If ya want a rom file for it, you'll have to flash your card and then back it up with gpu-z.

    FYI Winrar can extract archived exe files.
  5. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
  6. Jonny_doe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    72 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    South West U.K.
    Alright , thanks for trying guys ;)
  7. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Here you go: (see attachments)
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  8. thraxed Guest

  9. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Here (page bottom).
    I've been using this for ages now, it was simple to extract, it would be harder if the EXE was encripted or compressed (with some tool like UPX or crinkler for example).
    Happy "hacking"! :)
  10. JoiYiu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I downloaded both Resource Hacker and the EAH4870 VBIOS update.exe. What I got is only the Bitmap, icon, Dialog, String Table, RC Data, Icon Group and 24.

    I got NO BINROM_image, cursor and cursor Group. What did I missed ?

    Thanks for your enlightening.
  11. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Universal Extractor. Lets you extract any file from any exe (AFAIK).

    http://legroom.net/software/uniextract

    It was either RejZor or RuskiSnajper that put me onto this tool (thanks whoever it was :laugh: ), and it worked for me first time when I needed to extract a product key from an installation.

    Just unpack the exe and then search for ".bin" - hopefully that should work.
    Law-II says thanks.
  12. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    hmmm my AV just stopped me from entering that malicious site
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Rochester area
    your av is retarded
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Rochester area
    not sure if using a bios extracted with RC is safe to use ...
    uniextract can't extract anything out of it so ...
  15. JoiYiu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have tried Uniextract also and got no BIOS or BIN. What I do not understand is why temp02 can get a BIN image from the file with Reshack and I can't. Anyone tried and know what happened.

    Thanks a lot.
  16. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I just dont see this ending any other way besides a bricked card...
  17. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Don't bother extracting the BIN file inside the .exe, its just a "blank"/default BIOS file, that the .exe is supposed to modify/fill-up with the info from the card you are trying to patch (from what I remember), so without debugging the thing on the right hardware that BIN file is useless.

    As for how I extracted the thing, IIRC, open the .exe first with WinRAR, and then extract the .exe inside it, and this second one is the one that has the .BIN as a resource.

    I should have never posted that thing without testing the resulting BIN first, now people are confused, thats what I get from trying to get a quick fix ;)
  18. JoiYiu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply, temp02.
    I am not trying to make use of that BIN file as I don't have the card either. I just followed your way to extract the second file to see if I can get a .BIN image but I could not. I am wondering if I have to have C++ installed to get that .BIN resource. As I said before, I can get bitmap, icon, dialog... etc but not the .BIN and cursor. Do you know what I am missing ?

    Thanks a lot.
  19. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Rochester area
  20. JoiYiu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, OneMoar,

    I want to know how to get a BIOS image from .exe because I have a bricked HP Mini PC 110. What I can get is a sp47135.exe, which runs only under Windows, from HP support. I followed temp02's instruction to try to get a BIOS image but failed. So I tried also on the same file which temp02 used and I found that I could not get the same result. I must have something missing. So what I am missing ?:banghead:

    Thanks for your concern.
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,937
    You don't need to extract the file. Save it as .bin
  22. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if the machine is truely bricked then u will need to send it someplace to have it repaired unless the bios has some kind of boot block recovery
    also quit hijacking this thread
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2011
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,937
    Excuse me?
  24. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Rochester area
    ?? talking to JoiYiu
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,937
    They are using an old thread for the same topic. They are not hijacking. Let the moderators do the moderating.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page