1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How can I get rid of micro-stutter in Skyrim?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Black Panther, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Ever since the game was patched to 1.4 I get awesome fps, maxed at 60 indoors, in dungeons and in a significant portion of the outdoors. In the cities it's ~50 or ~55.

    But this 'improvement' brought a problem for me: micro-stuttering.

    It's like this (game is not skyrim in this case):



    Any ideas on how I can solve this?

    I tried the fps limiter I found on skyrimnexus but it gave me screen-tearing (even though I made sure I had vsync enabled in CCC) and it was worse than the micro-stutter.
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  2. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,870 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,171
    Stop playing Skyrim and the micro-stuttering would be gone. :cool:

    :laugh:


    Maybe it's finally the CPU that's bottlenecking?
  3. Dice

    Dice

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I found (single card) i need to run windowed with the borderless window mod. Makes it much smoother for me. Dont know nuffink about crossfire tho..
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Don't think so. My fps remain a constant 60 during the micro-stuttering. I get perfectly smooth gameplay when the fps get lower than 60.

    I saw screenshots of that, and it seems that you still have the taskbar showing in the game? If not, I'll definitely try it.
  5. Dice

    Dice

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Na taskbar disapears after a bit, by the time the save has loaded.
    Black Panther says thanks.
  6. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Thanks! Using the borderless window fixed the microstuttering :)
  7. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    a little off topic, but there's micro stutter in both examples in that video, the first config is simply more obvious with it, it does still exist in the second.
  8. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Even more off-topic, is micro stutter a specific 'illness' (lol) of AMD crossfire?
  9. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    484 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Well, it didn't "fix" it.
    Crossfire doesn't work in windowed mode, so by using borderless window, you play on single GPU.
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,622 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Chicago
    No it's inherent to multi-gpu not crossfire only but it's one of those wierd things that not all get or notice and the causes and solutions seem to be really hard to pin down. For example, I have never noticed it myself though I have only had single cards except for my present setup and 4850 CFX.

    Now that I think about it a bell is being rung about the single PCB Crossfire cards having it "worse" but I may be mistaken. Gonna have to Google.

    I know you are "slow to upgrade" but I definitely would have dumped the dual core and this 5990 since all these Skyrim problems (as it's about time anyway horsepower-wise esp at your high res). But that's me...
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  11. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I've been dealing with 'micro stuttering' since the game released. It happens often but I'm so used to it that I don't care any longer. There are several fixes online other than shutting down one GPU.
  12. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,622 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Chicago
    None here, as I said. In any title. It's "one of those things".
  13. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Disabling core parking have helped some people remove stuttering in general. But if the Resource Monitor's CPU tab shows 100% Max. Frequency you should be getting 100% of the CPU.
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,397 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,475
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No. There are several causes for the behavior. One very obvious one is that sometimes although FPS reporting may SAY 60FPS...it's not actually displaying all 60 frames.

    Sometimes..it's CPU.

    Sometimes, it's memory.

    Sometimes, it's PCIe link states.

    Sometimes, It's Crossfire not showing all the frames that are rendered(SLI gets this as well)

    Sometimes, it's just a bunk driver.

    Sometimes, it's the app itself.
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Are you sure Windowed mode gives you crossfire/SLI though? ;)
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    No, I can't get AfterBurner to show while running in windowed mode :ohwell:
  17. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,854 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Brasil
    I dont think you can, micro comes from crossfire and sometimes sli, your card is native crossfire...
    you could disable one card, but i dunno how
  18. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    I notice micro stutter on my setup when im @60 fps as well its almost like the new patch made it run too good.
    Time to crank on AA and AF from CCC :D

    Is there any downside to doing this aside from power consumption.
  19. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    I can but it's not worth the trouble.

    Running the game through RadeonPro would enable me to choose between CF and single GPU (and muck up most of the game's graphics by getting all menus strobing between normal and bright green... and make fire in the game appear like large black building-blocks...

    I wouldn't want to do that again. The last time I tried RadeonPro to get better fps, last year I had to reinstall the game anew because uninstalling both RadeonPro and graphics driver didn't work.
  20. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    microstuttering is present in single gpu configurations as well as multiple gpu configs.

    it's just more obvious/viewable in multi cards.

    It's not noticible to me on my 480 sli in any game I play, however I know it's there and the variation is too small to be noticible.

    When it becomes more viewable it's almost always the game or the drivers imo.

    being that BP has already run the guantlet of drivers and patches/fixes, It may just be a bad gpu/game combination.

    When you look at W1zz's latest reviews, the 5970 is still an super powerful gpu solution...except for in skyrim.
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    versus
    [​IMG]
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try GPUz and report max usage?
  22. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,622 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah as I've suspected for awhile now. While it's hardly a simple "fix" as I've said I would have already sold this card. It's still worth a decent chunk of change too.

    Now that I think about it I'm not sure if anyone has asked when the last time Windows was reinstalled either, though...
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  23. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    too true, when I look at out at the market I could easily see doing a cost for cost swap for a 6970, which would give her a better gaming experience in skyrim.

    The question would then be would making skyrim playable merit a 20% overall performance drop for other games? (stock to stock comparison)
  24. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893

    Can't either.
  25. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    From what I've read it's more for laptops, etc. For a desktop PC I don't know of any downsides to disabling core parking. The benefits however, will generally depend on what you are doing. If you decide to turn it off use winrar's benchmark program (tools > benchmark ha& hardware test) with core parking and without core parking to see if you notice any improvement. That should give you some idea if it's worth while.

    There are a few ways of doing this. The easiest and safest is this method.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page