1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How can you check if your RAM is dead?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MikeJeng, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. MikeJeng

    MikeJeng New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    United States - CA
    I have 4 GB of RAM. Just recently, Things were slower than normal and I decided to check system properties.

    RAM: 2.00GB

    I have no clue what has been happening.
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,598 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    How much memory does your MB detect during POST? How about in BIOS? I'd say power down, ensure all the RAM is fully seated, it might be only making partial contact...maybe remove all the memory and re-install.

    Google and run Memtest to ensure your RAM is stable. Usually if you have bad RAM it results in massive crashes, instability, BSOD's, bad writes to the HDD, etc.
  3. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    erm... and you have all 4gb in? i didnt think MB would boot with a bad ramstick in. check to make sure it didnt come loose maybe?
  4. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
    i remember that happened to me in my laptop

    so i opened the memory area box think and removed the RAM and reinserted it and it should up has 4
  5. MikeJeng

    MikeJeng New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    United States - CA
    Thanks for the help. I'll try this in a few minutes.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page