1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how cold is too cold

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by FLYINHIGH, Jan 8, 2006.

  1. FLYINHIGH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I work in a very cold environment, (naval outpost antartica) and we have run into a problem that is a bit of a pain. we just recently upgraded our computers at work and they wont start up when they are in this environment. our new ones will run if we blow a hair dryer on them for a few minutes to warm them up. we cant leave the heat on in the outpost cuz fuel is our life, and your never sure when the next plane will make it in. i've disconnected all the fans and closed off all the vents. nothing works except opening the case and using a hair dryer on them. does anyone know where i could get a case heater? (if such a thing exists?)

    thanks in advance.
  2. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    basically any type of 120v heater would work. if ur good with electrical you could wire it up to a switch like a gloplug in a diesel engine.
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,093 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Florida
    that and if u really whant to get ghetto get a high watt light bulb and shove it in the case.
  4. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    hell a halogen spotlight bulb running off the psu would work great!
  5. FLYINHIGH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hmm i didn't think of the light bulb thing. I'll have to try that. thing is we've cracked 2 mobos cuz of un even heating so i didn't want anything that gets too hot. thanks for the quick replys.
  6. shimq1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wow, how cold does it get there?
  7. dunnleed08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    223 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in some sh@#%$!part of tennessee
    ...

    all i gotta say is...thanks for doin that type of work, so my lazy ass doesn't have to...bush bless america
  8. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Well can't you just boot up the comp and then keep them running? They should keep themselves warm enough.
    Though I think it's quite obvious that nobody here has actual antarctic experience.
  9. Anarion New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    485 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it is not for heat , it's becoz of dampness & something like it ! imho.
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,387
    maybe the bios has a cold bug .. make sure all cpu _over_ temperature shutdown features are disabled ..
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    How about water warming instead of water cooling?
    Same stuff, though the water keeps everything warm. Perhaps use some liquid that holds warmth better.
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,093 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Florida
    but if it gets that cold id think the water would freez of course u could always pump like winsheild washer fluid in stead and before some one asked why cant he keep it on.....he said it was because of feul they dont know when their next dilivery will happen/make it.
  13. spectre440 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    948 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Israel

    oh, man, that sort of qoute brings me back to my days in the army...
    really is amazing what you can improvise out of a diesel engine...
    especially from a 28 liter, 1200 horsepower tank diesel engine... :laugh:


    in any case, the lightbulb sounds like your best bet to me.
    if you've been cracking boards cause of the temperture differences than the lightbulb should provide a nice and not too hot heat-source that should spread the heat out fairly evenly...
  14. FLYINHIGH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    the problem isnt the computers at our main station, because they are always on and its a mostly heated environment. It is the computers at our other outposts that are not used as often, that are not heated and are not always on because it would be a waste of fuel. anyhow we tried a 60 watt light bulb that comes on when the generators start up. it raises the case temp to a toasty -10c in about 3 minutes. it seems to work very well. by the way, there is almost no moisture in the air so accumulation on things really isnt a problem. even the moisture from your breath turns to ice and falls out of the air.

    thanks
    flyin
  15. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    i would think its because th capacitators might freeze up. Also hardrives dont like cold enviroments.
  16. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    i know this sounds really ghetto but you may want to place the comp inside a cooler for insulation purposes. one you get the rig heated you could let it get nice and toasty inside (sounds like im talking about a car..lol)
  17. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    Sounds like a good overclocking environment. ;) Although it must be taxing to stay there so long...
  18. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio

    Im thinking the hard drives will be your problem, as caps are rated up... err.. down to -30C arent they?

    Hard drives hate cold like that.. maybe just get a little heat blanket and insulate it around the hard drives?

    Everything else should be fine.. cept caps maybe..

    Overclock the things.. they may just run BETTER.. LOL! :roll:
  19. Amdguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    how about a sealed up case no air coming in or out
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,093 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Florida
    the air would cool the case then cooling the air inside.;)
  21. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Depoends on th caps. But he said no post, so HDs wouldnt affect that.

    This might sound ghetto, but get liek heatcores= # of computers, set up a huge loop, then use a pump to pump water heated by a torch or oven or something. I mean thats what heatcores are for.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page