1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How Crysis Performs on Low End Hardware

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 1nf3rn0x, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    How Crysis performs on a low end PC. Played at the highest settings possible on a very demanding map with lots of shadows, water, vegetation, smoke effects and lighting. It actually handled it quite well, being playable at a 720p resolution. If you want to know the system that played it look at system specs under Epic Junior (my low end PC)

    Click this link to see the video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1NANPjE4Hs


    PLEASE READ: THE FOLLOWING VIDEO WAS RECORDED WITH ALL GRAPHICAL SETTINGS AT 'VERY HIGH' RUNNING ON LOW END HARDWARE (check epic junior which is my other low end pc, check system specs) WITH PLAYABLE FRAMERATE ON A VERY DEMANDING MAP. :):toast:
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2010
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,741 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    980
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Crysis on Very Low looks and runs similar as Far Cry on Very High. So do the math.
     
  3. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,064 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Crysis on low settings looks utter crap!
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,741 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    980
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    It looks almost the same as Far Cry so that's far from crap.
     
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,790 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,345
    I played the beta at 1280x1024 with everything @ medium with a e4300, 1GB RAM and a x1950pro, and it looked great. It's actaully pretty well optimized until you go for the higher settings. :p
     
  6. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,064 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Well thats your opinion, too me crysis on low settings looks like a buch of textures with low shading effects, farcry on highest settings looks better to me:toast:
     
  7. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Are you saying the video looks like crap, or just in general crysis at low looks like crap. Since the vid is all at very high settings
     
  8. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    crysis on very low look like crap, like game of play station 1
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  9. crush3r

    crush3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    346 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    What 1nf3rn0x is saying is that the graphical settings are set to MAX but it's playing on LOW end hardware ;) Does seem to run well :toast:
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  10. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,064 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Nah just in general and in my experience;):toast:
     
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    I have a friend that used to play crysis on a system consisting of-

    xp2800 cpu (old clawhammer)
    ATI X800 gfx card
    2 ddr 400 ram

    The game actually ran quite well, all settings on low, 800*600 res
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,790 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,345
    He had two rams? :roll:
     
  13. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Exactly!
     
  14. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    Crysis didn't need a monster card, just set to LOWEST Setting (looks like a crap :D) but i get 60 fps on 1024 x 768 with 8500 GT (on my dad PC :D)
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  15. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Yeh i hate when people say crysis is such a hard game to play, even a 4650 can play it maxed out at 720p with a demanding map at playable fps:)
     
  16. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,064 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    I hate talkin about crysis LMAO!!! cuase the whole game is a crysis:cry:
     
  17. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Yeh i guess, i just have the game because I download all the maps made by people on sandbox which TBH are funner than the ones in the real game.
     
  18. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    sure this video graphic look well, but i was meant if you set crysis on very low setting cuz im try it before and when i see it i was shock
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,038 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    I used to play the original Crysis on an x800XL, it was certainly playable on low settings, and didn't look all that bad either.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Now this is believable.. U2K's claims are not :rolleyes:
     
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    yeah, I instantly thought of him when I saw the thread title :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Good, I am not the only one xD
     
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ok here is it

    this is two picture of crysis warhead, that's mean same directx but max setting and lower setting

    max setting
    [​IMG]

    low setting
    [​IMG]

    did they they look even same game
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 3, 2010
    hat says thanks.
  24. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    When I played Crysis I only had two 9600gt's and was running the game on medium settings with no AA and I thought looked fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, med is just fine IMO. Low is a little too... low
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page