1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how do i find out my isp?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by choppy, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    a while back i had a problem with pipex / mac code / changing over to Be. they said the mac code was bein used and some other crap, but eventually i cancelled my net with pipex and they said that my net has finished.

    BUT, my net has since STILL been working, yet i dont know why! so how can i know who my isp is? that danasoft graphic that some ppl have used to show pipex but if i check it now it doesnt show any isp just a blank space, any other methods?
     
  2. sorehammer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    if your internet connection's working and your paying no one why worry free internet.:toast:
     
  3. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    yes true and thats what my brother keeps saying, but i dont wanna be made an example of for illegal internet usage!

    btw i found this

    Go to start menu > run > type in cmd > enter > type in tracert whirlpool.net.au > enter > the second line (sometimes first/third... one of those lines) will contain an ISP name. For example mine is nexthop.qld.iinet.net.au.

    guess what it says..tiscali ... great
     
  4. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    If ya run speedtest ya isp should come up there
     
  5. sorehammer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    You did your part and cancelled the account not your fault they left it on. Enjoy it while it lasts most likely will be turned of after a short while telewest did the same to me cannceled phone and internet but 3 months later still on then switched off with no action taken by them as it's their fault.:)
     
  6. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    why didnt i think of speedtest, well that confirms tiscali too.

    yea true say and this has been going since january, just that i down*ehm*load a few things now n then...like 100gb / month like they once told me lol
     
  7. sorehammer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    hit them as much as posible the internet should be free.
     
  8. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    U lucky bugga like already said enjoy it man.
     
  9. MiST91 Guest

    yeah man, there fault! not yours.

    Just like with my Orange broadband package (was Wanadoo when i first signed up) when i signed up, it were 1 month fully unlimited, then a 2GB usage limit after that, 4 years later its still unlimited :laugh: :D. And if they finally catch up and say "your downloading around 10-20GB or more a month and have been for the past 4 years, i will laugh at them and say "thats your fault, what do you want me to do about it?"
     
  10. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,364 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,948
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Just go to command prompt and type
    Code:
    ipconfig /all
    . Then look at "DNS Suffix Search List" or "Connection-specific DNS Suffix". :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page