1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do i get the blue and white volume panel for X-fi Xtreme Music ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by wolf2009, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. wolf2009 Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 27, 2008
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    when you double click the icon on the tab bar, it will show the current device that is being used. Then in the bottom left there is a tab where your clicker will turn into a finger. Click on that and you'll have it.
    BTW: are you using xp or Vista??
  3. wolf2009 Guest

    no thats the problem , i get no icon in the taskbar . all i get is the standard console which can be accessed through the start menu .
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    well let me know more about your system. I need to know if its Vista or XP. Then we can go from there...
  5. wolf2009 Guest

    XP .
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    All right, if you can, delete all of the drivers you have installed, and download and these drivers from the website. It should work. I had the same problem with VISTA. And if that doesn't work, TPU has its own X-fi support thread. Imper. can help you more if still having problems..
  7. wolf2009 Guest

    i installed those drivers , i dont get the blue and white volume panel with a taskbar icon.
    Only the windows like appearance panel accessible through start menu .
  8. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I know with the vista drivers, there isn't an icon. You have to download the "Creative Console Launcher" and when you click on it, it goes to a device property type window that lets you select all the options that the console launcher did.

    If you have the original CD, then reinstall or repair your installation from there.
  9. muka3d

    muka3d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    With Creative X-Fi cards, that fancy switcher software does not come with the driver package. It's only found on the installation CD that ships with the card, and in most cases is not compatible with the latest driver version...

    Try installing the software from your CD that should have come with your X-Fi card. That should do the trick.

    Please be aware that all of the functionality in that fancy pretty software is included in the driver package, as part of the "Audio Console" in the Windows Control Panel. The fancy software is just a more user-friendly front-end for it, but does not add any real functionality.
  10. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Can you tell me how it doesn't add more?? I'm lost in that.

    You get an Icon at the bottom of your tool bar.
    [​IMG]
    It starts up the last Console that you where using.
  11. wolf2009 Guest

    will i be able to install the latest drivers then ?
  12. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I don't get the icon in Vista. I had to create a shortcut in my quick launch.
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    hmm thats strange. I got it when I installed with the cd and when I installed everything that Imper. told me to do. But, there isn't any good support for the x-fi cards with Vista, so its probably a thing a lot of people get.
  14. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
  15. muka3d

    muka3d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    I was just reading the release notes for the latest X-Fi driver on Creative's site:

    By the sounds of it, I'm going to assume that you can run the latest drivers in conjunction with the X-Fi CD software, albeit with a few potential hiccups, like the one listed there...

    Remember, Creative's software is just a pretty frontend for the same functionality that can be accessed in the Audio Console that you've already installed.
  16. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  17. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    You probably got yours later than I did. When I put the CD in it says that the drivers straight up don't support Vista. So no tray icon for me, but that's all right.
  18. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I got it 2 months ago. So it might be the reason why.
  19. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Got mine like two years ago practically lmao.
  20. muka3d

    muka3d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    All that the X-Fi CD software lets you do is access the Audio Console features in a different way... Instead of clicking on radio buttons in an ugly dialog to switch modes, you can drag around a shiny knob that glows when switching modes, if you catch my drift. It's like an elaborate skin for the Audio Console, essentially. Kind of like ATI Tray Tools vs. Catalyst Control Center.
  21. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    All right, I can see that way now. It is a fancy way to get there. Just for some reason read your post differently... Need sleep..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page