1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how do i get the ratio 1:1 with 800mhz ram and x10 e2180 2ghz intel?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by gallimar, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. gallimar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how do i get the ratio 1:1 with 800mhz ram and x10 e2180 2ghz intel?

    what do you recommend?

    266x9 gives me 1:2 ratio

    i heard 1:1 is better

    how can i go about doing this?

    i dont have privlages to post in the overclocking area :(

    im looking to oc to about 2.6ghz
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    overclock a bit more.. take the fsb up 400 and u will have 1:1 with the ram running at it correct speed.. 9 x 400 is 3.6 gig ..whoops.. he he

    more realistically 6 x 400 would be 2.4 gig..

    i wouldnt worry too much thow just get the cpu speed up as high as u can any way u can..

    trog
  3. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    The 1:1 doesn't make enough difference to where you'll notice. Overclock your CPU, then tweak the RAM afterwards. I haven't gotten around to tweaking my setup, but I'm easily able to hit 3.2ghz with some voltage. If you can get your e2180 to run at 400mhz FSB, go for it! I haven't tried that yet, so I'm not sure if the chips like that or not. Also, fill out your system specs. Mobo, RAM, and PSU make a bit of difference in system stability when overclocking.
  4. gallimar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my current temp is 25c idle at 266x9

    400x9 is alot! will my 2180 handle that much without going uber hot?

    i have a black wizard air cooling case and stock processor heat sink

    25cm fan on side panel of the case

    gigabyte p35c dsr3 mb

    sapphire radeon 512mb x1950 pro

    kingston value ram - 800mhz 2x1gb ram = 2gb

    should i leave voltage settings at auto?
  5. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    how hot it get depends more on what voltage u feed the chip more than how fast it goes..

    bascially your chip will only go so high at the lower voltages then u have to start feeding more voltage in to make it go faster.. u soon reach a point of diminishing returns.. u have to try things and see..

    u dont leave the voltage on auto.. but then again u dont go bad with higher voltage either.. i would fit a better aftermarket cooler.. something like an artic freezer pro..

    your idle temps dont matter much.. its the load temps that govern things..

    60 C is okay for the cpu under load.. but a better cooler should always be part of real overclocking.. not the super best there is.. just a "better" one.. the artic cooler fits the bill nicely..

    trog
  6. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    My 2180 goes up to around 3.5
  7. gallimar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is that with stock fan?

    also what voltage shall i use on mem/cpu?

    when i clocked to 400x7 my p35c gigabyte dsr3 motherboard didnt like it and set back to default - im guessing this was a voltage issue as there was no post error

    im thinking 0.2 for mem? as auto voltage settings already applied 0.1 - maybe it didnt boot cus the cpu voltage was a miss?

    i have no idea what voltage to run my e2180 at 2.8ghz from 2ghz

    this would be really cool if i can clock up to 2.8 and get mem ratio to 1:1 - i would give you all a massive xmas thanks :)
  8. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    That`s with aftermarket cooler. Start with 300x10 and work up. I had to up the voltage a couple of times after 3.2ghz on gigabyte 965p ds3.
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    u have three basic things that can limit your O/C speeds..

    one is the fsb speed.. mostly a mobo thing this... some go higher than others..

    one is the cpu speed in mhz..

    the other is how fast your memory will run.. slower timing on the memory will enable it to reach higher actual speeds..

    all these three are affected by voltage.. heat is the ultimate governor.. more voltage means more heat..

    its easier to get high cpu clocks useing a high multiplier and low fsb speed than it is the other way around..

    go for the high multiplier.. forget the one to one stuff..

    trog

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page