1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How Do I Install the AHCI Drivers After Installing Windows 7 Registry is NCQ Already

Discussion in 'Storage' started by alvin777, Aug 18, 2012.

  1. alvin777 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi. The NCQ is already set to 0 in Windows 7 registry but when I use AHCI through the BIOS, it says "error loading the operating system" and would not boot until you bring back the BIOS from AHCI to the normal IDE.

    You can get AHCI capabilites by pressing F6 and a floppy (or CD/DVD if you're using a USB to set it up) and installing the AHCI drivers before you install Windows 7 64-bit but how do you install it after you've installed Windows 7 64-bit?

    Should I boot from Windows 7 setup again and install the drivers from there or would that mess up my Windows 7?

    Also Intel has AHCI drivers, as well as Gigabytes GA-965P-DS3 rev. 1.0 (It's named as: GIGABYTE SATA2 Preinstall driver for AHCI / RAID Mode then they have a separate driver for just Raid named: GIGABYTE SATA2 RAID Driver). Which one do I use?

    Intel has these: Gigabytes has these:
    TXTSETUP xraid_f
    iaahci txtsetup
    iastor jraid.sys
    iaAHCI jraid
    iaStor
    iaStor.sys
    F6Readme
    license

    Thanks in advance.

    God bless.
     
  2. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    qubit says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. alvin777 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi. How're you? I checked that registry entry (did it more than 5 times, checked the hardrive with HD Tune if it's NQC capable which it is), it's already set at 0 but still when I boot, it won't.
     
  4. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    then im at a loss my friend. I just got a SSD 3 weeks ago, so this is all new to me. It may look like you will have to reinstall Windows to get it to work.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,871 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
  6. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page