1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I know if my cable is a SATA 3 cable?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Phusius, Oct 29, 2012.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    [​IMG]

    my new 1 TB HDD storage, are these speeds normal for a sata 3 HDD? or do I need a new SATA 3 cable? :confused:
     
  2. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    I don't think any mechanical hard drive out there will even saturate SATA 2, so I doubt there is an issue with the cable... though I am also foggy about SATA2 vs. SATA3 cables... gimmick?
     
    Phusius says thanks.
  3. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Thanks, it seems to be working fine, so I guess I just am not going to worry about it. /shrug
     
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Agreed. SATA II can do up to 3 gigabits a second, or ~375 megabytes a second. You're seeing transfer speeds of about half that (peak) so you're well within the limit of what SATA II can do. You'd need a modern SSD to take advantage of SATA III.
     
    Phusius says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Yeah, I have my Samsung using a SATA3 cable, and it gets about 410 on read, so cool deal, glad this worked out :toast:
     
  6. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,335 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    461
  7. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    topic can be closed Ion answered it perfectly. sata3 on my ssd, sata2 on any hdd /cheers
     
  8. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    For the record unless the cables are poorly made there is no difference in sata 2/3
     
  9. chinmi

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    92 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Indonesia
    i buy a usual red $1,- sata cable, i bet that's sata 2 right ?? what's the 'fair' price for a sata 3 cable ??
     
  10. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,629 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    I think te red cable can do SATA 3 fine, as I am using one, all those expensive "SATA 3" cables are just marketing B.S.
     
  11. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    608 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I watched the Linus Tech Tips extensive testing for the difference betwen SATA2 and 3 cables and the conclusion after all teh tests was, that there is no difference between the cables labelled as SAtA 2 or 3. So yeah, a red one will do perfectly fine I think.
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    The cable standard did not changed between SATA2 and SATA3, so the cables are identical. In fact I don't believe the cable has changed since SATA1.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    I think the only thing that changed is the latch. Older SATA cables don't have them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    I think the latch is optional, a lot of newer cables don't have them. Even cabled labeled "SATA3". I don't think the latch even even part of the standard, just something additional some manufacturers added because people were complaining SATA cables came out too easily.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. TheOne

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    225 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Latches on SATA cables were around years before SATAIII was released, but as a standard, I think newtekie is right, most manufacturers just decide to use cables with latches, I know Gigabyte has always preferred them even back before SATAIII.
     
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,940 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,059
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Latch IS part of the standard.;) I'd love to see an unlatched SATA 6Gb/s cable...



    ...so I can avoid them :p
     
  17. TheOne

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    225 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Most SATAIII cables have latches, but you can find SATAIII cables without latches, Newegg sales them, I don't think the industry standard for SATA cables has changed, I could be wrong, but if you mean that it is just common then yea.

    As for the point of this thread.

    http://www.sata-io.org/documents/SATA-Revision-3.0-FAQ-FINAL.pdf
    http://www.sata-io.org/
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,940 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,059
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    That's not a SATA 6 Gb/s cable. A SATA 6 Gb/s cables says "SATA 6 Gb/s" on it(also as a requirement), not just SATA like those do. ;)


    Latches are required, and that's why the connectors on motherboards have the ability to use the latches in the first place.


    However, I never said that regular SATA cables would cause any performance issues.. that depends on cable quality and length.

    SATA6RA1 = SATA, 6-inch, Right Angle 1-side. ;)


    With all the motherboards I've reviewed, I've seen 'em all(I mean SATA 6 Gb/s cables).


    Yeah, pointedly, it says any cable can work fine.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Read the specs. Type: SATA III

    You're nuts if you think all SATA 6 cables have to say SATA 6 on them.

    As TheOne pointed out, even SATA-IO says the cables didn't change since SATA 1.5, that includes the latch being required.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,940 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,059
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :shadedshu

    http://www.sata-io.org/developers/naming_guidelines.asp


    Explains how WRONG that newegg listing is. There is no such thing as "SATA III"

    EDIT:


    NO, it says :

    "can be used to connect"

    can be used...CAN..not that nothing has changed..
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  22. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,955 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    The cables are the same. If your just running a platter drive there is no difference

    Did Phusius get banned?
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  23. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,373 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    From my understanding (reading the "Serial ATA Revision 3.1 Specification") for a single lane cable; they can be:

    A. cables can be what ever color they want.
    B. "ClickConnect" is optional. (what everyone calls latches)
    C. connector labeling is optional.
    D.The cables/connectors meets the electrical characteristics requirements of the spec.

    However, I am sure there may be vendors/manufacturers out there that turn out cables with SATA 6 Gb/s stamped all over them and they may not meet the spec of the Serial ATA International Organization.

    This has nothing to do with the Serial ATA International Organization, but it's my view of cables... Cables should be stamp with the specs of the cable itself from the cable manufacturer (Except for the few who have specialized cable, but it should still be on the packaging or available).

    So, you may want to check the specs of cables from the manufacturers you plan on getting them from to see if they fall into the proper specs.

    And, I use the latch-less connectors in some areas that are hard to access quickly; or, if I have a need for tight spaces (I have found that an angled connector with no latch takes up less height than a latch one).

    EDIT:
    Says "Banned"... I would hazard a guess... that he is.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page