1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do i make this computer faster?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TheUninvited, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    upgrade ram to 8GB, install 64 bit OS (Fresh OS is like brand new car, zippy). Ofcourse SSD.

    But to be more conservative, I imaged my family machine from 5 yr old OS running on an old 200GB IDE to 120GB SSD. It feels like the same OS suddenly woke up from dead!
  2. kajson

    kajson

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I can tell you I have installed windows 7 starter edition on an old laptop of a friend of mine, there was 1gb of ram and a celeron singlecore 1.7ghz processor in there. And much to my bewilderment, it actually ran very very smooth, before the reinstall it performed about the same as your system does now,
    my reasoning was that if an eee pc can run it, it might be my best bet, I didnt want to go driver hunting for win xp.
    It's definitely the win 7 with the lowest memory footprint by far, designed to run smoothly on 1gb ram. And it is actually quite functional if you don't have too high demands.

    But still I'd go with removing the dust first as 80c processor is always a good thing to try to avoid.

    PS. Shortterm solution download ccleaner, use the cleaner and turn off anything you dont use in the startup manager to free up memory and reboot.
  3. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    959 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    80 degrees on core 2 quad, that poor cpu is throttling ... and only 1 GB of RAM is not helping either.
    At that temp cpu fan should be screaming loud, and if you haven't noticed the noise, check if the cpu fan is spinning, is cpu heatsink seated well, is fan connected to 4 pin pwm connector and is fan control properly set in bios.
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,187 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,373
    We cannot know whether that CPU temp is actually correct as long as we did not verify this via the BIOS or monitoring software from Gigabyte itself. Although of course there is a chance it is throttling. BTW, what is the matter with the other PC you said is unuseable?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,522 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    This is ... this is stupid. DIsabe updates on a Windows machine? And are you suggesting disabing page file with 1GB RAM? That shouldn't work.
    FreedomEclipse and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  6. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    332 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    No, with 2GB. I quoted the "girl's" post.

    I did not say it is a smart decision, I just shared what I do. And I didn't recommend it as well.
  7. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    As others have said drop 7 and get Ubuntu or any other flavour you want on there. It's free then you can spend your money and time on fixing your main rig. If all you doing is browsing the net you'l probably find it a more enjoyable experience regardless of the system.
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  8. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    332 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Ubuntu eats a lot of memory... Get a lighter alternative.
    xvi, Chevalr1c and ste2425 say thanks.
  9. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Did not know that.
  10. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    828 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    south korea
    id say xubuntu. or linuxmint xfce. if you want even lighter, puppy linux, lubuntu
    xvi and Blue-Knight say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Lubuntu. I run it on my netbook with 1 GB and fine. Installed win7 after upgrading it to 2GB
    Anyway quad core with only 1GB RAM???? Veeery unbalanced computer
  12. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,965 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    +1
    Buy a fan. While your at it, grab another 512MB DD2. Consider it 25 Bucks well spent.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,965 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    478 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Arcadia
    Like the guys tell you already 1gb is not good for windows 7.
    From my personal experience with a core 2 duo and 2gb of ram and now with a quad with 8gb of ram is another world run windows 7 but all depends on what you run on start up and what antivirus are you using.
    1 week ago i was using on my actual system avg free and a lot of times i noticed that some times from 8gb of ram in use without other things open my ram on use was much more than 2 gb but after change it with bit defender the ram use was much lower but is not only that so i suggest too to change os like linux mint or other linux distro plus control your system inside the case for lower you cpu temps like change termal paste,clean dust and for my curiosity i wanna know if this pc is a hp or like pc you buy in a store o is build by yourself? because for pc temps the case airflow means a lot as well .
  15. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    135 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    With your current CPU temp i would suggest to open up your PC case and do some serious cleaning. Swap the thermal compound and preferably get a better HS(used ones are cheap). With 1GB RAM on Win7 the only thing you can do is disable Aero and switch the appearance to Windows Classic.
    Also it won't hurt to disable some unused services and unload OS startup as much as you can. Don't forget to run defragmentation on your hdd(s) and cleanup the registry. If windows 7 can run on my gf's EEE PC, it can definitely work on your computer.
    Another serious bottleneck is the speed of your RAM (size was mentioned many times already). You could significantly improve your system's performance by running Dual-channel DDR2-800 sticks. Corsair XMS2 PC6400 2x1GB set will cost you under $20 on ebay. Better than cashing out on a new system.
    Chevalr1c and Capitan Harlock say thanks.
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,606 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    this sounds more like a shameless plug more than anything else if not a trap...

    CC Cleaner has the same functionality and their more widely known then Krojam - cleaning up temp files will do very little to speed your pc or laptop up unless your main hard drive with the OS on it is down to its very last gig of space

    ::EDIT::

    Also Krojam isnt free - CC Cleaner is.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2014
    95Viper, Chevalr1c and rtwjunkie say thanks.
  17. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    As said if you don't want to buy more RAM, you can't do much, defrag your disk (I use Mydefrag, better than Windows defragger) clean your disk, registry and startup programs (I use CCleaner) and defrag your registry (I use Auslogics) and if you are using Chrome, enable plugins on click (settings / show advanced settings / content settings / plugins, click to play) to avoid flash based ads to eat CPU and memory.

    Check with HWinfo if your CPU is throttling due to overheating.
    Also always install updates, they can improve performance besides security.


    Windows 7 does run in 1GB netbooks/computers but it does horribly at least for me and I tried everything to optimize it, Since I've upgraded it to 2GB now it's smooth as butter. Today's program specially browsers and office require more and more RAM and 1 GB is not enough

    Even my desktop with 2GB was on the limit (though I use a 64-bit OS). Now with 6 GB it is still smoother.
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2014
    TheUninvited says thanks.
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,195 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That's because @Blue-Knight already said that his posts are stupid and that we're all stupid for replying to him so really, just ignore him.
    Ubuntu Gnome eats 512Mb on boot on my i7 rig. A clean Ubuntu install using something like i3 will eat as little as 128-256Mb. Windows 7 eats 3Gb of ram on my tower with 16GB, it used 1.5Gb with 8Gb of ram, and if you use less, Windows uses less, but all in all, Windows uses significantly more memory than Ubuntu does, regardless of the particular distro.

    You really should stop talking about things you don't know.
    Frick says thanks.
  19. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,732 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,316
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    if you still want to run win7 with limited ram, try disable unnecessary services, disable any background process that you dont need, turn off aero
    using light weight applications
    xvi says thanks.
  20. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Windows takes more RAM because of prefetch
  21. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Definitely need more ram, 2x1gb minimum but 2x2gb ddr2 preferred for Win 7.
    New 2x1gb will run you $30 and 2x2gb $50ish.
    You can probably find a nice matched pair used on thee forums here for less.
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,606 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    This thread should be closed, the best possible answers have already been given and everyone here is just repeating whats already been said. The OP hasnt given any other feedback other than the fact that he doesn't want to spend any money on it. He wanted our advice and he didn't accept it when we gave it. There's nothing more to see here
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,195 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I consider cached memory free memory. Windows still eats more even without SuperFetch.
  24. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    I though prefetch counted as used memory instead of cached (which are closed apps) but well I may be wrong. That would explain why memory usage (not cached) won't sum up in the active process list which shows every component.
  25. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    106 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    just fork out some cash and get it up to 2Gb as everyone suggest, crickey thats about 20€uros :banghead:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page