1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I put a desktop icon for Crysis Warhead on my Vista desktop?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Monkey_Business, Mar 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Monkey_Business Guest

    I have both Crysis and Crysis Warhead installed on my computer, but for some reason, during the installation, there was no option to place a shortcut launch icon on my windows vista 64-bit home premium desktop. I downloaded the latest patch, which enables the game to run 64-bit binaries. But I cannot enable that because it can only be done through properties in the game icon.

    There are also some other DX10 games which do not allow you to place a desktop icon in windows.

    Weird....
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Go to your games folder, right click the icon, Send to desktop.
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    The way I do it is as DonInKansas said but, I go to Program Files and find the game's folder, then I right click the exe file and select 'create shortcut' then I right click again on the shortcut and cut and paste it onto the desktop.
  4. Monkey_Business Guest

    Crysis Warhead is not listed anywhere in my program files.
  5. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Program Files or Programs Files x86? Make sure you check both.
  6. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    372 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I have crysis warhead installed on my vista 64-bit machine. EVEN the 64-bit edition of warhead will be in Program Files(x86) -> Electronic Arts -> Crytek -> Crysis WARHEAD -> Bin64 -> Right-Click "Crysis64" -> "Create Shortcut" -> Move shortcut to your desktop.

    In game, open up console (~) and then type r_displayinfo 1 to see if 64 bit version is being used, mgpu is being used, and your frame rates!
  7. Monkey_Business Guest

    In my start bar, the only programs listed under EA are Battlefield 2, and Battlefield 2 special forces.

    Also, EA download manager.

    No Crysis, no Crysis Warhead.

    Because there isn't any quick launch icon anywhere in my computer, the only way I can play either of those games is to put the CD in, and then a window pops up and then I click "play".

    What the hell?

    I would like to take a screen shot of my desktop, but this is impossible in windows vista, you could only do that with XP.

    The snipping tool isn't much of a help.
  8. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,060 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Just go to where the game is installed.
    Maybe you installed it right to the C drive.
    Do a search for it as well if you can't find it.
    Usually it's in program files directory, but could be wherever you installed it to.
    Find the exe for the game.
    Usually named the name of the game.
    Right click it and select "create shortcut"
    it will create a shortcut inside the folder your in.

    Take the shortcut it created and place it onto your desktop.
    You can remove the words "shortcut to" from the name as well if you want.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page