1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I run my PC outside it's case?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Dr. Spankenstein, Oct 12, 2007.

  1. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Hey,

    I need to do some modifications to my case, but I don't want to be without my computer for that long. I figured I'd set it up on my desk, but then I got to thinking: How do I power it on?

    Do I somehow jumper the power header on the mobo? I've never done this before so I'd like some professional advice.

    Thanks,

    Bryan
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    you answered your own question, take a jumper and put it on the power header on your mobo. or use the onboard button on your mobo if you have em on yours like i do. put the mobo on like a box or something and make sure you dont touch it when its running lol.
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,228 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,706
    a simple flat head screw driver crossing the pins for a split second will power it on
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i think jumpers are safer, wouldn't want that screwdriver to slip and stab the mobo lol.
     
  5. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Kewl....
    now, if only I had a spare jumper!:eek:
     
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    just grab a jumper from somewhere and hit the power header and put it back, thats what i do for cmos clearing lol, i take my memory voltage jumper lol.
     
  7. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Yeah, my board only has one jumper and it's for the BIOS, I shudder to think what would happen if I remove it while she's powered on...
     
  8. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i dont think your bios will get cleared, only if the 2 special pins are touched, the extra pin and one of the special pins, nothing happens, the jumper's just there as a place holder sorta. though something simple like a push pin should work too lol
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  9. JacKz5o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    485 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Xoxide sells a kit which you just stick over the two pins and if you press the button it boots up. Kinda like the buttons on some of the 939 DFI boards.
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  10. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Thanks fellers! I do appreciate the help!
    Gonna start documenting the cut-over to water tonight!
    The advice I've received from TPU memebers (and panchoman, in particular) has made this all possible!

    Cheers,

    Bryan
     
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,020 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you have steady hands, flat screwdriver.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Oooooh! That seems like a handy thing to have! I'm checking that out, NOW!:respect:
     
  13. JacKz5o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    485 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  14. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
  15. Woah Mama! New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Australia
    Your main ATX power button on your case should just be screwed in to the front, if you are case modding then you may be taking the front panel off anyway? Just use that, I ran my old rig with one of those power connection leads for a few months. Would save buying a kit anyway.
     
  16. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Ditto that. Just use the two wires that link the mobo to the power switch and either use the button as well by removing it from the front panel or just touch the wires momentarily.

    Oh and yeah, btw. DONT forget to ground your motherboard if its going to sit on your desk. Preferably using the mobo tray.
     
  17. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    ex_reven,
    Mobo tray for grounding is not needed.
    ATX connector has 8 grounds, EPS12v has 4, onboard molex has 2, GPU has 3.
    That's 17 GND points.

    The tray would be good for preventing shorts, though.
     
  18. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    use anything conductive to touch the on pins for a sec
     
  19. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,384 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    California, U.S.A.
    Biostar TForce boards are nice in that they have onboard power and reset switches. TForce FTW! :rockout:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page