1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how do i set up my router for a game server

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by tigger, Jan 26, 2007.

  1. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,173 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    my router seems to be blocking people from joining my game when i run a game server.how do i stop it blocking access to my machine?

    its a dlink dsl-624t wireless with 4xlan ports.

    thanks.
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Thats an excellent question, my Linksys does the same thing. Thats why I never ran my own dedicated UT server.
  3. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Ah, you guys need to set up port forwarding. To do this, you need to figure out the port that your game uses for multiplayer games (Halo uses 2302, all UT's use 7777). Then, you go into your router, select advanced settings, and there's probably something like "port forwarding" or "game forwarding". Enter the required information of the game, and then put in the IP address of the computer you want to host the game. Otherwise, what happens is your computer thinks it has one IP and your router has a totally different one....port forwarding eliminates the confusion.
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,173 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    thanks zek,i will try it.

    how can i find out what port a certain game requires "open"?
  5. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Google, manual, settings, friends...I'm sorry, but most people don't really need port forwarding information, otherwise this would be more public and we wouldn't be having this conversation :p.
  6. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  7. jms45

    jms45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    tigger i got a dlink router too, on mine it's under the virtual server page on the router's built in setup, you just enter the ip address from your machine to the router and enter the port number required for the program your running on both public port and private port and make sure that it's enabled, also it would be a good idea if you setup your router to make your machine have a static ip address so that the ip doesnt change then you wont need to edit the virtual server setting's all the time.

    here's an example for the way i setup my ventrilo server : [​IMG]
  8. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I think you have to enable DMZ so that your router can directly forward your ip address to you comp. (or that is what I used to do with bf1942).
  9. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    or just do what i do and set the server pc in DMZ so its outside the routers firewall :)
  10. jms45

    jms45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    if you enable DMZ ( demilitarized zone ) you will leave your firewall wide open, your better off only setting up a virtual server as only the one port will be open and only will be open when your running the application using the set port number.
  11. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    hacking is a day of the past...but viruses/spyware are not, but I dont see why you will get it if your hosting.
  12. jms45

    jms45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    why leave it up to chance though?, the way you can set up the router to allow incoming traffic using virtual server works without leaving your router wide open. as it says on the virtual server page itself : virtual server is used to allow internet user's to access lan services, you can set a server for each and every game or application you use and be able to enable when needed or disable it when not needed.
  13. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    DMZ on most routers only effects the computer you assign the DMZ to, not all on the network, effectivly it puts that one computer outside the NAT firewall, and honestly people who are paranoied enought to think they need a firewall probbly shouldnt be online with broadband, i mean if somebody really wants in nothing you got on your pc or routers gonna stop them.
  14. jms45

    jms45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    ok.
  15. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    4 years on cable, never got hit by anything and was in DMZ the whole time, incase you where wondering :)
  16. jms45

    jms45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    also 4 years on cable, also never been hit, still the way i showed how to setup a game server with a router is the way people should do it, not saying DMZ doesn't work, and also nothing the matter with not taking chances if and when possible.
  17. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    not really chance...its more of a risk-less risk ;)

    viruses don't come to you, you come to viruses..:pimp:
  18. jms45

    jms45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    lol wtf is it with you guys, really what age are you.

    i try and help the guy out with how to setup his router properly for running game server's and you childishly feel the need to attack it, alright DMZ opens all ports and leaves your computer in the wilderness and will allow you to play games with people, we already established that and if i thought the guy was a pure idiot i would have told him to do it the easy way as you have suggested with DMZ, BUT giving the guy some credit i gave a way to set up the router using the virtual server for the required application which is also the way the manual would tell you to set it up, DMZ is just a lazy way of doing it for people who dont know how to find the port number for the application or who find it hard to admit they dont know how to use the router and instead fiddle about with settings until the find an answer that works, this is just plain wierd i always had the idea that forums are for helping out and not trying to shake things up when people give WORKING information.

    and as the gone are day's of hacking idea tell that to the thousands of africans sitting in internet cafe's and other people in poorer countries that are hacking computers with key loggers and stealing people paypal accounts and credit card information and robbing people blind, just because it aint happened to you doesn't mean it wont or cant happen, and granted a hardware firewall is not the end all of hacking but it's a darn sight more useful than a plain open connection from a modem and windows useless built in firewall.
  19. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,351 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    @jms45

    Well said, I agree with you fully!
  20. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    and portforwording and virtaul server mode arent 100% effective some apps/some routers just dont like it.

    only morons get their paypal info stolen and 999/1000 times its because they dont look at the URL of the "paypal" login site they try and use(its a fake one!!!)

    keylogers have to be run on the attacked machien, this dosnt happen if you run a 1/2 decen antivirus like nod32 or f-prot(i dont trust norton or mcafee anymore seen them dissabled by viruses a few times)

    jms45, most "routers" and their firewalls dont take a real hacker more then a couple minutes to get past, its a faulse sence of security, if you want true security buy a cisco router(300+bucks) or run software firewalls and a good av app, that is for paranoied types like you, personaly i visit "ricky" sites at times and have for years, guess what, never had anything hit me, the only people i have seen loose their cc info or paypal info or the like are the ones who dont run an antivirus, go to longin sites that are FAKE and try and login, or my favorite, download something that then tells them to dissable their av to install, and they dissable it and install and it turns out to be a trogen.

    anybody with 1/2 a brain can avoid being raped by viruses/keylogers/the mailman (har har) without using a "hardware firewall"

    and that socalled hardwarefirewall is reallly just a software firewall running on a switch with "router software"

    true routers are nothing like the cheezy little boxes people buy to share the net at home.

    oh and JMS i would advise if you have wireless network DISSABLE IT, i can hackinto any wireless network in 5min TOPS and have FULL access to the network to boot.
  21. jms45

    jms45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    lolz, what you looking for with this stupidity global domination lol, anyway i dont use wireless only have that for my wife's laptop, and since my wireless range is about 30-40 meters tops im more than possitive you can't hack it from the usa, and your also not the only one who reads up about internet and network security, and the statement of me being paranoid isn't exactly well aimed, not all hackers are expert enough to hack router's even cheap ass boxes for home, infact i know of people that do try to hack and are so stupid and lack the knowlegde they prey on people with poxy modems or on msn messenger and on chatrooms and talk people round with trojans and viruses renamed as mp3's and whatever else,or even go as far to try and hack your system after you have kicked them from your game server. but all that aside whatever point your trying to prove still doesn't make the information i gave as " how to set up the router to allow running a game server" invalid. or to be even more specific tigger has an almost identical router to mine his being the dsl-624t and mine being the DI-624 i thought i could shed more light on the situation as there shouldn't be much difference between the two.
  22. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,351 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Is that slang for gay porn sites?
  23. jms45

    jms45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    lol
  24. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    risky* and no its stuff you cant talk about here because its not leigal you fing dumbarse :)

    :slap: :slap: :slap:

    and u may only beable to use the connection for 30-40feet, but a hacker with a good card/high gain antana setup could get a signal from farther.

    and i didnt mean i would personaly hack you, but i have gone wardriving, and its funny how even 128bit WEP and the like can be hacked, mac addy protection is a joke, you can set your hacking system to the id of one of the systems already on the network and then knock that system off and take over its place on the net work(done it more then ones myself)

    i love showing people who think their able to secure wireless how insecure their connection really is, the lady down the street had a shop called "computers made easy" setup her wireless for her 3 laptops, they said it was "impossable for anybody to hack" because they setup mac addy auth and the most secure password/network key mode with a random key made of uniq charictors, it took my OLD p3 laptop all of 7 min to break into the network, kick one of her systems off, then i was able to access files on all those systems, as well as able to leech her connection, after seeing that she desided that wireless wasnt for her since she keeps sencitive info on her systems for her realistate buisness, she had me hardwire her and set her up with a wired router and also setup software firewalls on all the systems to give her that little extra bit of security.
  25. jms45

    jms45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    yeah great, must have been one of your more proud moments in life, hacking her system then charging her for the privelidge, or quite possibly all you just said was cut from a news article on a security site but hey who cares.

    whats next?, this one time at band camp!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page