1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How does 660ti performs on 1440x900 ?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by We'llBangOK?, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. We'llBangOK? New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi folks!

    I'm trying to figure out which gpu should i get for my new budget system, and i'm really in between of picking a 7870 or a 660 ti.

    I'm going to run my system at 1440x900 resolution with these system

    I5 3470
    8 GB Memory

    I'm kinda new to this stuff and was wondering how would a 192 Bit, 660 ti perform on a 1440x900 resolution with AA and AF turned on at maximum settings ?

    I Know 660ti or a 7870 is a overkill for that resolution but i'll get a new screen later (like 1 or maybe 2 years later, i'm fine with this resolution for now)

    Best regards!
  2. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,804 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    whatever card you get you can max out everything with lots of AA.

    If you use lots of AA the 7870 will be fine.

    If not so much 660 ti will be good.

    You will notice slowdown using a lot of AA on 192bit. 2/4x AA would have no impact im sure.
    We'llBangOK? says thanks.
  3. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    What GPU do you have atm?

    The trouble with your current plan is that, as you say, a 660Ti or 7870 will be overkill for 1440*900, but by the time you upgrade, it may no longer be sufficient for high-end resolutions. So I'd recommend you get something cheaper now (like a used GTX460 or HD6850, generally about half the price of a 7770 if you're patient and pick up newly listed underpriced Buy-it-Now on eBay), then upgrade when you upgrade your monitor.

    If you insist on getting one of those cards today, the 660Ti is a better card and the 7870 is generally cheaper. They're both fine. If you decide to look at a boost edition 7870, beware as some people are blaming AMD's boost implementation for their frame latency woes.

    The 660Ti is highly competitive at 1080p with AA with the 384-bit 7950. It doesn't make sense to compare across architectures in the way that you are doing.

    http://techreport.com/review/23981/radeon-hd-7950-vs-geforce-gtx-660-ti-revisited
    We'llBangOK? says thanks.
  4. We'llBangOK? New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So you say a 660 ti won't get any trouble of using a 8AA on 1440x900 right ?
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,456 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,004
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    660TI at that res should be fine.
    We'llBangOK? says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Obviously it depends on the game, but in general, it should romp all over everything.
    We'llBangOK? says thanks.
  7. StanMen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    196 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Portugal
    Nop there will be no any problem! belive me i got an LED ASUS new model monitor but is max reso 1366x768 dno is an 19 inch monitor but they say that is new 18.5, but the point is with this reso and monitor and i got an ASUS GTX 660 TI DCUII OC Edition + is difrent from normal OC edition my last part number is difrent from my friend and hes grafic card is same my ends in 2OG and hes is just 2O, and in all games like BF3 at max max 4x AA and ultra i got 80+ FPS when i set vsync is locked at 60 to 63 FPS and is in all but all maps ! like even if there is explosion i got like same fps my max fps in metro on tunels some time i hit 185FPS, in other games i did try and same story ! and before this 660 TI i got an Ghz Edition 7870 reference design and belive me even new drivers didn't a so so much improvment that many say is just jupt from min 35 to 45 fps and in same config that i used with my old EVGA GTX 480 FTW all ultra and 4xAA just no Motion Blur i think this is just f** up the game is not even realistic and looks like you cry all the time LOL, so i selled my old AMD HD Ghz Ed 7870 and i payed like 404€ for this 660 TI is very high price but is a beast ! my card is at same speed as 670 on stock and i did beast oc and i got same speed as 680 and belive me it just blow up the fps on this reso, and my cpu now is also OCd to 4.5Ghz i did push it to 5.0Ghz stable with max 53c load but i just want play for safe so put it at 4.5Ghz and i'm happy !

    :rockout:

    and with new drivers it will be much more boost! my friend got Sapphire 7950 VaporX and hes min fps is droped on kharg island to 38fps with same config at 1080 and on vga percision was displayed only 1535 RAM in use of 3Gb! and there is many vids on youtube you can see ! and 7950 is rated as Entusiast card ! not mid range card! so is up to you mate!
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
    We'llBangOK? says thanks.
  8. Novulux

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    150 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    The lack of periods is disturbing. "the game is not even realistic and looks like you cry all the time". May I ask what game you are referring to, or are you saying that the HD 7870 somehow effects the visuals?
    I had an HD 7870 but returned it due to the fact that it was overkill (1440x900 at the time) , and if you aren't planning on upgrading your monitor, get whatever is the most cost effective for you.
    We'llBangOK? says thanks.
  9. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    We'llBangOK? says thanks.
  10. StanMen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    196 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Portugal
    I was refering to Motion Blur on BF3 buddy, and is not only on 7870 is an option in game that makeseffect of speed and som other stuff, and i trun it off and game looks beter this is my opinion and many ppl do the same thing ! and i was very desapointed with AMD and with this new grafics cards 7870 ! before this AMD as i told you guys i had an EVGA GTX 480 FTW whater cooled and i played bf3 all ultra and my min fps was 48! max was somthing 130fps in some parts of maps but avarage was somthing like 60-70. My brother got an EVGA GTX 570 SC 10 years warenty and with i5 3450 and 4gb ram and hes min fps is 57fps and max 150fps and avarage is 67-76 somthing like this, but in many case he getting 60+ solid rock! and my brothers monitor is same resolution as you got 1440x900!
    We'llBangOK? says thanks.
  11. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    We'llBangOK? says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page