1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How good is this gaming PC? And how much can I expect to sell my old one for?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by KKSlider1337, Jun 13, 2011.

1. KKSlider1337

Thanks Received:
    Hi guys. I'm after buying a new gaming PC, as my old one is getting a bit slow now. In particular, its dual core cpu is holding it back, and it can't play games like Crysis 2 and BFBC:2 very well, even on low settings. Ideally my budget is £600, and I've found a deal which I thought looked OK, but I'm not an expert.

http://www.arbico.co.uk/Arbico-Phenom-7795-Quad-Core-Custom-Built-Gaming-PC-p-.html

A quick summary is that it comes with:
    AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition, Quad Core (AM3, 3.2GHZ, 8GB Cache)
    ASUS M4A77T/USB3, 4xDIMM, Max. 16GB ATX Motherboard
    ATI HD5850 1GB GPU
    8GB Mushkin PC12800 1600MHz DDR3 RAM
    Quiet Xilence 580W 2 x PCI-E PSU
    Windows 7 Home Premium

for £570.

I haven't got the money for an uber system, but with a couple of games I already have that my current PC struggles with, and some on the horizon that I'm really interested in like Battlefield 3 and Skyrim, I think it's time for an upgrade. I'd like this PC to be future proof in that I can upgrade it easily (mistake I made with current one is that PSU isn't great, and motherboard doesn't allow quad core, only has one PCI-E etc.) Is this likely with this PC?

I also wondered how much out of interest I'd be able to sell my old PC for, to put towards the new one. It has:

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+ (2 CPUs), ~2.8GHz
    4096MB DDR2 RAM Kingston 800MHz
    Two HD's totalling 750 GB
    ATI Radeon HD 4850 512mb
    Asus Xonar D1 soundcard
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Asus M2N-MX Motherboard
    600W PSU (it's not a very good one apparently, but I don't know much about them).