1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how is my oc?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by maknusdave, Oct 14, 2012.

  1. maknusdave New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    MB: ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
    RAM: 4GB DDR3 DUAL CHANNEL @1600
    CPU: PHENOMII X4 955 @ 4094 v1.475(1.488 MB INFO) / CPU-NB 2640 v1.35
    CPU TEMPS #36-39-IDDLE #51-54-FULL LOAD


    i want to read the opinion from advance users :rockout:
     
  2. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Looks sweet to me. Good job!
     
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Looks pretty normal for that particular C3 chip.
     
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    It all depends. The later steppings on 955's got higher but the early ones did not. if you have an older one, that is a good overclock however; you have more headroom. you can take Phenoms to high 50's with no worries and voltage up to 1.55 volts. 1.55 volts will probably be too much for your cooling but try 1.5 or 1.525 volts and raise your CPU/NB to 1.3-1.35volts.
     
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    54C at full load with 1.48v means the chip is going to stop clocking on temps alone regardless of stepping. The voltage is why I am pegging it at as a C3 chip C2 chips needed quite a bit more to get stable at 4ghz. There is not stepping past C3 so it is a good guess on that chip. Until load temps are brought down to 40-50C MAX you will not be seeing 4.2-4.3ghz like you do with the later model Thuban chips.
     
  6. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs



    Phenoms can esily go to upper 50's for load temps and easily handle up to 1.55 volts. I have overclocked them to 4.5GHz and if it is a C3, I have seen others hit 4.5GHz. He has a little headroom left.....not much..
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    They can and I am sure he can post a screen shot at 4.5ghz, however it will not be stable until temps come down C3 chips scale with temps more than they will scale with voltage. Even C1 pre-release chips can post and run 4200ish easily enough with enough voltage, but the temperatures is what releases them.
     
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I disagree. I have overclocked many phenoms. Upper 50's will be fine.
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    As do I seeing how I strongly doubt you have done as much research using multiple phenom II's I strongly strongly doubt anyone else will have a different conclusion. >55C load temps yield negligible performance gains regardless of voltage on C3 chips.
     
  10. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    niceee job. i got my old 965 up to 3.9 stable
     
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Been overclocking them since Phenom I days. I review processors and max temps on phenoms are 62 degrees. Whomever came up with the 55 degree delio, i do not know. There is no "Magic" tempurature that is for the entire Phenom II's series. The Phenoms overclock as well as the cooling is and I have taken dozens of chips up to 60 degrees and up to 1.6 volts.
     
  12. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Anyway, to eaches own. Just my $.02 cents.
     
  13. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I maxed a 980 at 4.7GHz(suicide)
     
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  14. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    lol i did it on a mobo that only cost me 25 bucks on sale on microcenter lolol budget build FTW. it was some asus, i forgot the model number
     
  15. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    508 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    it's normal, but i'm interested on your cpu temps

    what is your ambient room temperatures? and what processor cooler/hsf did you use?
    i overclocked my phenom 955BE with ASRock 990fx extreme3/4 could reach 4.1ghz at 1.4125v, but unfortunately my cpu reached 60-64 *C full load (using occt and prime), while idle temps was 36 - 38 *C, using thermaltake frio non ock heat sink fan. ambient room temps was 27 - 30 *C
     
  16. HeaterKeda New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yield negligible performance gains regardless of voltage on C3 chips.[​IMG]
     
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Been overclocking since the Athlon XP days mostly on AMD. I have had phenom 1's over 3.5 and phenom II's over 5.

    Yes you can take all chips Athlon 64 and up all the to 62C, but at that point you end up brute clocking chips purely on voltage. 1.6-1.7v just to get that extra 100mhz when at the same 1.55v the chips often scale to 4.5+ when the temps are below zero. Those are negligible clocks to me. The chips scale heavily with temps and anyone that has clocked them heavily like I did can tell you that.

    I have run 3mark at 4.7...
     
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,884 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,110
    i think you will be able to get 2.8Ghz from CPU NB.
    NB frequency/performance increase is really noticeable.
     
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    1.55 volts is not overly extreme for Phenom II's. Are you familiar with Tcase temps? Good water cooling keeps phenoms well below 55.... You don't need subzero.
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Yes I know I ran my 945BE ES chip at 1.65v 4ghz for the entire period of time I owned it. I also know of Tcase temps...
     
  21. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Glad were on the same page.
     
  22. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I think you would be able to reach a higher NB freq.
    I am currently running at
    3.9 GHz 1.3625V LLC on, 2.8 GHz NB at 1.3 V
    RAM at 1728 MHz 2*2 GB Dual channel Kingston.
    Config-Phenom II X4 955, Asus M4A88TD M-EVO/USB3
     
  23. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs


    I would go for a higher overclock on processor fiirst. You will get more performance that way then go for NB..... You have some headroom...later
     
  24. maknusdave New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    212 coolermaster and my room its like 23-28


    after hours of game.. bso dammit :banghead: i think its my nb voltage ( 1.1 ) because i have 2600 mb cpu
    i will test



    edit..

    4ghz # 41.8 FPS # 42.1 FPS
    3.2ghz # 39.9 FPS # 40.6 FPS

    worth this oc? <_<
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2012
  25. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Not at all. Increasing the NB increases the memory bandwidth to a huge extent. So both the CPU clock and NB are important.
    I kept a balance in all. 3.9 GHz at stock cooling is more than enough with 2.8 GHz NB and 1.73 GHz RAM.
    You are saying like that the memory bandwidth in a GPU is less important than the GPU shaders and clock-- NO. Both are equally important. A Phenom II 955 overclocked from 3.2 to 3.7 GHz with no NB OC will show hardly or no improvements in games or stressful work.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page