1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how many crossfire bridges to use / H4770 and X58 chipset

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by aquax, Jun 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,581 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    Again, you are just questioning the people who made the cards. Obviously ATi feels that the setup in your diagram is not needed. Like I said if it works for you, great. :toast:
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Why the hell are you arguing? If ATI says to use 2, why not just do the safe thing, and use 2 like they say? No need to argue here, take it up with ATI, not the people on this forum.
  3. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Not windmills, chalets! And they feature larger calibers as just machine guns.
  4. tastegw

    tastegw

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    erocker,

    this is strait from xfx

    here are instructions:

    click link and read the fine print

    http://www.xfxforce.com/en-us/products/graphiccards/HD 4000series/4770.aspx

    where does it say use 2 bridges?

    have a nice day

    also in that same link

    have 2 nice days

    you would be wise to edit all of your bogous comments so you dont look like an ass.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,581 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    What? I'm thinking you are a bit out of line. I've given you the information from ATi on the subject here:
    ...in a polite manner nonetheless and you give me this. Whatever. I'd infract you for calling me an ass, but it's really not worth my time. Perhaps another moderator will see fit to do so, but I'm out of your trivial little argument. :shadedshu
  6. tastegw

    tastegw

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    the info you given from ati was for the older cards that needed 2 bridges...

    ATI™ Radeon™ X1900 CrossFire Edition User's Guide
    ATI™ Radeon™ X1900
    ATI™ Radeon™ X1800 CrossFire Edition User's Guide
    ATI™ Radeon™ X1800
    ATI™ Radeon™ X1600
    ATI™ Radeon™ X1300
    ATI™ Radeon™ X800 / X850

    xfx clearly says "one" bridge. why are you still trying to mislead people?
  7. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Well, two 4890s with just one bridge seems unhealty. I aborted the benchmark.
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    One bridge per video card equals 2 to Crossfire 2 cards. you just proved yourself wrong. And since when does an AIB partner know more than the actual manufacturer anyway?
  9. tastegw

    tastegw

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    1 per video card

    so explain how 4 video cards use 4 bridges?

    or 3 use 3 bridges?
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Well, Crossfire is a minimum of 2 cards. If it's one per card, 2 cards = 2 bridges. It's right there in the quote you posted. We weren't speaking of 3 and 4 card setups, but even so, it's still 1 bridge per card. ATI also says 2 bridges for 2 cards. What's the issue here? Why do you think the designer/manufacturer of the cards would be wrong?
  11. tastegw

    tastegw

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    the link erocker gave us has not been updated since the x1000's
    if you still want to go by those standards then be my guest.

    for 2 4770's, all you need is 1 bridge.

    if you dont believe this, then show me a link from ati that says you need 2 bridges for these cards (not a link for the x1000's)
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Also to add to your post Wile E:

    The on-topic of the thread isn't even about the older cards you are talking about. If you want to flamebait someone you can flamebait me cause you know darn well I won't flame back. I will just let you continue typing and laugh. :laugh: :roll: :laugh:

    I will re-iterate with NEWER cards HD2k's and above:
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,581 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    End of story. http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/ATICrossFire_comp_req.aspx Updated 5/29/2009


    And tastegw, I'll just forget all the rude and insulting comments you gave me in PM's. I hope you learned something today.
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
    JrRacinFan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page