1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How many of you 'dont' use SP2 on Windows XP

Discussion in 'General Software' started by HookeyStreet, Jun 23, 2006.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I was thinking of 'uninstalling' SP2 because its not compatible with the latest DivX codec or Dr DivX due to the DEP in SP2 (and its starting to piss me off!)

    What will I lose by uninstalling SP2 :confused: I know SP2 is mainly for security but I use McAfee Personal Firewall and AVG Antivirus (FREE version) so that side of things should be covered.
     
  2. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    i'm not having a problem, both work fine for me, try reinstalling DivX codec & Dr DivX, i never get DEP problems.
     
  3. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Ive tried several times and each time i go to my file that contains my video files (AVI, XviD etc) I get a message saying that the window must shut down to avoid damaging data or I get the DEP message. But alls fine once I uninstall the DivX codec :confused:
     
  4. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    hm on my sp2 sys divx is running fine maybe an old exe?
     
  5. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    I used it on Intel CPU's & now AMD ones... found some errs on Intel

    Well, I used this type of protection on Windows Server 2003 (has it also) on an Intel P4 3.2ghz H/T core cpu, & now on the AMD model in my signature.

    This protective measure seems to work on AMD cpu's FAR BETTER, whereas it tended to limit programs running here (my own, some sysinternals tools, & others as well) hindering their ability to startup right on my Intel box!

    :(

    * That's what I found @ least, regarding this feature in MS' OS'...

    (Still, I use it on BOTH platforms, no matter what)

    APK

    P.S.=> I.E.-> The same progs that "abended/erred-out" on my P4 above using this protection measure? Don't on my AMD now using it as well, oddly enough! apk
     
  6. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    DivX runs fine for me. You can turn off DEP for certain programs, you just have to add to a whitelist.
     
  7. markkleb Guest

    If u get rid of SP2 Microsoft wont like you....I dont think you can upgrade DX9 and stuff.
     
  8. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Windows firewall+ improved stability, whats not to like? Your DivX problem sounds like an outdated codec AND outdated encoder.
     
  9. Petrus66 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Interesting way of approach..

    Its like unmounting airbags because the car player wont make a noise otherway.

    Install a proper codec-pack for windows out there and ya should be fine and running..
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2006
  10. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Turn off DEP its pretty simple ;).
    Control Panel/System/Advanced/Startup and Recovery/
    System Startup:
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect /NoExecute=AlwaysOff /usepmtimer
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page