1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how many run times?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Samdbugman, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. Samdbugman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    197 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i have it looks like 9 versions of runtime installed. some from 2005. do i need this many? hope this is the right forum. thanks.
    :confused:
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Can you be a little more specific? Which runtime?
     
  3. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ya, runtime is an extremely vague description...
    That's like I have 72 services running, are they needed... Well... That depends on a LOT.

    If you are not sure what you are looking at I wouldn't mess with it too much until you figure it out.
    If you are not having problems and have no reason to believe you have a virus or something I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  4. Samdbugman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    197 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    fast!
    windows visual c++ 2005 redistributable 3 of them installed, plus one more 2005 x 64 my last one is dated 11/23/10 x64 redistributable - 10.0.30319. how many of them should i have installed?

    thats why i was asking here
    :toast:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2010
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    You could have a bunch depending on the requirements for various software installed on your computer.
     
  6. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,119 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    .... this is the games section?
     
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I guess it depends on what you are doing. I have one each (2005, 2008, 2010) for both x86 and x64.
     
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Whoops didn't even notice that. lol
    Moved to general software.
     
  9. Samdbugman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    197 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i was uninstall drivers and noticed that i had the different run times
    i just wanted to make sure that i needed that many, but i have games from these time frames that are installed. i just didnt want them to be bogging anything down -. thanks!
     
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You should only need one version of any given runtime.
    So only the latest revision of 2005 x86, one for 2005 x64 ... same for the others.
    It should not slow you down in any event, just using up disk space.
     
    Samdbugman says thanks.
  11. Samdbugman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    197 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    thanks much! now i get it.:D
     
  12. hewelo

    hewelo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why not choose the right version and install it?
     
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Specific applications may look for the installation of a specific runtime (ie. 2005, 2008, etc.).
    You should not need more than one of each installed as long as you have the latest build version though.
    You will need both the x86 and x64 versions if you are running a 64bit OS.
    The ones currently installed on my system are ...
    Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Redistributable
    Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x64
    Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86
    Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 x64 Runtime
    Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 x86 Runtime

    I actuallly have one 2008 duplicate (older version) which I probably don't need, but I'm in the middle of some coding projects and I don't want to break anything. :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page