1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How much AA do you need?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by warup89, Feb 11, 2010.

?

How much AA do you need?

  1. no AA

    17 vote(s)
    11.3%
  2. x2 AA

    22 vote(s)
    14.7%
  3. x4 AA

    73 vote(s)
    48.7%
  4. x8 AA

    15 vote(s)
    10.0%
  5. X16+ AA

    23 vote(s)
    15.3%
  1. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    WA
    As 97% of us now have LCD monitors, AA does make a decent difference when enabled, so now I ask how much AA do you need to have nice image quality while keeping things running smoothly?

    -I'm personally set with x2 AA, anything else i believe is just a waste since the rough edges disappear with only x2 AA. Anything more and it only makes the edges "thinner" per say. Then again the max resolution i have ever played at was 1680 X 1050. I dont know the difference, with anything higher than that.
     
    BraveSoul says thanks.
  2. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i would say either 2x or 4x is enough for Anti-aliasing.
     
  3. yaji New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    4xAA + 2x Temporal multipler.
     
  4. Clement

    Clement New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    SouthEast Blue Mountain, Pa
    I second this notion. I don't even notice a difference until I enable 4x on my x1950GT, but with temporal aa enabled I see a noticeable difference with what feels like no hit to frames. At least not enough to bother me, I no longer run my games with fraps running. It just works. :respect:
     
  5. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    I can't live without AA.
    At least 4x.

    It's funny, but some (many!?) people barely see the difference. And even if you show them exactly what's what... they don't seem to care.
    I guess they are the same kind of people that say they don't need HDTV and enjoy blurry photos made with phone...

    Some people don't have "HD brain"... em.. "HD aesthetic feel" - better said.

    Cheers,
     
    Kei, Lionheart, Jeffredo and 1 other person say thanks.
  6. vnl7 Guest

    I use 4AA @ 1920x1080 if not 8AA, i preffer more AA at high res than some game effects to keep the fps up, but at 1024x768 i used to turn AA oFF or 2AA

    i believe that resolution scales whit AA
     
  7. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    834 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    4X, but since my 4850 usually takes more, like x8, sure, why not.
     
  8. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    meh never used AA and dare say i never will. Ive never had the equipment to max out game with AA so just got used to it without. Dnt get me wrong i do see the jaged edges but id rather have smooth gameplay.
     
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,991 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    Location:
    US
    x2 seems to be the sweet spot for near any game.
     
  10. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    just over your CPU to 3GHZ or something and you can play games with 2-4X AA easily.
    Even my system can play games with 2-4X AA at 1680x1050 and i get about 50+fps on every game still.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I max out settings when ever I can.

    AA included, I can actually see the difference between x2,x3,x4 etc etc mind you, its only after x6 that the difference becomes negligible on all but dodgy edges .( you know the ones, the kind that look jagged even with 16x aa)
     
  12. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    on most games, as high as they go, cause I can, on batman Arkham Asylum - 2-4x otherwise its unplayable on ATI cards :nutkick: :shadedshu
     
  13. Melcar

    Melcar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I'm one of those people that can't tell the difference :p. Honestly, I sometimes just can't tell the difference between a scene running with AA an another one with no AA. This is specially true with most modern games. On some older titles too, but there I can sometimes tell the difference when not using AA. I use x4, even if I can't tell the difference visually most of the time; I just leave it at that for the times I load up an older game (which is rather often).
    As for the different levels, when I do bother to notice AA, x2 looks the same as x8 unless I pixel hunt. When I play games I'm too busy you know, playing the game for me to bother with visuals that much... unless it's a boring game and I have nothing else to do but to look at the pretty pictures (which is about 90% of games nowadays).
     
  14. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'm happy with 2xaa although if I can maintain a good framerate then i'll run it with 4xaa. Anything more is just a waste to me as I can't tell the difference, even in older games I run 4xaa max.

    I'm running 1680x1050.
     
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Do you guys really not see a difference past x4?


    Try running a predefined bench mark with AA off x2,x4,x6 etc and you should be able to see the difference clearly even up until x8 as you'll be watching the exact same thing only difference is AA, where as in game if you get into playing the game things like AA would be missed XD
     
  16. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Whenever maxed out runs smoothly, that's the way to go. Otherwise 4xAA is where I find the sweetspot between eye candy vs performance.

    Agree with you panther, up to 8x you can see the differnce between 2,4,6
     
  17. Clement

    Clement New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    SouthEast Blue Mountain, Pa
    Who plays benchmarks for entertainment? :wtf:
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,581 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    I'm a bit finicky when it comes to AA. On the laptop which has got a res of 1920x1200 I normally use 2xAA if the game allows it, but I would be fine with no AA since the LCD size is only 17".

    On the desktop 4xAA was barely enough when I had my 8800GT using a 22" 1680x1050 and I still had some lagging. That's one reason why upgraded GFX card.
     
  19. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,737 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,537
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Thats very interesting, the theory is in fact that the Higher your resolution the less AA is needed, simply because, if you think about it, the higher the res, the less visible (as opposed to quantety) pixelation and therefore by it's very nature, less visible jagged edges etc.
     
  20. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I still got an CRT & i'm using 4xAA wich it's enough for me (1600x1200)
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,791 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,168
    I use as much as I can before performance goes kaput. It really depends on the game. Left 4 Dead 2 I can force either x32 or x24 (haven't played a while), but with most games I just set it to the highest MSAA they offer.
     
  22. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,581 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Precisely.
    The smaller the monitor and the higher the res the less AA you need to apply.
    The larger the monitor... the more AA you'd need.

    That's why I can game with no AA on a 17" 1920x1200 but given now that I'm "spoilt" using it, were I to buy a 50" LCD at 1920x1200 I'd find myself needing to use 4xAA for the game not to appear jaggy to me... :ohwell:
     
  23. Clement

    Clement New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    SouthEast Blue Mountain, Pa
    Less polygons/inch = more jagged edges, does it not? (Or if they are stretched to a higher resolution than they were designed at)

    Hence the need for more triangular roundation. :rolleyes:

    What theory do you speak of?
     
  24. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,581 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Does that mean that by having tesselation increased (as in DX11) the need for AA would lessen?
     
  25. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    -->Tatty_One no need to get a picture of you as avatar... your mistress pictures were lot better to look at :laugh: ;)
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page